Bigger Submarine Concept - My own 3D model

MinderMinder France Join Date: 2016-08-13 Member: 221263Members
edited October 2016 in Ideas and Suggestions
Hello everyone!

A bit of introduction here : I'm new on the forums but not on the game. Subnautica is one of my favorite game and although i didn't spend too much time on it, i had a super experience playing it! What I enjoyed the most is the exploration thanks to the wonderful places there are, and also the submarines, especially the Cyclops. And for once, a developer team has enough talent to make the vehicle completely playable. And not just making the exterior and the cockpit.
I'm currently a student for game design, and I started to make my own 3D models. Moreover i saw the concept arts for other submarines and particularly the bigger one which looks just fantastic! I know I'm really a beginner in modelling and texturing, but I want to give it a try. Maybe you could give some criticism and tips for this challenge! :tongue:
Thank you in advance and hope you will like it! :smiley:
(I will do updates)

EDIT!! : Instead of scrolling down to see the most recent update of the 3D Model, I'm gonna actually put an image of the last one, down below at the end of this post :)
(You can still see all the steps, by watching every updates i made in that discussion)

So here is the original 2D concept art :

Pat_presley_sub03b_lorez.jpghebergeur d images

And here is the first step of my own 3D model :

SUBNAUTICA_1.pngheberger image

SUBNAUTICA_2.pnghebergeur d images

Those views are orthographic, there is only the general shape of the submarine. I'm currently working on a second model because the shape doesn't match perfectly with the concept image. On the first picture you can see the mesh, which is a bit weird, but again, i'm only a beginner. Future pictures will be more interesting!