Mintman's, I Want A Script That... Thread

145791012

Comments

  • CaptainHarassmentCaptainHarassment Join Date: 2005-04-18 Member: 48827Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-Seph Kimara+Apr 28 2005, 12:04 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Seph Kimara @ Apr 28 2005, 12:04 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> alias s1 "slot1;bind mouse1 +attack"
    alias s2 "slot2;bind mouse1 +pshot"
    alias s3 "slot3;bind mouse1 +attack"
    alias s4 "slot4;bind mouse1 +attack"
    alias w "wait"

    bind 1 s1
    bind 2 s2
    bind 3 s3
    bind 4 s4

    alias +pshot "+attack;"
    alias -pshot "-attack;w;+attack;w;-attack;"



    I believe that should work fine.

    You can run any configs you want, you just need to call them either from binds or through the console. One thing a lot of people wish for is fully supported class specific configs, so it'd execute them when you evolved. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Thanks a lot :>
  • CaptainHarassmentCaptainHarassment Join Date: 2005-04-18 Member: 48827Members
    One problem..when I have my pistol out and I open the console, when I press ~ again to close it, my pistol fires one shot.
    Does anyone know why this happens / is there a fix for this? Or is that just how it is
  • obuhobuh Not Quite Smart at NS Join Date: 2003-03-31 Member: 15072Members, Constellation
    edited April 2005
    I think it's because when you close the console, all "-" aliases are executed. So it would appear that you have -alias with the +attack command in it. I suppose it's a double shot pistol script of some sort.

    <a href='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=80111&hl=alias' target='_blank'>There's a post in the bugs report forum here.</a>
  • MrRadicalEdMrRadicalEd Turrent Master Join Date: 2004-08-13 Member: 30601Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-CaptainHarassment+Apr 28 2005, 04:12 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (CaptainHarassment @ Apr 28 2005, 04:12 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> One problem..when I have my pistol out and I open the console, when I press ~ again to close it, my pistol fires one shot.
    Does anyone know why this happens / is there a fix for this? Or is that just how it is <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    No this is a new glitch that arose when the HL engine made the move over to Steam. Certain keys will be act as if they have been depressed once leaving the console. I had this very problem, and it was driving me nuts..

    I think it was my left alt key I was having this problem. Just make sure you bind to more conventional keys next time.
  • a_civiliana_civilian Likes seeing numbers Join Date: 2003-01-08 Member: 12041Members, NS1 Playtester, Playtest Lead
    When the console is closed, an unpress is simulated on every key. (This is different from having every -alias and -command run; +/-commands that are not bound are not affected.)

    You can avoid the problem by having your console key unbind your attack key as well as closing the console, and then creating an alias that rebinds it on the unpress and binding that to some unused key like joy1.

    Like so:<!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->alias unbindm1 "unbind mouse1"
    bind "`" "toggleconsole;unbindm1"
    alias +rebindm1
    alias -rebindm1 "bind mouse1 +pshot"
    bind joy1 +rebindm1<!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
    <span style='font-size:7pt;line-height:100%'>(I'm not sure that the first alias is needed, but I use it because binds within binds have caused me trouble in the past.)</span>


    The same problem occurs with the escape key, but this fix cannot be applied there because Steam does not allow the escape key to be rebound.
  • TaaketaTaaketa Join Date: 2004-02-10 Member: 26357Members
    Anyone know is there a script out there that can say you need a med@(location name) right now all I have is the med impulse which is good enough but it would be even handier for people with welders. So I could tell them where I am to get welded.
  • BlueNovemberBlueNovember hax Join Date: 2003-02-28 Member: 14137Members, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin-Taaketa+May 1 2005, 09:18 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Taaketa @ May 1 2005, 09:18 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Anyone know is there a script out there that can say you need a med@(location name) right now all I have is the med impulse which is good enough but it would be even handier for people with welders. So I could tell them where I am to get welded. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
    //weld /med
    alias "med" "impulse 10;say_team Need medpack/weld!"
    bind "yourkeyhere" "med"
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    It will automatically say your location name anyway. You don't see it on your own text, but others do. Only happens in teamchat, obviously. <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • Griff0nGriff0n Join Date: 2005-04-28 Member: 50381Members
    Hey im a noob scripter and im make myself some attack scripts and i was gonna try to make myself a bunnyhop script but form what i heard you need "_special" in it or it wont kinda like stop? whats _special do?
  • BlueNovemberBlueNovember hax Join Date: 2003-02-28 Member: 14137Members, Constellation
    edited May 2005
    <!--QuoteBegin-Griff0n+May 2 2005, 02:10 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Griff0n @ May 2 2005, 02:10 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Hey im a noob scripter and im make myself some attack scripts and i was gonna try to make myself a bunnyhop script but form what i heard you need "_special" in it or it wont kinda like stop? whats _special do? <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    You need not worry yourself with _special; it's long gone. It allowed you to hold down a key to spam a command, or spam a load of commands without locking up. Well. Those are examples anyway.

    Bunnyhop is over so fast you do not need to worry about locking up. Here's the standard code with a toggle:
    <!--QuoteBegin--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->
    //The bunny itself
    alias b "+jump;wait;-jump;wait"
    alias +3jumps "+moveup;b;b;b;b;b;b;+jump"
    alias -3jumps "-moveup;-jump"
    bind space +jump

    //Bunny toggle (Press L to turn the bunny script off, for use on nub bs_1 servers)
    alias "normaljump" "bind space +jump; alias togglebunny bunnyjump"
    alias "bunnyjump" "bind space +3jumps; alias togglebunny normaljump"
    alias "togglebunny" "bunnyjump"
    bind "<span style='color:red'>L</span>" "togglebunny"
    <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Change the red letter to a key of your choice.
  • Diablo_fxDiablo_fx Join Date: 2003-02-21 Member: 13793Members
    How much does +moveup help?

    Because i use the mwheel to bhop, but if it helps alot. I would switch back to 3hop.
  • FuzionMonkeyFuzionMonkey Join Date: 2005-05-04 Member: 50889Members
    can i have a script where it empties the entire pistol clip in won click?
  • surprisesurprise Join Date: 2003-01-16 Member: 12382Members, Constellation
    afaik thats hard, because the commands tend to be connected to your latency to the server, or to your fps...

    additionally you cant do anything while shooting, i dont know if you can even aim while the script fires
  • ReKReK Join Date: 2004-08-30 Member: 31058Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver
    edited May 2005
    <!--QuoteBegin-MrRadicalEd+Apr 28 2005, 04:04 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (MrRadicalEd @ Apr 28 2005, 04:04 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-CaptainHarassment+Apr 28 2005, 04:12 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (CaptainHarassment @ Apr 28 2005, 04:12 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> One problem..when I have my pistol out and I open the console, when I press ~ again to close it, my pistol fires one shot.
    Does anyone know why this happens / is there a fix for this? Or is that just how it is <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    No this is a new glitch that arose when the HL engine made the move over to Steam. Certain keys will be act as if they have been depressed once leaving the console. I had this very problem, and it was driving me nuts..

    I think it was my left alt key I was having this problem. Just make sure you bind to more conventional keys next time. <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I have the same problem, but it activated the "1" key, which is <i>incredibly</i> annoying when I use the console to call a vote, then I vote for 1 as soon as I get out....
  • corrosioncorrosion Join Date: 2005-05-06 Member: 50986Members
    When I try to DL ur pack ReK, it asks for a pw.

    And with that occasion I registered on the NS forums.

    Mmmm.... NS smilies.. <!--emo&::sentry::--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/turret.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='turret.gif' /><!--endemo--> <!--emo&::sentry::--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/turret.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='turret.gif' /><!--endemo--> <!--emo&::onos::--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tiny.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tiny.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • WalkaboutWalkabout Join Date: 2005-05-01 Member: 50651Banned
    I'm looking for an instant leap script which I used to have. Basicly you pressed a key so it would switch to leap, perform the leap and switch back to bite. Notice that it doesn't perform the bite, it just switches back to it.
  • MintmanMintman Join Date: 2003-05-30 Member: 16866Members
    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->bind x "weapon_leap; wait;+attack+; wait; -attack; wait; weapon_bitegun"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->As with all scripts of this nature the number of waits may need tweaking.

    This will be blocked by mp_blockscripts.
  • ReKReK Join Date: 2004-08-30 Member: 31058Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver
    Hrmm, interesting. No one can dl any files from my host unless they're logged into the account...

    Well, as a temporary fix, I've attached it to this post. The quickswitch you asked about is inside, under bs0.cfg.

    When I looked at the file, I realized I had forgotten to include th edevour crosshair. It's in now, for anyone who wants it.
  • corrosioncorrosion Join Date: 2005-05-06 Member: 50986Members
    edited May 2005
    I have some questions about fade scripts:

    Adren conserv: I've tried a script that claims to do this, and it does, but the blink I get out of using it is very weak, what's up?

    I believe it was Swift Idiot who posted this one on this thread somewhere:
    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->alias a1 "+attack;wait;-attack;wait"
    alias a2 "a1;a1"
    alias a3 "a1;a1;a1"
    bind space +swipe
    alias +swipe "slot2;wait;def"
    alias -swipe "slot1;wait;abc"
    bind mouse1 +attack
    bind mouse2 +bhop
    bind 3 "slot3; bind mouse1 +attack"
    bind e "slot3; bind mouse1 +attack"
    bind q "slot2; bind mouse1 a1"
    alias abc "bind mouse1 +attack;-attack"
    alias def "bind mouse1 a1;-attack"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    Another thing is meta scripts, the ones that switch to meta, use meta, then switch back to blink. I was also trying one of these scripts, except the time it takes inbetween when I use it, and when I use it again is a tad longer than doing it manually. Here's that one: <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->alias +quickmeta "slot3; wait; +attack"
    alias -quickmeta "-attack; wait; slot1; wait; wait; slot2"
    bind "MOUSE2" "+quickmeta"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    And this one that kind of of works when I expect it to, but I find half the time, even when it does the meta animation+sound it doesn't give me any adren(it's not registering?): <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->alias w5 "wait; wait; wait; wait; wait"
    alias metablink "weapon_metabolize; w5; w5; +attack; wait; -attack; w5; weapon_blink"
    bind "MOUSE2" "metablink" <!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->



    Oh, and if I wanted to use specific scripts for each alien lifeform, is there a way to automatically switch to the skulk ones once I die? Or would I always have to press a key to initiate the binds every time I died as another lifeform?
  • bmdavllbmdavll Join Date: 2004-09-13 Member: 31682Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->
    Adren conserv: I've tried a script that claims to do this, and it does, but the blink I get out of using it is very weak, what's up?
    <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Any adrenaline conservation script is pretty much useless because it doesn't allow the flexibility to get to full speed in the shortest time. Better to just bind MWHEELUP +attack and use that to blink when you want to conserve energy imo.

    <!--QuoteBegin--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->
    Another thing is meta scripts, the ones that switch to meta, use meta, then switch back to blink. I was also trying one of these scripts, except the time it takes inbetween when I use it, and when I use it again is a tad longer than doing it manually. Here's that one: <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->alias +quickmeta "slot3; wait; +attack"
    alias -quickmeta "-attack; wait; slot1; wait; wait; slot2"
    bind "MOUSE2" "+quickmeta"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
    <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Try this:
    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
    alias +meta "slot3; wait; +attack"
    alias -meta "-attack; slot2"
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
    and HOLD DOWN the button bound to +meta to make sure it works.

    <!--QuoteBegin--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->
    And this one that kind of of works when I expect it to, but I find half the time, even when it does the meta animation+sound it doesn't give me any adren(it's not registering?): <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->alias w5 "wait; wait; wait; wait; wait"
    alias metablink "weapon_metabolize; w5; w5; +attack; wait; -attack; w5; weapon_blink"
    bind "MOUSE2" "metablink" <!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
    <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Too complicated and would mess up your timing. It wastes so much time in the waits and doesn't allow 2 consecutive metas.

    <!--QuoteBegin--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->
    Oh, and if I wanted to use specific scripts for each alien lifeform, is there a way to automatically switch to the skulk ones once I die? Or would I always have to press a key to initiate the binds every time I died as another lifeform?<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    You have to press a key.
  • corrosioncorrosion Join Date: 2005-05-06 Member: 50986Members
    Am I correct in assuming that the client-side lastinv script is faster than using the lastinv command?
  • MrRadicalEdMrRadicalEd Turrent Master Join Date: 2004-08-13 Member: 30601Members
    If anything the scripted version will always be slower, but a noticable difference? nah..
  • MintmanMintman Join Date: 2003-05-30 Member: 16866Members
    It may be slightly slower, but if you know what you're doing with scripts you can extend it to do funky things. You can't do that with the regular lastinv. For example, I effectively have 2 lastinvs set up within my config, as an example I use one to switch between LMG and pistol and one to switch between the currently held weapon and knife.
  • 2_of_Eight2_of_Eight Join Date: 2003-08-20 Member: 20016Members
    edited May 2005
    I got an idea for a 3jump script, with a small addition. Could you tell me if this would work?
    alias hop "+jump;wait;-jump"
    alias 5jump "+duck;hop;hop;hop;hop;hop;-duck"
    Because when bunnyhopping (edit: as skulk), you need to hold duck, right? This does it for you, for the duration of your contact with the ground (a bit more, actually). Now, would this work? I'm not near a computer which could support NS right now, so I can't test it. So what do you think? Any corrections?

    <span style='color:red'>[edit]</span>
    I've tried this now. It works great! I don't know why I haven't gotten it before...
    Basically, it ducks (used for skulk bhopping only) right before you land, and releases duck after you jump up again... or something like that. Between jumps, you are free to climb walls and all that <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • ReKReK Join Date: 2004-08-30 Member: 31058Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver
    You only need to hold duck when bhopping as a skulk, to disable the sticky-claws. I just use my duck toggle while bhopping.
  • Fatal_ErrorFatal_Error Join Date: 2005-01-15 Member: 35840Members
    Anyway to have a scripts that automatically hovers in lerk?
  • a_civiliana_civilian Likes seeing numbers Join Date: 2003-01-08 Member: 12041Members, NS1 Playtester, Playtest Lead
    Any script that performs an ongoing action will lock you up while it does so. Thus, while it can be created, a script to hover as lerk will be unviable in an actual game.
  • SwiftspearSwiftspear Custim tital Join Date: 2003-10-29 Member: 22097Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-ReK+May 13 2005, 01:21 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (ReK @ May 13 2005, 01:21 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> You only need to hold duck when bhopping as a skulk, to disable the sticky-claws. I just use my duck toggle while bhopping. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    the point of 1/4's script is to disable sticky claws every time you are in contact with the ground, but not while you are in the air, so you still stick to walls instantly, you just hopefully don't hit them...

    I personally like doing it manually. More control.
  • MisfireMisfire Join Date: 2002-11-03 Member: 5764Members
    cant open ns_custom.exe for some reason? is it a zip or something, when i open it a cmd prompt just comes up and closes with nothing happening
  • Fatal_ErrorFatal_Error Join Date: 2005-01-15 Member: 35840Members
    Huh. Well, is there a script that will let me flap 10 times as a lerk, while still being able to aim and fire? <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/sad-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • MintmanMintman Join Date: 2003-05-30 Member: 16866Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-Fatal Error+May 15 2005, 11:55 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Fatal Error @ May 15 2005, 11:55 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Huh. Well, is there a script that will let me flap 10 times as a lerk, while still being able to aim and fire? <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/sad-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad-fix.gif' /><!--endemo--> <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Nope. Sorry.
Sign In or Register to comment.