Time capsules: Useful leg up or OP Pieces of Garbage?

kingkumakingkuma cancels Work: distracted by Dwarf Fortress Join Date: 2015-09-25 Member: 208137Members Posts: 822 Advanced user
Do you guys think having ion powercells is too OP in time capsules? Do you think it's ok? please respond
I am Kingkuma, Leader of the PH/SP , Slayer of Cuddlefish, Conspiracy theorist , Humanizer of warpers , Shifter of sands , Creator of Fanart , Enemy of Crabsquids , Hater of Lava Larvae , Winner of the great stalker bar brawl of 2017 , Creator of flowcharts , Killer of time , Romancer of warpers ,and head designer for the ALTERRA 5th airborne division.

I have a webcomic. It involves Tsundere Nereids, Canadians, magic, girls wielding crossbows, and possibly Scott Pilgrim. It updates every Wednesday at 4 pm EST. Check it out. (No, please, check it out.)

Also: Stop hating on the warpers. They have feelings too, ya'know.

Time capsules: Useful leg up or OP Pieces of Garbage? 22 votes

Time capsules aren't needed.
13%
scifiwriterguyMaalterommJustAHat 3 votes
They're ok, but only stuff pre - lost river should be allowed.
50%
Kouji_SanMaxAstrokingkumaCalarand77Skope0x6A7232jamintheinfinite_1AnomalyDetectedWiirlakMattar19KBlazeX 11 votes
I'm fine with lost river stuff, just no endgame materials and items.
36%
TenebrousNovaGourmet_GuyCrewman87EstebanLB01RecursionSnoutchiAurora_SurvivorDarthCologne 8 votes
Heck, put enzymes in the time capsules. I don't care.
0%

Comments

  • RecursionRecursion The cosmos Join Date: 2017-07-01 Member: 231505Members Posts: 466 Advanced user
    I'm fine with lost river stuff, just no endgame materials and items.
    I've only ever found 1 time capsule. It contained 2 posters. I'm fine with people putting what they want in them, but if they don't put useful stuff in them, the devs really need to seed them more around the world.
    I'm a stupid person who makes stupid games and constantly self-deprecates his stupid life because he's a stupid idiot.

    Yeah, I'm a bit messed up.
  • MaalterommMaalteromm Brazil Join Date: 2017-09-22 Member: 233183Members Posts: 327 Advanced user
    Time capsules aren't needed.
    I voted that they aren't needed, but I'm only referring to the items part.
    The pics and text are cool.
  • jamintheinfinite_1jamintheinfinite_1 Jupiter Join Date: 2016-12-03 Member: 224524Members Posts: 971 Advanced user
    They're ok, but only stuff pre - lost river should be allowed.
    It's April
    and I still haven't found one time capsule because of my luck



    but yeah, only pre lost river stuff should be in it. When the game first came out there was a time capsule that had a picture of the
    gun shooting down the sunbeam
    and it got enough upvotes to be in the game. Other time capsules end up with other spoiler stuff as well.
    I am TerranHawk I am also that one guy who post bad pictures and doesn't talk much in school. I am lazy. I'm the creator of this Creature Evolution Chart

    I live in the Subnautica side of the forums. IF you have seen me you probably know I suk at speling log wrods and that I'm very sarcastic


    I'm called jamintheinfinite_1 because I was an idiot and made a typo on my email address for the account jamintheinfinite and I was too dumb to know how to fix it.




    s̮̮͇̲̱̻͕͈̠ͪ͐̇̾͒̀͌i̖͈͚̘͈̐̀̈́̃̒̇̀͊ͧ̔̏͒ͅḿ͎͉̜̦̦͓̟̞͗̇͒ͨ̏͌̑ͨͬͬͧͭͥo̩̞̰̮̞̮̼̫̩̳̘͆ͯͣ̓̍͆ͣ̎ͫ͂ͪṅ͖̪̫̘̼̙̪̙̳̰̊̒͋͗ͪͥ̅̑ͤ̆̅ͬͥ̑ͫ ̲̳̟̰̭̖̞͓̙̘͓͔̣͇ͭͥ̂̎̋́͂̋̈́̌͐ͤͨ̀̐̂ͦi͍̫͔̟̰͖͚̫͎̞͚͌ͤ̀͗ͥ͐̂̓ͧs̭͈͙̱̹̬͓̦̝͔̘̼̤͍͎̞̥̎̅̉͛ͦ͒̇͛̎ͬͨ́̍͒̀ͦͅͅ ͙̱̖̳̻͚̳̘̯̲͚̭̟͎̩̤͔̼̩̈́ͤ̋ͪ̿͛ͤͥ̅̒̆̉̓̒̓̅̈̈́̉t̖̞͓̥̤̪̯̘͓͌ͨͮͮͅh̰̙̮̖̆ͬ̎ͫ̿̽̾͋͗̍ͪ͑̀e̳̟̭͇ͤ̃͊̀ͤ̅ͫ̅̒ ̰̗͔̟̼̺̫̲͍̯̥̼͚̦̜̯̣̇̀̅̂̋ͧͦ̊ͥͮ͛̾͐̌͆̔́̎͋ͅb͍̣̲͇͙̞̘̰̫̪̖͔̈̅̃ͬͬḙ͖̠̬͇̦̰̪̟͊̀͐̍̾̓̊s̬͍͈̲̦̥͉̦̼̥͕͍̲̝ͪͬ͆͆͛ͩ̎̓̊̐͗̿̾̊̊t̪͉̝͖̫̼̤̼̩̰ͧ̐̽̋̈́̉̏̃́




  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands, Hoogezand Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue Posts: 15,578 Advanced user
    They're ok, but only stuff pre - lost river should be allowed.
    I heard they randomly spawn in fourty of these things? I've found two throughout mah playthrough

    Guardian of the "magic cookiejar" AdminModerator

    Existence Unknown

    Retired forum Admin, I mostly used a flamethrower tank for disputes... Mostly
    Retired EUPT Deputy | Moral Support | Squad 5 Blue
    102 1HP Skulk escapes and counting | Play the Latest Version of Booster Z-Frame
    YouTube NS2 Playlists: Unusual Selection | NS2 Stuff | NS2PT | NS2 Tuts

  • AnomalyDetectedAnomalyDetected Alterra Housing District: Planet Vicaron. Join Date: 2017-04-19 Member: 229741Members Posts: 495 Advanced user
    They're ok, but only stuff pre - lost river should be allowed.
    I've shared my opinion before.

    Time capsules should only allow basic things, like basic materials, aurora props (like the miniature aurora), and other small items. Tools should be limited to the scanner, knife, and flashlight as you get them in legit ten minutes.
    ================Anomaly================

    People say the world is a lost cause.
    They have no faith

    You have to have faith.

    And I have faith that Video Games
    will make the world better.

    ================Anomaly================
  • JustAHatJustAHat Join Date: 2018-04-25 Member: 240316Members Posts: 19 Advanced user
    Time capsules aren't needed.
    why do they exist again
  • AnomalyDetectedAnomalyDetected Alterra Housing District: Planet Vicaron. Join Date: 2017-04-19 Member: 229741Members Posts: 495 Advanced user
    They're ok, but only stuff pre - lost river should be allowed.
    Maalteromm wrote: »
    I voted that they aren't needed, but I'm only referring to the items part.
    The pics and text are cool.

    I actually can agree with that. Fun little data entries are cool to have, but op items? Nah.
    ================Anomaly================

    People say the world is a lost cause.
    They have no faith

    You have to have faith.

    And I have faith that Video Games
    will make the world better.

    ================Anomaly================
  • Crewman87Crewman87 Join Date: 2016-12-14 Member: 224967Members Posts: 253 Advanced user
    I'm fine with lost river stuff, just no endgame materials and items.
    I've only ever found 1 time capsule. It contained the Aurora model and 4 Ion Batteries. The batteries bothered me a little bit since I was just starting my 2nd, larger base in Grand Reef. Didn't even find an orange tablet yet by that point.
    subsig.jpg
  • elfcrisiselfcrisis Join Date: 2017-05-13 Member: 230466Members Posts: 426 Advanced user
    My opinion doesn't really fall under any of the choices. I think that getting stuff out of time capsules ends up being redundant. Getting some ion batteries is convenient but not game-breaking. Getting kyanite isn't that bad because it takes a while before you can do anything with it, and you often need other stuff like nickle and sulfur, and you can't put enough of all of those into a capsule to make it useful right away.

    I've found five capsules in my game so far, but they were in places that were hard to reach, so the things I got like the knife, repair tool and stasis rifle were all redundant by that point. You'd have to find one with exactly the right materials/tools right when you need it in order for it to be useful.

    I do like the pictures and stories, though, those are fun.
    JustAHat
  • 0x6A72320x6A7232 US Join Date: 2016-10-06 Member: 222906Members Posts: 4,768 Advanced user
    edited May 18
    They're ok, but only stuff pre - lost river should be allowed.
    kingkuma wrote: »
    Do you guys think having ion powercells is too OP in time capsules? Do you think it's ok? please respond

    @kingkuma I think there should be a toggle in options to turn them off (default on). Maybe even a selector for text and images allowed only (capsule inventory can't be emptied), non-spoilery capsules only, anything goes, etc etc (default non-spoilery).
    UWE Community guidelines | Guide to play in VR with Google Cardboard or Gear | Increase Subnautica view distance | Useful info to post with error reports | Recovery of corrupted saved games
    Crashing, lag problems? Or maybe your old save didn't get the latest update? Upload your saved game folder to help the devs troubleshoot, then try clearing your cache directories | Automatic Cache cleaning tool here | How to use the Debug Console | How to play any version of Subnautica using Steam | Tips for Subnautica beginners | Why can't the devs "just fix it"? - a modding session for you to educate yourself with Want more frames? Try adding this to your launch options: -window-mode exclusive
    Slow loading / textures popping in? Try moving Subnautica to an SSD | How to switch Subnautica to Experimental mode (clear cache afterwards) | How to run chkdsk on your drive | How to verify integrity of your game cache (in the "Installation" section) | Blue screens or computer freezing up? Try this fix (updates a corrupted DX10 compatibility file in the graphics driver that sometimes doesn't get updated)
    Subnautica launches in a tiny window? Use Task Manager to Maximize it (Thanks FlippingPower) | How to place your Moonpool so it connects correctly (includes diagrams) | Want to hang out with fellow players and the devs? Subnautica Discord server ← swing on by! | Subnautica mods - Hey look! Mods! | ReShade mods | Humans don't crush at the depths you might think
    Joystick problems? | Xpadder | UJR / vJoy | JoyToKey | Get detailed info for troubleshooting: CPU-Z | GPU-Z | HWiNFO64 | Speccy | Pastebin | Recover the data on your crashed hard disk! | I'm a Total Geek
    Rezcakingkumascifiwriterguy
  • scifiwriterguyscifiwriterguy Sector ZZ-9-Plural Z-α Join Date: 2017-02-14 Member: 227901Members Posts: 856 Advanced user
    Time capsules aren't needed.
    They're immersion-breaking. Never liked the idea, and implementation hasn't changed my mind. Just my personal opinion, of course.
    The poor mesmer. Beautiful fish. Too bad it's named after a jerk.
  • 0x6A72320x6A7232 US Join Date: 2016-10-06 Member: 222906Members Posts: 4,768 Advanced user
    They're ok, but only stuff pre - lost river should be allowed.
    They're immersion-breaking.

    Agreed on that. Hmm. Any way to make it so they're not available on first run of Survival / Freedom, and not available for Hardcore? Maybe in a config file synced with Steam / XB Live?
    UWE Community guidelines | Guide to play in VR with Google Cardboard or Gear | Increase Subnautica view distance | Useful info to post with error reports | Recovery of corrupted saved games
    Crashing, lag problems? Or maybe your old save didn't get the latest update? Upload your saved game folder to help the devs troubleshoot, then try clearing your cache directories | Automatic Cache cleaning tool here | How to use the Debug Console | How to play any version of Subnautica using Steam | Tips for Subnautica beginners | Why can't the devs "just fix it"? - a modding session for you to educate yourself with Want more frames? Try adding this to your launch options: -window-mode exclusive
    Slow loading / textures popping in? Try moving Subnautica to an SSD | How to switch Subnautica to Experimental mode (clear cache afterwards) | How to run chkdsk on your drive | How to verify integrity of your game cache (in the "Installation" section) | Blue screens or computer freezing up? Try this fix (updates a corrupted DX10 compatibility file in the graphics driver that sometimes doesn't get updated)
    Subnautica launches in a tiny window? Use Task Manager to Maximize it (Thanks FlippingPower) | How to place your Moonpool so it connects correctly (includes diagrams) | Want to hang out with fellow players and the devs? Subnautica Discord server ← swing on by! | Subnautica mods - Hey look! Mods! | ReShade mods | Humans don't crush at the depths you might think
    Joystick problems? | Xpadder | UJR / vJoy | JoyToKey | Get detailed info for troubleshooting: CPU-Z | GPU-Z | HWiNFO64 | Speccy | Pastebin | Recover the data on your crashed hard disk! | I'm a Total Geek
    scifiwriterguyjamintheinfinite_1JustAHat
Sign In or Register to comment.