A frank NS2WC discussion

Comments

• KamamuraKamamura Join Date: 2013-03-06 Member: 183736Members, Reinforced - Gold
    edited December 2013
    frantix wrote: »
    @Kamamura
    But you're no lawyer either I hope? As long as you can't proof that he did use a cheat to gain an unfair advantage in an actual match, in my opinion he is not guilty. If you simply say "He installed cheats, so he is a cheater." then you don't regard all the circumstances and arguments.

I find it kinda said how some people of this community deal with renowned veterans.

Indeed, I am not a lawyer, but since law analogies were used by SantaClawz, it's interesting to find out where would they lead us. Law does not define crimes or transgressions based on motives (because those are nigh impossible to prove), but on defining exactly what behavior is unacceptable and considered a crime or transgression. For example, taking an item that belongs to someone is defined as theft - and it is always theft no matter if you "took from the rich to give the poor", or if it was and act of "pure and selfish greed". You are guilty in both cases, though the judge may consider the motive and defendant's statements when determining the sentence. Killing someone maybe justifiable defense, or killing, or premeditated murder, but once again, all these are clearly defined. In our case, playing with cheats installed is considered cheating, such is the definition, and by fulfilling it, you are guilty of cheating (though some forms, like the one you mention, may be considered "justifiable")