Why compass, no map?

S3ZB0NS3ZB0N Join Date: 2020-10-15 Member: 264719Members
Just some personal rant first, read on if you like this kind of stuff, otherwise skip it completely or go take a look further down when I get back to topic. :smile:

I am a veteran gamer from the days of first pc games, even before doom etc. In the beginning it was a combination of text and graphics mainly. Those text rpg's were actually quite good sometimes. But I remember them just faintly. First game I remember playing had just 4 lines on it or something, two to define a road, one to define the horizon and another one just for the heck of it.

But I stopped playing games around 2010-2012 or so, because I started feeling too old. And also, not sure if it was me or the gaming industry, but there was a phase when not one single game could catch my attention. It was all commercial, console-port drivel. And it didn't look as if things would get any better. And I have other hobbies, you know, like reading, mainly.

Anyway, then in 2019 my old work-horse pc broke down, so I decided to build a new pc. In the older times I used to buy custom built gaming pc's from a local shop which I know was doing a very good job. So even though I was a dedicated gamer way way back, I had never built my on pc. But now in 2019 I just built one for fun. Also this shop had gone bankrupt and I didn't like any ready-made options, so I had to make my own. I mainly do photography editing, so it was again a pc built mainly for work. But then I decided to throw in a fairly good graphics card and, BLAMMO! I had a very good gaming pc, built by myself. And even though I didn't want to go playing games again, I decided to just try out a few, to see how my pc was doing and to also to test its limits.