UPDATE 328 RELEASED ON STEAM - Natural Selection 2

SystemSystem Join Date: 2013-01-29 Member: 182599Members, Super Administrators, Reinforced - Diamond Posts: 466 vanilla
edited June 20 in NS2 General Discussion

imageUPDATE 328 RELEASED ON STEAM - Natural Selection 2

Update 328 includes an upgrade to Visual Studio 2017 runtime, continued balance tweaks in response to the last update, updates to DirectX 11 (getting us closer to ditching DirectX 9...

Read the full story here


KasharicSupaFred

Comments

  • WasabiOneWasabiOne Co-Lead NS2 CDT Join Date: 2011-06-15 Member: 104623Members, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Gold, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Gold, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow, Subnautica Playtester, Pistachionauts Posts: 756 Advanced user
  • NintendowsNintendows Join Date: 2016-11-07 Member: 223716Members, Squad Five Blue Posts: 379 Advanced user
    Cool always nice to see some perf improvements!
  • VetinariVetinari Join Date: 2013-07-23 Member: 186325Members, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Posts: 3,465 Advanced user
    Noice.
    formerly known as F0rdPrefect

    I am good Onos
    Nintendows
  • ZEROibisZEROibis Join Date: 2009-10-30 Member: 69176Members, Constellation Posts: 1,017 Advanced user
    So now that it states in the change log that server performance has been improved should we expect the player limit to be returned back to 24 now as previously we were told that it had to be limited for performance reasons. Thus now there is no reason to keep it limited...
    image
    Server IP: NS2.IBISGaming.com
    Server IP: NS2CO.IBISGaming.com
    MoFo1NovoRei
  • MoFo1MoFo1 United States Join Date: 2014-07-25 Member: 197612Members Posts: 724 Advanced user
    Uhh this build completely fubar'd something with the end game stats screen (which unless I'm mistaken is part of shine?)

    The last game I just played I was listed on the Marine team (was never a Marine) and was listed on Alien team TWICE! Once was my actual score, the other was some random score (from a previous game maybe?)

    The build order was also super glitched showing 3 arms labs dropped, 3 armor 1 upgrades researched, two weapon 1 upgrades researched.. etc And they weren't just duplicates as they all had different time stamps... Armor 1 at 1:35, followed by Armor 1 at 1:53, followed by Armor 1 at 2:03, etc etc.


    Other than that everything else seems great. Gained a 10-20 fps boost :smiley:
  • SopsSops Join Date: 2003-07-03 Member: 17894Members, Constellation Posts: 1,490 Advanced user
    Hmmm I played NS2 last night no problem. Loaded up the game today to an empty server list, quit the game and checked integrity of game files... now the game won't launch. Restarted my computer and uninstalled/reinstalled NS2 didn't help. Anyone else having the same issue?

    Windows 7
  • AeglosAeglos Join Date: 2010-04-06 Member: 71189Members Posts: 618 Advanced user
    Question. How do you turn off the alien evolve reminder but keep the parasite/scan indicator? I want one but not the other. Thanks.
    The_Welsh_Wizard
  • MoFo1MoFo1 United States Join Date: 2014-07-25 Member: 197612Members Posts: 724 Advanced user
    Aeglos wrote: »
    Question. How do you turn off the alien evolve reminder but keep the parasite/scan indicator? I want one but not the other. Thanks.

    ^^^THIS!!
    That "evolution available" popup got super annoying really quick...

    It's a great idea for helping remind rookies they can evolve, we just need a way for veterans to turn it off without having to turn anything else off.
  • HandschuhHandschuh Join Date: 2005-03-08 Member: 44338Members, NS2 Playtester, NS2 Community Developer Posts: 387 Advanced user
  • MoFo1MoFo1 United States Join Date: 2014-07-25 Member: 197612Members Posts: 724 Advanced user
    edited June 21
    Handschuh wrote: »
    Just turn Hints off
    ??

    I already had hints off..
  • NordicNordic Long term camping in Kodiak Join Date: 2012-05-13 Member: 151995Members, NS2 Playtester, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Shadow Posts: 4,737 Advanced user
    edited June 21
    MoFo1 wrote: »
    Handschuh wrote: »
    Just turn Hints off
    ??

    I already had hints off..

    Have you tried turning it off an on again?

    Edit: Mofo, I think you missed my reference. I wasn't trying to be helpful, but if it works it works. The IT crowd was really funny.
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=t2F1rFmyQmY
    Post edited by Nordic on
    From my perspective UWE has been trying to both with what little resources they have given to the game. They don't have an AAA budget, let alone an indie game budget. They have the budget of a game that has been out 6 years. I want to say, don't half ass two things, whole ass one thing. I just don't think they have the resources to do it. Unlike many of the people on the forums, I guess I am just happy they are at least trying even though I may not like what they end up doing.
  • MoFo1MoFo1 United States Join Date: 2014-07-25 Member: 197612Members Posts: 724 Advanced user
    edited June 23
    Actually didn't think of turning it on/off, don't see how that could help but i'll give it a try next time I hop on.


    Back to the build.. I really really REALLY dislike how the personal res doesn't overflow to your team at 100.

    I can sort of understand the logic behind it, but there are many instances where I will hit 100 res.

    "So spend it" you might say...

    Well there's sometimes isn't anything to spend it on, like when you're a Fade slaughtering their team. Why go Onos if you're better at Fade? Why waste 78 res to go Onos only to die right away, then be unable to afford Fade again?

    Or what about if you go Gorge at the start and survive the entire game? Then you hit 100 res and have people pressuring you to spend it on a higher lifeform, even though you have plenty of higher lifeforms already and you're doing far more damage with bile bomb!

    I'd say I hit 100 res at the very least 1-2 times a week, to suddenly have all that res just lost... to be forced to basically throw it away on crap you don't want or need, just to avoid hitting 100...

    It kind of sucks.

    Post edited by MoFo1 on
  • skav2skav2 Join Date: 2007-05-28 Member: 61037Members, Reinforced - Gold Posts: 190 Advanced user
    Maybe they turned it on for everyone? I dont mind this so new people get the idea. I would just want a message below it that says how to disable it. Btw good job on the animation + art it looks great!

    Also is anyone getting some bad hitching after this patch? Its not consistent but it when it happens its a solid half second of lag.

    Hive skill and the Scoreboard are all kinds of messed up. It seems to be not resetting after every game and keeps track of everything from the last few games.

    Since 327 the bars on the left side of the screen have been having issues as well. I will take a screenshot next time but the bars on the left side

  • skav2skav2 Join Date: 2007-05-28 Member: 61037Members, Reinforced - Gold Posts: 190 Advanced user
    edited June 21
    Nordic wrote: »
    MoFo1 wrote: »
    Handschuh wrote: »
    Just turn Hints off
    ??

    I already had hints off..

    Have you tried turning it off an on again?

    Found the IT guy
  • Me9aMe9a Join Date: 2008-03-27 Member: 63981Members Posts: 99 Advanced user
    I had the problem:
    The program can't start because D3DCOMPILER_47.dll is missing from your computer.
    Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.


    After installing:
    https://www.catalog.update.microsoft.com/Search.aspx?q=KB4019990

    everything works again.

    SopsmAL1CE
  • MephillesMephilles Germany Join Date: 2013-08-07 Member: 186634Members, NS2 Map Tester Posts: 953 Advanced user
    @Aeglos @MoFo1 play on low hud details and disable viewmodels maybe?
    return to zero
  • AeglosAeglos Join Date: 2010-04-06 Member: 71189Members Posts: 618 Advanced user
    Mephilles wrote: »
    @Aeglos @MoFo1 play on low hud details and disable viewmodels maybe?

    Unfortunately, I want my viewmodels.

    Its okay though, all I have to do is evolve to a lifeform and not die. Simple.
  • MoFo1MoFo1 United States Join Date: 2014-07-25 Member: 197612Members Posts: 724 Advanced user
    edited June 23
    Mephilles wrote: »
    @Aeglos @MoFo1 play on low hud details and disable viewmodels maybe?

    I also don't want to disable viewmodels, and low hud detail takes away other info I like having at a glance...

    It should be tied to hints. Disabled hints = no evolution reminders.

    Unfortunately that isn't the case.


    Also please please PLEASE set it so marines spawn with 2 IP no matter what!!!!

    It's super frustrating to have people demanding the game not start until we have enough players for 2 IPs to spawn.. Even worse when they call for resets due to no 2nd IP...

    The fact that the 2nd IP spawns automatically when you get enough players doesn't seem to matter.

    Even more frustrating when you are one player shy from getting that 2nd IP for free (with someone connecting no less) and the commander throws away 20 res buying it. 20 res that could go towards weapon or armor upgrades.
    Post edited by MoFo1 on
  • XaleXale Paris / France Join Date: 2003-12-26 Member: 24767Members Posts: 152 Advanced user
    Reduce IP Cost to 15 instead fo 20... please...
    Old NS1.0 player (JP/HMG for the win)
    Mapper (de_mangashop for CS1.6 / CSS / CS:GO )
    ns2_hera2018 : https://forums.unknownworlds.com/discussion/155092/ns2-hera2018
    ns2_nancy2019 : https://forums.unknownworlds.com/discussion/155726/ns2-nancy2019
    ns2_nancy_veil : https://forums.unknownworlds.com/discussion/155851/ns2-nancy-veil
    MoFo1
  • israrootmisrarootm Brazil Join Date: 2019-06-25 Member: 253495Members Posts: 2 Fully active user
    Me9a wrote: »
    I had the problem:
    The program can't start because D3DCOMPILER_47.dll is missing from your computer.
    Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.


    After installing:
    KB4019990

    everything works again.

    That worked. But now only D3D9 works.
    The option to use D3D11 does not appear.
  • HandschuhHandschuh Join Date: 2005-03-08 Member: 44338Members, NS2 Playtester, NS2 Community Developer Posts: 387 Advanced user
    edited June 27
    MoFo1 wrote: »
    The fact that the 2nd IP spawns automatically when you get enough players doesn't seem to matter.
    This is rather an information Issue... maybe a serverwide message would be useful when a second IP is being spawned automatically.
    MoFo1 wrote: »
    Back to the build.. I really really REALLY dislike how the personal res doesn't overflow to your team at 100.
    This has not changed in the build. I'd rather have it overflow as well, but yeah I understand the balance arguments against it as well. Regardless this is the wrong thread to discuss this!

    Since it won't change for now I just tried to make it more visible because there are tons of misinformation about whether they overflow or not.

    israrootm wrote: »
    That worked. But now only D3D9 works.
    The option to use D3D11 does not appear.
    The weird thing in the option is you have to go LEFT to use DirectX 11 from DirectX 9
  • MoFo1MoFo1 United States Join Date: 2014-07-25 Member: 197612Members Posts: 724 Advanced user
    Handschuh wrote: »
    MoFo1 wrote: »
    The fact that the 2nd IP spawns automatically when you get enough players doesn't seem to matter.
    This is rather an information Issue... maybe a serverwide message would be useful when a second IP is being spawned automatically.

    I'm not sure I can agree that it's just an information issue since they're given the information by other players and they just ignore it with "we need it anyway"

    Which is SUPER frustrating watching them throwing 20 res away on something we should get for free. 20 res is an upgrade... 20 res is shotguns... it's almost like handicapping your team to waste it.

    Could a dev possibly explain the thought process behind not simply giving marines 2 IP regardless of player count?



    Also just thought it might be worth mentioning there are a number if bugs I've noticed. I will try to get video of them...

    For instance

    Not being able to buy a welder on marines.
    46 res, axe in hand, option to buy welder is locked (ie showing red, as if I already had one) Dying didn't fix it either, the entire rest of that game I couldn't buy any welders, had to rely on picking up ones that were dropped.

    UI not showing res flow, upgrade progress, etc.
    Showed team res locked at 10 for several minutes with only armor 1 researched, in reality we had w3/a2 with plenty of res.

    Marine commander is unable to research any upgrades on arms lab if they get in chair after game start.

    Marine bot commander can glitch where it doesn't drop any meds, ammo, or extractors.

    Players can spawn at the wrong starting location!
    I've only seen this on refinery so far.. Both times a single marine spawned in the alien main base at game start.
  • israrootmisrarootm Brazil Join Date: 2019-06-25 Member: 253495Members Posts: 2 Fully active user
    Handschuh wrote: »
    [
    israrootm wrote: »
    That worked. But now only D3D9 works.
    The option to use D3D11 does not appear.
    The weird thing in the option is you have to go LEFT to use DirectX 11 from DirectX 9
    Yes.
    But it does not show up after the update.

  • NovoReiNovoRei US Join Date: 2014-11-18 Member: 199718Members Posts: 83 Advanced user
    GL, Lerk and Alien nerfs, patch after patch. All of which I most liked. Makes me value the time and fun enjoyed before b279.

    Now the meta is being updated by SJWs making Aliens "equals" to Marines. If that is what it takes to preserve the community...
  • SquishpokePOOPFACESquishpokePOOPFACE -21,248 posts (ignore below) Join Date: 2012-10-31 Member: 165262Members, Reinforced - Shadow Posts: 1,620 Advanced user
    ZEROibis wrote: »
    . Thus now there is no reason to keep it limited...

    Bad gameplay
    To be fair, you have to have a very high IQ to play Natural Selection 2. The gameplay is extremely subtle, and without a solid grasp of military strategy and advanced mathematics you won't even win a single game. Theres also the game's nihilistic outlook, which is deftly woven into the game. The maps and artwork draw heavily from Riddley Scott's Alien franchise, for instance. The players understand this stuff, they have the intellectual capacity to truly appreciate the depth of the game, to realise that it's not just great, that it also says something about LIFE. As a consequence people who dislike Natural Selection 2 truly ARE idiots. of course they wouldn't appreciate, for instance, the humour in the Marines' existential catchphrase "how do I get to be so good", which itself is a cryptic reference to the high degree of intelligence required to play the game as intended. I'm smirking right now just imagining one of those addlepated simpletons scratching their heads in confusion when spectating a game. What fools... how I pity them. And, yes, by the way, i DO have a Fade tatoo. And no, you cannot see it. it's for the ladies' eyes only, and even then they have to demonstrate that they are within 50 hive skill points of my own (preferable lower) beforehand. Nothin personnel kid.
    Nordic
  • HandschuhHandschuh Join Date: 2005-03-08 Member: 44338Members, NS2 Playtester, NS2 Community Developer Posts: 387 Advanced user
    edited July 1
    israrootm wrote: »
    Handschuh wrote: »
    [
    israrootm wrote: »
    That worked. But now only D3D9 works.
    The option to use D3D11 does not appear.
    The weird thing in the option is you have to go LEFT to use DirectX 11 from DirectX 9
    Yes.
    But it does not show up after the update.

    Maybe you could provide more... like a screenshot at least... what OS are you using? Interestingly during PT there was a bug that it didn't show up for Windows 7...
    And maybe move your issue to the official ns2 discord :P

    MoFo1 wrote: »
    Handschuh wrote: »
    MoFo1 wrote: »
    The fact that the 2nd IP spawns automatically when you get enough players doesn't seem to matter.
    This is rather an information Issue... maybe a serverwide message would be useful when a second IP is being spawned automatically.

    I'm not sure I can agree that it's just an information issue since they're given the information by other players and they just ignore it with "we need it anyway"

    Which is SUPER frustrating watching them throwing 20 res away on something we should get for free. 20 res is an upgrade... 20 res is shotguns... it's almost like handicapping your team to waste it.

    Could a dev possibly explain the thought process behind not simply giving marines 2 IP regardless of player count?
    Because it is considered an Upgrade
    3 IPs on 10vs10 is the same like 2 IPs on 7vs7.. (discussing further here is pointless, see below)

    Known issues are afaik:
    - rarely a comm cannot research upgrade on Armslabs
    - rarely spawning at wrong location
    Those are probably caused by the massive optimizations .. probably very hard to reproduce, so provide a vid if possible (also on the other bugs that are at least new to me) or further steps in case you have a way to reliably reproduce it



    Generally I recommend to provide any feedback in the #feedback channel in the NS2 discord that is actually read by all the ppl that balance this game.

    Post edited by Handschuh on
  • .trixX..trixX. Budapest Join Date: 2007-10-11 Member: 62605Members Posts: 856 Advanced user
    ZEROibis wrote: »
    . Thus now there is no reason to keep it limited...
    Bad gameplay

    Maybe for you, but not for a lot of us.

    I'm still looking for an objective _result_ (not conjectures) that validates the reduction in player count.
    There are no more populated servers than before, nor there are more players overall.
    NO Cyril, when they're dead they're just hookers!
    Nintendows
Sign In or Register to comment.