This is important ! DEvs take note !

RboxRbox Belgium Join Date: 2018-03-17 Member: 239227Members Posts: 35 Advanced user
I kept it a bit vague intentionally. You know.......because spoilers.

I was already on my 133rd in-game play day before I found the wreck with the blueprints for thye battery charger, drill arm and Vehicle Upgrade Console. These are crucial things to have. And why did I find them that late? Because the wreck they are in takes about 12 seconds to be drawn into the world. 12 seconds! I have no clue how many times I already swum or sailed past that exact spot, but it's more than 5 times. And I didn't see the wreck once. I only found it because I scanned for databoxes and then arrived at the correct place only to find that nothing was there. So I waited. 12 seconds it took to have it all materialise before my eyes. This is a biggie. This is important stuff!

Also this: when you don't appear on the rendezvous with the Sunbeam, you have no clue as to where the Island is later. Because the location marker disapears after the Sunbeam event.
Shaneoripjawwolffang

Comments

  • ShaneoShaneo Join Date: 2018-03-11 Member: 238928Members Posts: 13 Fully active user
    This has been a problem for me too. I've actually been trapped several times in wrecks this way as the walls have spawned around me.

    As for the way-point marker at the Sunbeam location, I always carry a couple of beacons with me wherever I go. This way I can always get back to important locations. I had about 20 beacons set up by the end of my first play through.
  • Dozer826Dozer826 Join Date: 2018-02-28 Member: 238432Members Posts: 4 Fully active user
    The map rendering is super bad. Every time I play, at least one time I grapple arm sling myself into oblivion. Usually the map only renders about 50-100 years in front of me which is bad enough, but sometimes it just doesn’t load and you fall into the depths of nothingness and lose progress.
    ripjawwolffang
  • RboxRbox Belgium Join Date: 2018-03-17 Member: 239227Members Posts: 35 Advanced user
    edited April 1
    and just yesterday, I stumbled upon another wreck that only loads after +10 seconds. the one where the grapling hook for the Prawn is hidden. I just happened to start building a scanner room on that particular rock ...et voilà.... extra goodies (which i should have found already ages ago).) Things like this kinda break the game.
    ripjawwolffang
  • RboxRbox Belgium Join Date: 2018-03-17 Member: 239227Members Posts: 35 Advanced user
    Shaneo wrote: »
    As for the way-point marker at the Sunbeam location, I always carry a couple of beacons with me wherever I go. This way I can always get back to important locations. I had about 20 beacons set up by the end of my first play through.

    Yeah sure, but I didn't go to the event. So the marker vanished and I hadn't been there.
  • AnomalyDetectedAnomalyDetected Alterra Housing District: Planet Vicaron. Join Date: 2017-04-19 Member: 229741Members Posts: 515 Advanced user
    I've mentioned it many times over, and I will say it again.

    The Xbox is not made to support such a graphically intense game. If you want better load times, either buy a good pc, or wait until they can get some better optimization, which can take months.
    ================Anomaly================
    "Life is a game,
    which the universe plays with itself."

    Well said, Jochi Khasar. Well said.
    ================Anomaly================
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands, Hoogezand Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue Posts: 15,655 Advanced user
    edited April 3
    I've mentioned it many times over, and I will say it again.

    The Xbox is not made to support such a graphically intense game. If you want better load times, either buy a good pc, or wait until they can get some better optimization, which can take months.

    I'm at a point where I might wait on more stability. This game managed to crash my entire PC to bluescreen, a first for me since early days of Windows XP, alongside constant random CTD's. Which is really starting to drive me NUTS, having to go through videos to catch up the save's progress to the point I chrased. Mind you, this is a rig made for folding and can easily stress out all nooks and crannies of the hardware, when verifying the overclock :D


    Maybe I could try and lower some settings, although this rig can gobble up this game for breakfast when it doesn't randomly crash :tongue:

    Guardian of the "magic cookiejar" AdminModerator

    Existence Unknown

    Retired forum Admin, I mostly used a flamethrower tank for disputes... Mostly
    Retired EUPT Deputy | Moral Support | Squad 5 Blue
    102 1HP Skulk escapes and counting | Play the Latest Version of Booster Z-Frame
    YouTube NS2 Playlists: Unusual Selection | NS2 Stuff | NS2PT | NS2 Tuts

  • 0x6A72320x6A7232 US Join Date: 2016-10-06 Member: 222906Members Posts: 4,797 Advanced user
    Kouji_San wrote: »
    I've mentioned it many times over, and I will say it again.

    The Xbox is not made to support such a graphically intense game. If you want better load times, either buy a good pc, or wait until they can get some better optimization, which can take months.

    I'm at a point where I might wait on more stability. This game managed to crash my entire PC to bluescreen, a first for me since early days of Windows XP, alongside constant random CTD's. Which is really starting to drive me NUTS, having to go through videos to catch up the save's progress to the point I chrased. Mind you, this is a rig made for folding and can easily stress out all nooks and crannies of the hardware, when verifying the overclock :D


    Maybe I could try and lower some settings, although this rig can gobble up this game for breakfast when it doesn't randomly crash :tongue:

    Did you try the
    -window-mode exclusive
    
    launch parameter? (Properties > Set Launch Options)
    UWE Community guidelines | Guide to play in VR with Google Cardboard or Gear | Increase Subnautica view distance | Useful info to post with error reports | Recovery of corrupted saved games
    Crashing, lag problems? Or maybe your old save didn't get the latest update? Upload your saved game folder to help the devs troubleshoot, then try clearing your cache directories | Automatic Cache cleaning tool here | How to use the Debug Console | How to play any version of Subnautica using Steam | Tips for Subnautica beginners | Why can't the devs "just fix it"? - a modding session for you to educate yourself with Want more frames? Try adding this to your launch options: -window-mode exclusive
    Slow loading / textures popping in? Try moving Subnautica to an SSD | How to switch Subnautica to Experimental mode (clear cache afterwards) | How to run chkdsk on your drive | How to verify integrity of your game cache (in the "Installation" section) | Blue screens or computer freezing up? Try this fix (updates a corrupted DX10 compatibility file in the graphics driver that sometimes doesn't get updated)
    Subnautica launches in a tiny window? Use Task Manager to Maximize it (Thanks FlippingPower) | How to place your Moonpool so it connects correctly (includes diagrams) | Want to hang out with fellow players and the devs? Subnautica Discord server ← swing on by! | Subnautica mods - Hey look! Mods! | ReShade mods | Humans don't crush at the depths you might think
    Joystick problems? | Xpadder | UJR / vJoy | JoyToKey | Get detailed info for troubleshooting: CPU-Z | GPU-Z | HWiNFO64 | Speccy | Pastebin | Recover the data on your crashed hard disk! | I'm a Total Geek
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands, Hoogezand Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue Posts: 15,655 Advanced user
    edited April 4
    0x6A7232 wrote: »
    Kouji_San wrote: »
    I've mentioned it many times over, and I will say it again.

    The Xbox is not made to support such a graphically intense game. If you want better load times, either buy a good pc, or wait until they can get some better optimization, which can take months.

    I'm at a point where I might wait on more stability. This game managed to crash my entire PC to bluescreen, a first for me since early days of Windows XP, alongside constant random CTD's. Which is really starting to drive me NUTS, having to go through videos to catch up the save's progress to the point I chrased. Mind you, this is a rig made for folding and can easily stress out all nooks and crannies of the hardware, when verifying the overclock :D


    Maybe I could try and lower some settings, although this rig can gobble up this game for breakfast when it doesn't randomly crash :tongue:

    Did you try the
    -window-mode exclusive
    
    launch parameter? (Properties > Set Launch Options)

    Hmm, I could try that... Might it be the magic bullet to stop from from pausing the game for a while :tongue:




    Hmm, so far so good. It tended to CTD a few minutes after saving the game, that hasn't happened yet with this parameter. BUT, I've yet to test it while recording with OBS, seems promising though...


    ^It seems a bit more stable, instead of crashing 3 timesduring one recording and 2 times during another... Now it seems to crash 1 time during 2 recordings :D

    Progress?
    Post edited by Kouji_San on

    Guardian of the "magic cookiejar" AdminModerator

    Existence Unknown

    Retired forum Admin, I mostly used a flamethrower tank for disputes... Mostly
    Retired EUPT Deputy | Moral Support | Squad 5 Blue
    102 1HP Skulk escapes and counting | Play the Latest Version of Booster Z-Frame
    YouTube NS2 Playlists: Unusual Selection | NS2 Stuff | NS2PT | NS2 Tuts

  • RboxRbox Belgium Join Date: 2018-03-17 Member: 239227Members Posts: 35 Advanced user
    I've mentioned it many times over, and I will say it again.

    The Xbox is not made to support such a graphically intense game..

    Excuse me? AC Origins is a graphically intense game, Forza Motorsport 7, Wolfenstein II, COD WW 2...
    But Subnautica?

  • AnomalyDetectedAnomalyDetected Alterra Housing District: Planet Vicaron. Join Date: 2017-04-19 Member: 229741Members Posts: 515 Advanced user
    Rbox wrote: »
    I've mentioned it many times over, and I will say it again.

    The Xbox is not made to support such a graphically intense game..

    Excuse me? AC Origins is a graphically intense game, Forza Motorsport 7, Wolfenstein II, COD WW 2...
    But Subnautica?

    Subnautica on the PC has some very high intensity graphics. They even toned them down for the Xbox one.

    Subnautica does a lot more than you expect. It spawns things and despawns them when needed. It mapps terrain, having it appear when needed. It uses cells to save locations. It does alot of stuff, so it's understandable for the game to lag a bit.
    ================Anomaly================
    "Life is a game,
    which the universe plays with itself."

    Well said, Jochi Khasar. Well said.
    ================Anomaly================
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands, Hoogezand Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue Posts: 15,655 Advanced user
    So, since I'm running an an older Audigy 2 soundcard. I had it set to a higher quality sound quality, something it can handle with ease. However, perhaps FMOD is the cause for my consistent crashing, now trying it out with a lower/recommended quality @ 24-bits/44Khz

    Guardian of the "magic cookiejar" AdminModerator

    Existence Unknown

    Retired forum Admin, I mostly used a flamethrower tank for disputes... Mostly
    Retired EUPT Deputy | Moral Support | Squad 5 Blue
    102 1HP Skulk escapes and counting | Play the Latest Version of Booster Z-Frame
    YouTube NS2 Playlists: Unusual Selection | NS2 Stuff | NS2PT | NS2 Tuts

  • RboxRbox Belgium Join Date: 2018-03-17 Member: 239227Members Posts: 35 Advanced user
    Kouji_San wrote: »
    0x6A7232 wrote: »
    Kouji_San wrote: »

    Maybe I could try and lower some settings, although this rig can gobble up this game for breakfast when it doesn't randomly crash :tongue:

    Did you try the
    -window-mode exclusive
    
    launch parameter? (Properties > Set Launch Options)

    Hmm, I could try that... Might it be the magic bullet to stop from from pausing the game for a while :tongue:


    Boo-hoo-hoo, you guys hijacked the thread. This is in the Xbox One section.
    Kouji_San
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands, Hoogezand Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue Posts: 15,655 Advanced user
    Rbox wrote: »
    Kouji_San wrote: »
    0x6A7232 wrote: »
    Kouji_San wrote: »

    Maybe I could try and lower some settings, although this rig can gobble up this game for breakfast when it doesn't randomly crash :tongue:

    Did you try the
    -window-mode exclusive
    
    launch parameter? (Properties > Set Launch Options)

    Hmm, I could try that... Might it be the magic bullet to stop from from pausing the game for a while :tongue:


    Boo-hoo-hoo, you guys hijacked the thread. This is in the Xbox One section.

    Hehe TBH, this is the first time I actually see that we have a Xbox One sub forum! I usually hang around here and not pay much attention to the forum sections. But ya gots a point :tongue:

    Guardian of the "magic cookiejar" AdminModerator

    Existence Unknown

    Retired forum Admin, I mostly used a flamethrower tank for disputes... Mostly
    Retired EUPT Deputy | Moral Support | Squad 5 Blue
    102 1HP Skulk escapes and counting | Play the Latest Version of Booster Z-Frame
    YouTube NS2 Playlists: Unusual Selection | NS2 Stuff | NS2PT | NS2 Tuts

  • ripjawwolffangripjawwolffang Australia nsw Join Date: 2018-06-13 Member: 241356Members Posts: 9 Fully active user
    Wait wait! How do I get to launch peramiters!
    I’m having the same problem it makes the game borderline unplayable. Please tell me how you fixed it!?
    Oh wait... your talking about for the pc... >.> c’mon man that’s not fair
Sign In or Register to comment.