Suggestion: Active Lava Zone is TOO HARD, Prawn Suit is useless there

FrunobulaxFrunobulax New Hampshire Join Date: 2017-05-15 Member: 230523Members
OK, I know many people will call me a wimp or loser or whatever. Many people will say "well, *I* did it, so you are just lame!". But actually I am a very experienced gamer. I've been playing computer games for 30 years, and spent a couple years as a paid game designer on some A-list titles. So I'm not just a random fanboi. I know what's involved in designing and making games. And I LOVE Subnautica. I think the game is amazing. I can only wish for more - more maps, locations, vehicles, stories, etc. But that doesn't make the game perfect.

In the "middle" of the game, about where I am now, you are require to visit the Inactive Lava Zone, and then of course the Active Lava Zone to find the alien thermal plant. Finding the (currently) single entrance is nearly impossible without looking up cheats in Google. And when you get there, it's a MASSIVE pain in the ass to maneuver your Cyclops down the shaft very far. But, OK - I can deal with that. Hey, it's supposed to be challenging, right? But then when you drop off the Prawn Suit for exploring, it all goes to shit. OK, again, I understand - it shouldn't be easy. There should be challenges. But the Prawn suit is pretty much DEFENSLESS!

The prawn suit has:
o NO sonar, so you can't tell where you're going
o NO shield or electric field to fight off critters
o TERRIBLE lights - no floodlights, and the existing lights don't even light up what's directly in from of you when you are close up.
o NO way to indicate at all what critters are around so you can avoid them
o The CONSTANT damage from heat and critters makes you have to exit every 2 minutes