I'm going to need assurances from the devs that this game will be optimized before final release.

Silk_SkSilk_Sk United States Join Date: 2015-01-03 Member: 200602Members
(reddit x-post)

Let's be real. This game is mind blowing, but it runs like a one-legged hippo pushing a loaded shopping cart through a mirror maze. It's slow, confusing, inconsistent, and everything is breaking or being lost entirely.

I've been playing this game for two years because it is incredible. But it's starting to feel like this is just the way it is. Half the map will always have an average of 1-15 fps with terrain and creatures constantly popping into existence a few feet in front of your face. If this were any other game, I wouldn't play it for one hour before asking for a refund.

But it isn't any other game. This is Subnautica, and I fell in love with it forever years before early access even started, when the music and concept art were released.

The game feels nearly finished. It will more than likely be this year. But with version 1.0 so tantalizingly close, the fact that the game is still in such rough condition breaks my heart.
Sometimes I imagine what it would be like to play this game with a steady framerate and no terrain pop-in and I get goosebumps. I want to play that game so badly it is physically painful. But while the end of early access feels closer and closer, that dream feels more and more distant.