Simplifying NS2 - Thoughts on Gameplay (feedback wanted!) - Natural Selection 2

Comments

• dePARAdePARA Join Date: 2011-04-29 Member: 96321Members, Squad Five Blue
    edited December 2015
    mattji104 wrote: »
    leod wrote: »
    As a newbie myself, I would like to see how I get killed so easily every time, it could be the best tutorial
    which means, is it possible replay a few seconds - in my enemies' FOV ? just like they did in COD

I 100% agree that a replay system would be the best tutorial. See how you get wrecked by an experienced play is valuable as fuckkkk

The only problem is see here is, that many kills often based on things that happen more than a few seconds ago.
    Example:
    You run around the map as marine and hear skulk footsteps in the next room.
    So you start sneaking slowly to the next room and based on the sound you know the exact position of the skulk hanging over the doorway waiting for the ambush.
    So you ran in, target that spot and kill the skulk.
    Now we hear the classic question "How did you know?"

With an replay of the last seconds, you wont show the rookie the moment you hear or see the skulk before, wich lead to the kill.
    But this might work in combination with a helping system for the new players.
    Example:
    You run around as skulk and the the game tells you in whatever way "Pssst, there marines nearby, be quite" but you give a shit on this advice and run to your "hide" point.
    After that you get killed like in the example from above and see the kill from the killcam view.

Now it should be clear, i was to loud, the marines heard me and im dead.

And if you have people who still cant understand this, no tutorial in the world could help them.
    In every "normal" shooter when people trying to ambush or surprise othes they are avoiding noise.
    But as skulks it seems they dont care about these basics.
    This is something i will never understand.