OST usage?

BeigeAlertBeigeAlert Texas Join Date: 2013-08-08 Member: 186657Members, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow, Subnautica Playtester, Pistachionauts
I'm a freelance visual effects artist and I was wondering if it would be possible (ie. legal) for me to play some of the music from the OST in my reel.

Comments

• RedSwordRedSword Join Date: 2006-12-07 Member: 58947Members, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Supporter
    I'm wondering the same thing; what are the "right" given/transfered by the OST ? Pure self-listen only ? Non-commercial ? Non-commercial as long as its in UWE interest (I.e. advertising/promoting the game or its derivate) ?
  • SolidSpiderSolidSpider Join Date: 2013-04-14 Member: 184805Members
    Funny thing is, they don't even use the soundtrack in the actual game that much.
  • KwisatzHaderachKwisatzHaderach Join Date: 2012-02-06 Member: 143872Members, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Supporter
    Funny thing is, they don't even use the soundtrack in the actual game that much.

Which is a pitty really. They should have added a radio in one of the crew quarters on Descent playing Rust & Steam, Bloody brilliant track! On the other hand it's understandable that they are so minimalistic with the use of the great OST, it gets in the way of gameplay after all.

I'm just very happy that NS2 got all these great tracks that imo really flesh out the lore and universe of NS2 (listen closely to Origin of the Kharaa and you'll feel different playing them afterwards).
  • ObraxisObraxis Subnautica Animator & Generalist, NS2 Person Join Date: 2004-07-24 Member: 30071Super Administrators, Forum Admins, NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Silver, WC 2013 - Supporter, Subnautica Developer, Pistachionauts