How's optimization?

MisterYoonMisterYoon Members Join Date: 2012-08-18 Member: 155747Posts: 279 Fully active user
There is no more than 2 weeks left till the release.
I just hope to know how the optimization went in recent builds. I haven't(couldn't) play ns2 since beta 221.
«134

Comments

  • ObraxisObraxis Subnautica Animator & Generalist, NS2 PersonSuper Administrators, Forum Admins, NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Silver, WC 2013 - Supporter, Subnautica Developer, Pistachionauts Join Date: 2004-07-24 Member: 30071Posts: 3,013 admin
    I think it's going well. 224 is looking good and should be out soon and has a few more optimizations.

    If NS2 fails, follow my Nuke From Orbit Guide.

    NS2 Discord: https://discord.gg/0TKQwZWu7JEPeAgW

    Subnautica Discord: https://discord.gg/subnautica

  • PampelmusePampelmuse Members Join Date: 2005-04-06 Member: 47641Posts: 137
    224 improves overall performance quite a bit
  • playerplayer Members Join Date: 2010-09-12 Member: 73982Posts: 1,677
    It's not going well.

    4-5Ghz Sandy\Ivy-bridges for servers are required to sustain a measily tick-rate of 30. I knew the "performance is coming\comes last"-shtick was just to shut up people complaining about it, but even I expected more than what has been delivered on this front so far.

    It's always one more build for the real improvements isn't it...
    Ugly_Jim
  • Katana-Katana- Members Join Date: 2008-11-25 Member: 65575Posts: 351
    QUOTE (player @ Oct 18 2012, 11:37 AM) »
    4-5Ghz Sandy\Ivy-bridges for servers are required to sustain a measily tick-rate of 30. I knew the "performance is coming\comes last"-shtick was just to shut up people complaining about it, but even I expected more than what has been delivered on this front so far.


    While I agree server performance isn't good enough yet, there seems to be a lot of misunderstanding of how tick rate works in NS2's spark engine. Max explained in a Q&A a while ago that the tick rate only applies to NPC objects. Players don't have a tick rate in spark the way they do in Source or Gold Source. So while the tick rate is a good metric for how much load a server it under, there isn't a direct correlation between tickrate and player update rate.

    I wish they would put in some kind of metric for player update rate.
  • CamronCamron Members Join Date: 2011-01-06 Member: 76356Posts: 305 Fully active user
    QUOTE (player @ Oct 18 2012, 02:37 PM) »
    It's not going well.

    4-5Ghz Sandy\Ivy-bridges for servers are required to sustain a measily tick-rate of 30. I knew the "performance is coming\comes last"-shtick was just to shut up people complaining about it, but even I expected more than what has been delivered on this front so far.

    It's always one more build for the real improvements isn't it...

    The sad thing is that there is a lua performance wall. Even if they optimize the lua code perfectly, there is still the hit from all that lua running. They won't be able to get past a certain speed until they re-attemp lua-jit (unlikely) or maybe push some base classes to C++. They might be able to do some lua hacking as well to add some new features for a speedup (lua-vec, optional manual memory management, etc)
  • ChickenOfWarChickenOfWar Members Join Date: 2003-04-09 Member: 15352Posts: 392
    People are currently playing games like skyrim and BF3 flawlessly that are going to come to play this game and wonder why its running so slowly. Will NOT be good for release.
  • havok?havok? Members, NS2 Map Tester Join Date: 2012-05-22 Member: 152462Posts: 95 Fully active user
    Performance still isn't anywhere near where it needs to be. Hopefully 224 brings a huge improvement.
  • extolloextollo Ping Blip Members Join Date: 2010-07-16 Member: 72457Posts: 368 Advanced user
    QUOTE (Camron @ Oct 18 2012, 03:10 PM) »
    The sad thing is that there is a lua performance wall. Even if they optimize the lua code perfectly, there is still the hit from all that lua running. They won't be able to get past a certain speed until they re-attemp lua-jit (unlikely) or maybe push some base classes to C++. They might be able to do some lua hacking as well to add some new features for a speedup (lua-vec, optional manual memory management, etc)


    not that long ago matso said about 30% of the time was in lua proper - the rest in core engine (incl marshalling for lua). now this was before some of the more recent updates, so the % may be higher now. point being that spending resources on faster lua may not have the highest cost/benefit at this time. but agree.. would love to see as efficient lua runtime as possible tailored for this game. we know max has been doing work in this area

  • rmbrown09rmbrown09 Members Join Date: 2012-10-17 Member: 162592Posts: 169
    Can you guys post what kind of specs you're running and what FPS / Resolution / Settings you are getting out of that??

    I pre ordered yesterday but do not have beta acces so I will be curious as to how my system does when the game does release.
    Can anyone give me a guess based on how your system performs how mine could do?

    Specs:
    i7 2600k @ stock
    8GB DDR3 2133Mhz
    GTX 690 4GB Overclocked
    2560x1440 27" monitor.

    I'm hoping to pull 60 FPS minimum on max settings, that would make me happy. I am able to do so with games like BF3. Is this harder to run that something like that? Thanks.
    Specs --
    i7 4770k CPU
    H100 Liquid Cooling
    GTX 690 Overclocked
    16GB DDR3 2400MHz Ram
    256GB SSD Crucial M4
    27" 2560x1440 Catleap
    Razer BlackWidow Keyboard
    Logitech G9X Mouse
    900D Super Tower
  • havok?havok? Members, NS2 Map Tester Join Date: 2012-05-22 Member: 152462Posts: 95 Fully active user
    edited October 2012
    i7 2600k 4.5ghz
    16GB DDR3 2133Mhz
    XFX HD 6970 2GB
    1920x1080 24" 120hz monitor.

    My fps regularly drops well below 60 in late game with shadows, reflections, ambient occlusion, atmospherics and bloom turned off.
    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • XariusXarius Members, Reinforced - Supporter Join Date: 2003-12-21 Member: 24630Posts: 2,207
    Give 224 plz
    Steamname: Unkn0wn Gamename: David Bowie
  • TyphonTyphon Members Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 1899Posts: 1,597
    Hugh and charlie mentioned some sort of secret improvement coming in 224 that they couldn't talk about for some reason. We'll have to just wait and see.
    Counting bodies like sheep
    To the rythm of the war drums

  • rmbrown09rmbrown09 Members Join Date: 2012-10-17 Member: 162592Posts: 169
    QUOTE (Typhon @ Oct 18 2012, 01:04 PM) »
    Hugh and charlie mentioned some sort of secret improvement coming in 224 that they couldn't talk about for some reason. We'll have to just wait and see.


    When is 224 expected to drop? Are there any confirmed changes coming in that build?
    Specs --
    i7 4770k CPU
    H100 Liquid Cooling
    GTX 690 Overclocked
    16GB DDR3 2400MHz Ram
    256GB SSD Crucial M4
    27" 2560x1440 Catleap
    Razer BlackWidow Keyboard
    Logitech G9X Mouse
    900D Super Tower
  • extolloextollo Ping Blip Members Join Date: 2010-07-16 Member: 72457Posts: 368 Advanced user
    edited October 2012
    QUOTE (Typhon @ Oct 18 2012, 04:04 PM) »
    Hugh and charlie mentioned some sort of secret improvement coming in 224 that they couldn't talk about for some reason. We'll have to just wait and see.


    really? i thought they said it was not quite ready for 224 & we'd likely see it in the near future. client side improvement. right?


    rmbrown - you have more than enough horsepower for pushing pixels. killer rig. you are really only limited by server performance late game.
  • havok?havok? Members, NS2 Map Tester Join Date: 2012-05-22 Member: 152462Posts: 95 Fully active user
    Stock cpu settings really aren't going to cut it atm.
  • lunsluns Members Join Date: 2010-12-05 Member: 75502Posts: 805
    edited October 2012
    QUOTE (Typhon @ Oct 18 2012, 08:04 PM) »
    Hugh and charlie mentioned some sort of secret improvement coming in 224 that they couldn't talk about for some reason. We'll have to just wait and see.


    they say a lot of things, especially what's coming for for the patch you're not playing.

    If we compared current version with what we had year or so ago, improvements no doubt. But if we start comparing it to other games, the current version is still sluggish, is the word I will go with. Once this goes live people can start comparing this game performance to other games, and first impressions of the game can be pretty big deal.

    two weeks to increase client/server performance to the level other games have it? I guess in two weeks we will know.
  • xen32xen32 Members, Reinforced - Supporter Join Date: 2012-10-18 Member: 162676Posts: 1,011 Advanced user
    I saw screenshots, it all were small rooms and corridors, so I thought performance should be pretty well, as there won't be countless numbers of objects to render, like in many games nowadays (what was the last time you've seen a shooting taking palce entierly in closed quarters?). Now that I see all these threads, I'm afarid preordering was a mistake. I have a laptop, i5 2.4 ghz, 8gb ram, GF 540m. Guess I'm screwed. I thought it was still using Source while I was buying it >_<
  • XariusXarius Members, Reinforced - Supporter Join Date: 2003-12-21 Member: 24630Posts: 2,207
    edited October 2012
    I have an i5 2450M and I can reliably run the game on medium settings (Reliable for me is +- 40 FPS). Sure there's still some frame drops later on in the game, but I'm sure that will be sorted out eventually. You should be fine, really. Also, some maps are bigger offenders than others. (Mineshaft comes to mind)
    Steamname: Unkn0wn Gamename: David Bowie
  • Dictator93Dictator93 Members, Reinforced - Shadow Join Date: 2008-12-21 Member: 65833Posts: 657 Fully active user
    QUOTE (xen32 @ Oct 18 2012, 04:40 PM) »
    I saw screenshots, it all were small rooms and corridors, so I thought performance should be pretty well, as there won't be countless numbers of objects to render, like in many games nowadays (what was the last time you've seen a shooting taking palce entierly in closed quarters?). Now that I see all these threads, I'm afarid preordering was a mistake. I have a laptop, i5 2.4 ghz, 8gb ram, GF 540m. Guess I'm screwed. I thought it was still using Source while I was buying it >_<


    Xen. I would relax, it will run quite ok on your machine by release. In fact, it runs quite alright on your machine right now (with some settings turned off that is).
  • TechercizerTechercizer 7th Player Members Join Date: 2011-06-11 Member: 103832Posts: 1,850
    I've been maxing this thing's settings at over 60 fps for years now. I don't know what you guys have been complaining about all this time; maybe I'm just blessed by the magic FPS gods.

            Once the infestation reaches the Command Chair, the process begins. One Gorge enters the chair to provide the necessary height. Another climbs on its shoulders to access the controls.

            A Gorge Lab is quickly established, staffed by microscopic Gorges who work tirelessly to unlock the secrets of Frontiersman Technology, stopping only to change their lab coats when they become dirtied. Once the research progresses to a certain point, the Gorgecom gives the order. Nanites are called into service.

            The armature forms. A chosen Gorge, tested many times in the field of battle, enters the machine.

            Servos whir; miniguns spin up in diagnostics; an Exogorge is born.

  • XariusXarius Members, Reinforced - Supporter Join Date: 2003-12-21 Member: 24630Posts: 2,207
    I reckon you are, or you have a monster PC.
    Steamname: Unkn0wn Gamename: David Bowie
  • Dictator93Dictator93 Members, Reinforced - Shadow Join Date: 2008-12-21 Member: 65833Posts: 657 Fully active user
    QUOTE (Techercizer @ Oct 18 2012, 04:59 PM) »
    I've been maxing this thing's settings at over 60 fps for years now. I don't know what you guys have been complaining about all this time; maybe I'm just blessed by the magic FPS gods.

    I also have been max 60fps for awhile now .But I have a god PC so...
  • ObraxisObraxis Subnautica Animator & Generalist, NS2 PersonSuper Administrators, Forum Admins, NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Silver, WC 2013 - Supporter, Subnautica Developer, Pistachionauts Join Date: 2004-07-24 Member: 30071Posts: 3,013 admin
    QUOTE (player @ Oct 18 2012, 07:37 PM) »
    It's always one more build for the real improvements isn't it...


    Saving this quote.

    If NS2 fails, follow my Nuke From Orbit Guide.

    NS2 Discord: https://discord.gg/0TKQwZWu7JEPeAgW

    Subnautica Discord: https://discord.gg/subnautica

  • SixtyWattManSixtyWattMan Members Join Date: 2004-09-05 Member: 31404Posts: 708 Fully active user
    QUOTE (Techercizer @ Oct 18 2012, 03:59 PM) »
    I've been maxing this thing's settings at over 60 fps for years now. I don't know what you guys have been complaining about all this time; maybe I'm just blessed by the magic FPS gods.

    QUOTE (Dictator93 @ Oct 18 2012, 04:05 PM) »
    I also have been max 60fps for awhile now .But I have a god PC so...


    My specs are:
    2500K @ 4.5ghz
    ASUS P8P67 B3
    8GB 1600mhz
    GTX670 2GB (306.97)
    Corsair ForceGT 128gb (NS2 is on this drive)
    WD Caviar Black 1TB
    HT Omega Claro Halo
    Dell U2410 (1920x1200)

    I can't hold 60fps constant, especially on max settings, and neither can anyone else.
  • TechercizerTechercizer 7th Player Members Join Date: 2011-06-11 Member: 103832Posts: 1,850
    edited October 2012
    QUOTE (SixtyWattMan @ Oct 18 2012, 04:25 PM) »
    My specs are:
    2500K @ 4.5ghz
    ASUS P8P67 B3
    8GB 1600mhz
    GTX670 2GB (306.97)
    Corsair ForceGT 128gb (NS2 is on this drive)
    WD Caviar Black 1TB
    HT Omega Claro Halo
    Dell U2410 (1920x1200)

    I can't hold 60fps constant, especially on max settings, and neither can anyone else.

    I think you mean *almost* anyone else. I've easily managed 60 with a 3.2 GHz i7 and a GTX 560Ti, since long before the current optimizations.

            Once the infestation reaches the Command Chair, the process begins. One Gorge enters the chair to provide the necessary height. Another climbs on its shoulders to access the controls.

            A Gorge Lab is quickly established, staffed by microscopic Gorges who work tirelessly to unlock the secrets of Frontiersman Technology, stopping only to change their lab coats when they become dirtied. Once the research progresses to a certain point, the Gorgecom gives the order. Nanites are called into service.

            The armature forms. A chosen Gorge, tested many times in the field of battle, enters the machine.

            Servos whir; miniguns spin up in diagnostics; an Exogorge is born.

  • SixtyWattManSixtyWattMan Members Join Date: 2004-09-05 Member: 31404Posts: 708 Fully active user
    QUOTE (Techercizer @ Oct 18 2012, 04:32 PM) »
    I think you mean *almost* anyone else. I've easily managed 60 with a 3.2 GHz i7 and a GTX 560Ti, since long before the current optimizations.

    I'm sure you can ATTAIN 60fps but you cannot hold that amount during a fight.
  • CamronCamron Members Join Date: 2011-01-06 Member: 76356Posts: 305 Fully active user
    QUOTE (ChickenOfWar @ Oct 18 2012, 03:12 PM) »
    People are currently playing games like skyrim and BF3 flawlessly that are going to come to play this game and wonder why its running so slowly. Will NOT be good for release.

    ^this.

    I hope they send out a tweet or mention in a blog post that people should really check out the system requirements. It's better to have a few less or delayed sales than to have disgruntled customers who would want a refund and then not check out the game later even when they upgrade their rig.
  • TechercizerTechercizer 7th Player Members Join Date: 2011-06-11 Member: 103832Posts: 1,850
    edited October 2012
    QUOTE (SixtyWattMan @ Oct 18 2012, 04:39 PM) »
    I'm sure you can ATTAIN 60fps but you cannot hold that amount during a fight.

    Yes I can. When I uncap, I never drop below 80 in a fight. Don't tell my what my computer can and can't do unless you have the proof to back it up.

            Once the infestation reaches the Command Chair, the process begins. One Gorge enters the chair to provide the necessary height. Another climbs on its shoulders to access the controls.

            A Gorge Lab is quickly established, staffed by microscopic Gorges who work tirelessly to unlock the secrets of Frontiersman Technology, stopping only to change their lab coats when they become dirtied. Once the research progresses to a certain point, the Gorgecom gives the order. Nanites are called into service.

            The armature forms. A chosen Gorge, tested many times in the field of battle, enters the machine.

            Servos whir; miniguns spin up in diagnostics; an Exogorge is born.

  • G1RG1R Members Join Date: 2012-08-23 Member: 156275Posts: 86
    comparing visuals in relation to performance ....its not good. esp. nowadays, where people wanna stream ...... guess i have to get a new high end pc just in order to play+stream NS2 ..... while its the only game making problems. :D
  • koewikoewi Members, Reinforced - Shadow Join Date: 2007-08-25 Member: 61984Posts: 127
    QUOTE (Typhon @ Oct 18 2012, 10:04 PM) »
    Hugh and charlie mentioned some sort of secret improvement coming in 224 that they couldn't talk about for some reason. We'll have to just wait and see.


    they actually said, that they have something, that they can't talk about and that will come with the "linuxupdate", but i really don't know, when this will be and what's this update about ...
    maybe the dedicated linuxserver update ... don't know it exactly
    lerk.de Banner
Sign In or Register to comment.