Zelda Classic

Invader_ScootInvader_Scoot Join Date: 2003-10-13 Member: 21669Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow
edited May 2005 in Off-Topic
<div class="IPBDescription">Classic Style Zelda Quest Program</div> Maybe some of you have heard of this (it is pretty old) but not everyone has, and they've recently released a new version so I felt I had to get some word out.

Basically Zelda Classic is a program that you can use to make an old style zelda game. You can create textures, people, basically everything you want.

Go check it out:

<a href='http://zeldaclassic.armageddongames.net/index.php' target='_blank'>http://zeldaclassic.armageddongames.net/index.php</a>

It's hard to start out, but once you understand it a bit better you can really make some cool things.

Edit: Now that I really look back on this program, it's harder then I remember. And actually installing it all correctly was hard enough.
<b><a href='http://www.hosting.nsagames.com/scoot/Other/Zelda%20Classic.zip' target='_blank'>Here's</a> a link to download it all at once, without having to find out how to fix those stupid errors.</b>

Comments

  • LikuLiku I, am the Somberlain. Join Date: 2003-01-10 Member: 12128Members
    Yummy, time to test this out.
  • CyndaneCyndane Join Date: 2003-11-15 Member: 22913Members
    Yeah this has been out for a while now, but they just recently fixed all the issues they were having while making your own quests.
  • LikuLiku I, am the Somberlain. Join Date: 2003-01-10 Member: 12128Members
    Playing Zelda 1 with LttP graphics and a colored Link's Awakening sprite rules.
  • RatonetwothreetwooneRatonetwothreetwoone Join Date: 2004-03-23 Member: 27504Members
    wth guys... i just took on the project a few days ago for my visual basic class to make an rpg... so here i am basically remaking loz original... taking tilesets from screenshots and assembling them to make my own maps.. ripping music from a rom... and making this thing from scratch... and now up pops this damn thing... im alittle dissapointed to be honest...

    i suppose i should check it out to be sure of how stupid i feel...

    by the way if anyone knows how to code REALLY good collisions in vb6.0... lemme know...
  • DOOManiacDOOManiac Worst. Critic. Ever. Join Date: 2002-04-17 Member: 462Members, NS1 Playtester
    edited May 2005
    If its zelda-like in quality, why do your collisions need to be anything more than the simple "does square 1 touch square 2" variety? Hell they don't even rotate, just check the X/Y bounds :P

    [edit]
    Just checked it out.
    Hm....
    Why is there no menu option for windows mode? :X
    And where are the LTTP-style graphics Liku?

    This thing needs more user-friendliness.
    [/edit]
  • RatonetwothreetwooneRatonetwothreetwoone Join Date: 2004-03-23 Member: 27504Members
    edited May 2005
    well what i have right here.. and i dunno maybe i should start my own thread... but its..

    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
    Private Sub tmrSolid_Timer()
       Solid
    End Sub

    Public Sub Solid()
       For x = 0 To shpSolid.UBound
           If imgLink.Left <= shpSolid(x).Left + shpSolid(x).Width And shpSolid(x).Left <= imgLink.Left + imgLink.Width Then
               If imgLink.Top <= shpSolid(x).Top + shpSolid(x).Height And shpSolid(x).Top <= imgLink.Top + imgLink.Height Then
                   ColSolid
               End If
           End If
       Next x
    End Sub

    Public Sub ColSolid()
       With imgLink
           If LinkLeft = True Then
               .Left = .Left + 10
           End If
           If LinkRight = True Then
               .Left = .Left - 10
           End If
           If LinkUp = True Then
               .Top = .Top + 10
           End If
           If LinkDown = True Then
               .Top = .Top - 10
           End If
       End With
    End Sub
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    the problem with this is sometimes the img gets inside of the box(he shouldnt be in) without getting pushed back... and since hes inside of the box if you try to move up down or the opposite direction of the box it will push you in the opposite direction instead of the direction you want to go... he also kind of spazes out when you walk into a box... all that moving forward then getting pushed back..

    hope you can understand what im saying...

    i forgot to mention.. his movement is 2 timers.. each triggers a different picture to load.. so it looks more like hes walking instead of gliding.. he moves 10 pixels at a time.. thats what the forms scalemode is set to... the intervals for the frames is 60 ms and 120 ms... if anyone has a suggestion please pm me.. ive got more questions too.. but those will come later../somewhere else..
  • theclamtheclam Join Date: 2004-08-01 Member: 30290Members
    I'm not fluent in the language that your code is in, but here's my interpretation on what you're doing.

    Basically, you've got Link and a Rock that you don't want Link to be able to move into or onto or through. If Link does attempt to move into/onto/through it, then your code will push him in the opposite direction by 10 units.

    If I'm right, then what you have to do is, instead of pushing Link 10 units in one direction, move him to a point outside of the rock. So, if Link is at the position (100,100) and the bottom of a rock is at (100,90), and Link tries to move the top of his sprite to a position < 90, then just set his position = to 90, instead of doing Link.position += 10.
  • LikuLiku I, am the Somberlain. Join Date: 2003-01-10 Member: 12128Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-DOOManiac+May 10 2005, 06:53 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (DOOManiac @ May 10 2005, 06:53 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Why is there no menu option for windows mode? :X
    And where are the LTTP-style graphics Liku? <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Files 4 and 5.
  • RatonetwothreetwooneRatonetwothreetwoone Join Date: 2004-03-23 Member: 27504Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-theclam+May 10 2005, 11:16 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (theclam @ May 10 2005, 11:16 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> I'm not fluent in the language that your code is in, but here's my interpretation on what you're doing.

    Basically, you've got Link and a Rock that you don't want Link to be able to move into or onto or through. If Link does attempt to move into/onto/through it, then your code will push him in the opposite direction by 10 units.

    If I'm right, then what you have to do is, instead of pushing Link 10 units in one direction, move him to a point outside of the rock. So, if Link is at the position (100,100) and the bottom of a rock is at (100,90), and Link tries to move the top of his sprite to a position < 90, then just set his position = to 90, instead of doing Link.position += 10. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    the problem with that is theres a ton of blocks i dont want link to walk into.. it would take forever to code all that...
  • theclamtheclam Join Date: 2004-08-01 Member: 30290Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-Ratonetwothreetwoone+May 11 2005, 04:51 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Ratonetwothreetwoone @ May 11 2005, 04:51 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-theclam+May 10 2005, 11:16 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (theclam @ May 10 2005, 11:16 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> I'm not fluent in the language that your code is in, but here's my interpretation on what you're doing.

    Basically, you've got Link and a Rock that you don't want Link to be able to move into or onto or through.  If Link does attempt to move into/onto/through it, then your code will push him in the opposite direction by 10 units.

    If I'm right, then what you have to do is, instead of pushing Link 10 units in one direction, move him to a point outside of the rock.  So, if Link is at the position (100,100) and the bottom of a rock is at (100,90), and Link tries to move the top of his sprite to a position < 90, then just set his position = to 90, instead of doing Link.position += 10. <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    the problem with that is theres a ton of blocks i dont want link to walk into.. it would take forever to code all that... <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I don't see why it would take any longer. The way it works now is that, for example, if Link is moving left into a block, Link gets moved 10 units to the right. Just set it so that instead of moving 10 units to the right, he is moved so that his left edge is at the same X-position as the right edge of the block. You don't have to do it for every single block and the code is about the same length as the code you have now. I don't know much about OO, but you already have to know the coordinates of the edges of the blocks to do hit detection in the first place, so why can't you make those coordinates publicly available to the function that moves Link?
  • StormLiongStormLiong Join Date: 2002-12-27 Member: 11569Members
    on a related topic
    <img src='http://ic1.deviantart.com/fs5/i/2005/131/0/c/My_tattoo_by_SyraCourage.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />

    <a href='http://www.deviantart.com/view/18207586/' target='_blank'>http://www.deviantart.com/view/18207586/</a>
  • DOOManiacDOOManiac Worst. Critic. Ever. Join Date: 2002-04-17 Member: 462Members, NS1 Playtester
    Check if Link can move there before actually moving him.
  • RatonetwothreetwooneRatonetwothreetwoone Join Date: 2004-03-23 Member: 27504Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-theclam+May 11 2005, 05:45 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (theclam @ May 11 2005, 05:45 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-Ratonetwothreetwoone+May 11 2005, 04:51 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Ratonetwothreetwoone @ May 11 2005, 04:51 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-theclam+May 10 2005, 11:16 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (theclam @ May 10 2005, 11:16 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> I'm not fluent in the language that your code is in, but here's my interpretation on what you're doing.

    Basically, you've got Link and a Rock that you don't want Link to be able to move into or onto or through.  If Link does attempt to move into/onto/through it, then your code will push him in the opposite direction by 10 units.

    If I'm right, then what you have to do is, instead of pushing Link 10 units in one direction, move him to a point outside of the rock.  So, if Link is at the position (100,100) and the bottom of a rock is at (100,90), and Link tries to move the top of his sprite to a position < 90, then just set his position = to 90, instead of doing Link.position += 10. <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    the problem with that is theres a ton of blocks i dont want link to walk into.. it would take forever to code all that... <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I don't see why it would take any longer. The way it works now is that, for example, if Link is moving left into a block, Link gets moved 10 units to the right. Just set it so that instead of moving 10 units to the right, he is moved so that his left edge is at the same X-position as the right edge of the block. You don't have to do it for every single block and the code is about the same length as the code you have now. I don't know much about OO, but you already have to know the coordinates of the edges of the blocks to do hit detection in the first place, so why can't you make those coordinates publicly available to the function that moves Link? <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    ok i think i get what youre saying.. ill try it in a bit..

    the way its working now isnt on x, y coordinates.. its just if the image gets to within the .left + the .width then the controls get reversed.. what normally makes you go right will make you go left etc.
  • LikuLiku I, am the Somberlain. Join Date: 2003-01-10 Member: 12128Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-StormLiong+May 11 2005, 04:03 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (StormLiong @ May 11 2005, 04:03 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> on a related topic
    <img src='http://ic1.deviantart.com/fs5/i/2005/131/0/c/My_tattoo_by_SyraCourage.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />

    <a href='http://www.deviantart.com/view/18207586/' target='_blank'>http://www.deviantart.com/view/18207586/</a> <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I feel bad for her, as that tattoo is terrible and the tattoo artist is probably blind.

    This one would give you bragging rights:
Sign In or Register to comment.