Zhlt 3.0 Beta

123457

Comments

  • ReveReve Join Date: 2003-09-23 Member: 21142Members Posts: 64
    Yay forums are finally back up smile-fix.gif

    Just a quick note to say hi and ask how development is going.

    And assuming FragBait0's tool isn't unstable, I for one vote for adding it to the toolset.

    Once again, good to have these forums back smile-fix.gif
  • amckernamckern Join Date: 2003-03-03 Member: 14249Members, Constellation Posts: 970 Fully active user
    BUMP

    Well 3.0 Final will be out soon, its just in some internal beta testing to iron out the little bugs that might be left over, you might have seen the news at RUST, or TWHL

    @Fragbait0

    Whats the progress on ent opts? I would not mind inculdeing it in the final "Power Tools" if its allright with you

    Adam
    No Frils!
  • KungFuSquirrelKungFuSquirrel Basher of Muttons Join Date: 2002-01-26 Member: 103Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor Posts: 2,175
    Not to be rude, but why is this called ZHLT 3.0? Zoner has had nothing to do with it. Merl renamed his set the MHLT set and Cagey's additions have always been referred to separately. If anything, it should be AHLT 1.0, or since so many people have contributed to versions of it throughout its history, just HLT or something.
  • SgtBarlowSgtBarlow Level Designer Join Date: 2003-11-13 Member: 22749Members, NS2 Developer Posts: 1,122 Fully active user
    Im confused, is the tools mentioned in this thread the only *latest* development of them scince cageys modding or is cagey still doing his. I downloaded latest version of these zhlt.tk tools and they are quite poor like they are old, they have errors and cant compile rad properly.
  • FragBait0FragBait0 Join Date: 2003-12-16 Member: 24431Members Posts: 58
    Amckern, see email.

    KungFuSquirrel....does it really matter? smile-fix.gif

    It's true the latest public beta is quite stuffed up in RAD.
    I doubt amckern will let a final out the door that is badly broken.
  • amckernamckern Join Date: 2003-03-03 Member: 14249Members, Constellation Posts: 970 Fully active user
    as the name is, they are beta, and do have bugs, that need ironed out.

    Final was dealyed for 6 months, due to some complie issues, with in the ide, now these have been fixed, the tools are geting the final flex

    Yes, these tools are built off the code that can be downloaded from the tools sticky
    No Frils!
  • amckernamckern Join Date: 2003-03-03 Member: 14249Members, Constellation Posts: 970 Fully active user
  • MendaspMendasp I touch maps in inappropriate places Valencia, Spain Join Date: 2002-07-05 Member: 884Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Gold, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow, Community Dev Team Posts: 4,175 Fully active user
    BuildFacelights:
    1 / 4138

    RAD crashes, just like it did in a previous build...
  • OlmyOlmy Join Date: 2003-05-08 Member: 16142Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor, NS2 Developer, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Diamond Posts: 1,444 Advanced user
    QUOTE (Mendasp @ Feb 7 2005, 01:58 PM)
    BuildFacelights:
    1 / 4138

    RAD crashes, just like it did in a previous build...

    Huzzah! I think i'll steer clear of this build.
  • ReveReve Join Date: 2003-09-23 Member: 21142Members Posts: 64
    Just a quick note to say that I've updated the ZHLT docs site with info on the current release.

    Does anyone else have problems when trying to use wadconfig and wadinclude at the same time? When I try using it, if I have wadconfig set up, it will list the wadincluded files but not actually wadinclude them.

    Great to have a new release smile-fix.gif
  • KungFuSquirrelKungFuSquirrel Basher of Muttons Join Date: 2002-01-26 Member: 103Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor Posts: 2,175
    edited February 2005
    QUOTE (Reve @ Feb 7 2005, 06:34 PM)
    Does anyone else have problems when trying to use wadconfig and wadinclude at the same time? When I try using it, if I have wadconfig set up, it will list the wadincluded files but not actually wadinclude them.

    Great to have a new release smile-fix.gif

    Why on earth would you?

    Wadconfig is the quick and easy way of wadincluding multiple files without needing to actually use the clumsy wadinclude setup. Just take the time (a minute or two at most) to adjust your .cfg for whatever .wad settings you need.

    QUOTE
    KungFuSquirrel....does it really matter?


    Well, yes it does. These aren't Zoner's tools, regardless of being built on his code.

    It's like getting the Quake engine source and re-writing all sorts of stuff and then calling it "Carmack's Quake v2.0" or something.
  • FragBait0FragBait0 Join Date: 2003-12-16 Member: 24431Members Posts: 58
    edited February 2005
    QUOTE
    BuildFacelights:
        1 /  4138

    RAD crashes, just like it did in a previous build...

    Unfortunately I have to agree. sad-fix.gif

    I tested it on one of my fast maps and it seemed fine but fell over with a map that has always made ZHLT3 die. And again.

    Sorry amckern, the rest seems pretty good.

    KungFuSquirrel, you make a good argument... smile-fix.gif

    EDIT: Using -nopaque makes it go away. But we want our entity shadows damnit! tounge.gif
    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • SgtBarlowSgtBarlow Level Designer Join Date: 2003-11-13 Member: 22749Members, NS2 Developer Posts: 1,122 Fully active user
    Anyone haveing problems with entity based tex lights not doing their effects like flikering / pulsing etc in the latest build?
  • GiGaBiTeGiGaBiTe Join Date: 2003-10-07 Member: 21489Members Posts: 1,110 Advanced user
    zhlt 2.5.3 > this one.

    rad crashes on every map i try to compile.
    QUOTE (unknown)
    Admiral, why dont we just breach the hull after overriding the automatic hatchlocks closing procedure?

    Last time we did this an onos just put its fat **** inside the hole and lerks just farted a new athmosphere.
    It looked so gross that we decided to never ever do this again.


    My Website
    NS Map Archive
  • BulletHeadBulletHead Join Date: 2004-07-22 Member: 30049Members Posts: 2,530
    So... after following this thread I have ONE question-

    WHAT is the newest, most sturdy, FULL release? Lol, I've gotten lost in the tech talk 0o'
    QUOTE (DragonMech @ Jul 9 2005, 09:19 PM)
    QUOTE (Sonic @ Jul 9 2005, 06:49 PM)
    I wish my butcheeks could propel me up flights of stairs are terrifying speeds.

    I sense a custom title right there... :D
  • Sir_PepeSir_Pepe Join Date: 2002-12-15 Member: 10845Members Posts: 115
    QUOTE (GiGaBiTe @ Feb 10 2005, 05:08 AM)
    zhlt 2.5.3 > this one.

    rad crashes on every map i try to compile.

    Same here sad-fix.gif
    Planet Pepe

    ns_enceladus, co_shu, ns_fenris
  • GiGaBiTeGiGaBiTe Join Date: 2003-10-07 Member: 21489Members Posts: 1,110 Advanced user
    i played mix 'n' match with hlrad, replaced the one that came with zhlt 3.0 with the one from zhlt 2.5.3

    lets see if this works on ns_fenris.
    QUOTE (unknown)
    Admiral, why dont we just breach the hull after overriding the automatic hatchlocks closing procedure?

    Last time we did this an onos just put its fat **** inside the hole and lerks just farted a new athmosphere.
    It looked so gross that we decided to never ever do this again.


    My Website
    NS Map Archive
  • amckernamckern Join Date: 2003-03-03 Member: 14249Members, Constellation Posts: 970 Fully active user
    i thought i ironed out the bugs with rad crash, but they have come back, and the dam forums are not emailing me any more sad-fix.gif

    the lattest version is 3.0 final, and was ment to be fully stable, 3.1 will be out soon, with a hopeful fix for the rad

    Adam
    No Frils!
  • FuryFury Silver Fish Hand Catch Join Date: 2003-08-14 Member: 19673Members, Constellation Posts: 534 Fully active user
    edited February 2005
    first time making a map, however i know theres nothing physically wrong with it at the moment

    I just want to run csg and bsp to see the map, however it gets to "Solid BSP [hull 0]" and just stops there, after doin around 3 minutes of lag (using up around 2.6gb of memory - either physical or page, i dont know)

    Then it goes on to try copy the file, but fails, because HLBSP didnt properly finish...

    QUOTE
    subdivide size      [    240 ] [    240 ] (Min 64) (Max 512)
    max node size      [    1024 ] [    1024 ] (Min 64) (Max 8192)


    SolidBSP [hull 0]
    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "c:\program files\hammer\maps\ns_sg-abydos.bsp" "D:\Games\steam\SteamApps\arael_02\half-life\ns\maps\ns_sg-abydos.bsp"


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "c:\program files\hammer\maps\ns_sg-abydos.pts" "D:\Games\steam\SteamApps\arael_02\half-life\ns\maps\ns_sg-abydos.pts"

    The command failed. Windows reported the error:
      "The system cannot find the file specified."


    this has ONLY happened with the latest version .

    /edit

    oh and now my pc is laggy as if something is hogging memory again...
    My sig! It has been violated! :O
  • amckernamckern Join Date: 2003-03-03 Member: 14249Members, Constellation Posts: 970 Fully active user
    hmmm

    I am off to bed, but will work on finding this bug in the morning

    Thanks for the heads up

    No Frils!
  • ReveReve Join Date: 2003-09-23 Member: 21142Members Posts: 64
    edited February 2005
    QUOTE (KungFuSquirrel @ Feb 7 2005, 08:10 PM)
    QUOTE (Reve @ Feb 7 2005, 06:34 PM)
    Does anyone else have problems when trying to use wadconfig and wadinclude at the same time? When I try using it, if I have wadconfig set up, it will list the wadincluded files but not actually wadinclude them.

    Great to have a new release smile-fix.gif

    Why on earth would you?

    Wadconfig is the quick and easy way of wadincluding multiple files without needing to actually use the clumsy wadinclude setup. Just take the time (a minute or two at most) to adjust your .cfg for whatever .wad settings you need.

    Actually that's not quite correct. Wadconfig is to provide paths to the wad files, either so the tool can reference them OR so they can be wadincluded (depends whether you prefix 'include' to the wad or not). Thus it can be used simply to reference the standard half life/cs wads, custom wads you distribute with your map rather than wadinclude, etc. You should still be able to use it with wadinclude at the same time, specifically if you just want to wadinclude one or two new textures for a map (typically a custom credits texture for example) without having to create an entire custom wadconfig config for each map.
  • KungFuSquirrelKungFuSquirrel Basher of Muttons Join Date: 2002-01-26 Member: 103Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor Posts: 2,175
    I know how the damned thing works tounge.gif I mentioned only the include part because that was relevant to the discussion.

    Why not just make and maintain a single .wad file with those little custom textures and leave it set to include on your configs? All you have to do to add a new one is append the .wad file and place it in your map, no problem. More painless than making a different .wad file for each and adding/removing those all the time and dealing with crazy cluttered .wad file lists, and you never have to change the .cfg or wadinclude when you add a new one. I kept an ns_kfs.wad file that stored all my custom/unreleased NS textures and just left it to include in my NS texture config.

    Not to mention that if you have multiple texture sets for different mods/maps loaded, you should be exclusively using wadconfig anyway. If you're not, you're wasting a lot of time adding and removing .wad files from the editor and re-starting the program to clear them out when you could just be doing your thing, occasionally making a new .cfg entry as needed.

    If you're using entirely custom textures, you're better off just using -nowadtextures unless you intend to release/distribute a separate .wad with the file. Sure, it'll toss in stuff like clip and sky and whatnot, but those are so tiny in size it doesn't really matter anyway.

    And did you have this problem before these tools showed up? If not, then why not roll back to an older version?
  • ReveReve Join Date: 2003-09-23 Member: 21142Members Posts: 64
    Well, basically my point is that it should work but doesn't smile-fix.gif so it's a low-priority bug but a bug nonetheless. I see your point about putting all those custom wads like that into one file for wadconfig... I think I might slightly re-word the text on zhlt.info regarding custom textures.

    I'm thinking of making a known-bugs page on zhlt.info - what are the known problems with the tools at the moment? (crashing RAD, this, someone said entity shadows are still broken?)

    Also, I think the last stable RAD is p13 - can anyone confirm this? Can it be used with zhlt csg/bsp/vis ok?

    Reve

    ps: KungFuSquirrel, ns_eclipse has to be my favourite NS map of all time smile-fix.gif
  • FragBait0FragBait0 Join Date: 2003-12-16 Member: 24431Members Posts: 58
    edited February 2005
    p13 is rock solid with...well any version really.
    That's what i've been using since it came out - as in it's fine with ZHLT3 anything.
    (ZHLT3 vis, while a few percent slower overall, is better for the huge lack of "leaf portals saw into leaf" warnings)

    The crashing and bad entity shadows are the same thing as far as I know. Take 1 crashing map and run with -nopaque smile-fix.gif

    QUOTE
    oh and now my pc is laggy as if something is hogging memory again...

    Provided you haven't rebooted it's likely because all of the windows file cache has been pushed out of physical memory - just do some stuff and wait for it to fix itself or reboot.

    Sigh.

    EDIT:
    From the opt_entdata thread @ VERC...
    QUOTE (AJenbo)
    OMG they did it smile-fix.gif
    I have problems logging in at the natural selection forum, so could you say hi from me smile-fix.gif
    (AJenbo/NoBody/Wolf)

    Took my time getting round to this cos my connection has been kinda stuffed up.
    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • MendaspMendasp I touch maps in inappropriate places Valencia, Spain Join Date: 2002-07-05 Member: 884Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Gold, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow, Community Dev Team Posts: 4,175 Fully active user
    I'm bumping this because ZHLT 3.1 was released and...

    Guess what? HLRAD still crashes.
  • ZyndromeZyndrome Join Date: 2003-03-28 Member: 14974Members Posts: 361
    The latest version, v3.2.1 , doesn't crash when compiling. Finally.
  • amckernamckern Join Date: 2003-03-03 Member: 14249Members, Constellation Posts: 970 Fully active user
    I hope that ZHLT 3.2.1 is the last build

    The feture that was part of 3.1, and 3.2 has now been moved awy from the tools, and into GTK its self, i spoke to the team that looks after it and they told me it should be part of the next build

    As for 3.1 rad, yeah, i had a backupfolder, that had the 3.0 build exe in it when i did the find files and folders, and collected the exe's

    3.2.1. should now be the end of zhlt, unless i can find something worth puting in it

    BTW, the source can be downloaded from the website as well
    No Frils!
  • Sir_PepeSir_Pepe Join Date: 2002-12-15 Member: 10845Members Posts: 115
    It doesn't crash... but...
    user posted image
    Planet Pepe

    ns_enceladus, co_shu, ns_fenris
  • amckernamckern Join Date: 2003-03-03 Member: 14249Members, Constellation Posts: 970 Fully active user
    Complie with merls 1.7, and it will LOOK THE SAME!

    3.2.1. is 1.7, with cageys imporved lightdata, and other small code changes that he made
    No Frils!
  • ReebdoogReebdoog Join Date: 2003-09-20 Member: 21035Members Posts: 274
    Another reason i'm still with p13. It just looks so much better, imho
    -Reebdoog-

    You'll have to speak up, I'm wearing a towel.
Sign In or Register to comment.