Was the Aurora ever meant to land on 4546B?

Aurora_SurvivorAurora_Survivor Naperville Illinois Join Date: 2018-01-04 Member: 234809Members Posts: 92 Advanced user
If the Aurora’s auxilary misson was to locate and possibly recue the Degasi survivors and was equipped with aquatic vehicles then was the Aurora going to land on the planet. If the QEP didn’t shoot it down then how were those P.R.A.W.N suits and Seamoths were to get onto the planets surface?

Comments

  • Hunter387Hunter387 Join Date: 2018-07-01 Member: 241853Members Posts: 50 Fully active user
    They probably had a secondary ship that they could of launched while in orbit that could hold them all or they could be extras just in case they needed them
    0x6A7232
  • MaalterommMaalteromm Brasil Join Date: 2017-09-22 Member: 233183Members Posts: 384 Advanced user
    Apparently the Seamoths and PRAWNs can also be used in space.
    0x6A7232
  • SkopeSkope Wouldn't you like to know ;) Join Date: 2016-06-07 Member: 218212Members Posts: 1,133 Advanced user
    Land; most likely not.

    Orbit; much more likely.
    I've been skulking around here for almost four years.

    Yet I still have no idea what's going on.
    TenebrousNova
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands, Hoogezand Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue Posts: 15,654 Advanced user
    edited July 2
    Maalteromm wrote: »
    Apparently the Seamoths and PRAWNs can also be used in space.

    I just want a minigame where we can punch some meteorites,
    listening to the engineers it sounded like fun
    :D

    Guardian of the "magic cookiejar" AdminModerator

    Existence Unknown

    Retired forum Admin, I mostly used a flamethrower tank for disputes... Mostly
    Retired EUPT Deputy | Moral Support | Squad 5 Blue
    102 1HP Skulk escapes and counting | Play the Latest Version of Booster Z-Frame
    YouTube NS2 Playlists: Unusual Selection | NS2 Stuff | NS2PT | NS2 Tuts

    0x6A7232baronvonsatan
  • Hunter387Hunter387 Join Date: 2018-07-01 Member: 241853Members Posts: 50 Fully active user
    edited July 3
    Maalteromm wrote: »
    Apparently the Seamoths and PRAWNs can also be used in space.

    Yeah it does say that the sea moth can be used in space and the prawn might of also been used for repairs on a ship if they had like a repair arm and the grapple arm. But I doubt they could withstand re-entry.
    Kellise
  • MaalterommMaalteromm Brasil Join Date: 2017-09-22 Member: 233183Members Posts: 384 Advanced user
    Hunter387 wrote: »
    Maalteromm wrote: »
    Apparently the Seamoths and PRAWNs can also be used in space.

    Yeah it does say that the sea moth can be used in space and the prawn might of also been used for repairs on a ship if they had like a repair arm and the grapple arm. But I doubt they could withstand re-entry.
    I never said they should land on the planet.

    @Aurora_Survivor asked:
    If the QEP didn’t shoot it down then how were those P.R.A.W.N suits and Seamoths were to get onto the planets surface?
    To which I followed with the comment about space.
    They were supposed to be used during construction of the phasegate.

    The game lore implies they would just fly by over 4546B and scan for the Degasi crew. If extraction was at hand, they probably had other ways to land, as you noted yourself.
    Hunter3870x6A7232
  • Aurora_SurvivorAurora_Survivor Naperville Illinois Join Date: 2018-01-04 Member: 234809Members Posts: 92 Advanced user
    If they had aquatic vehicles and seaglides then if they had to extract the Degasi how would they get to the planets surface?
  • BlueBottleBlueBottle Australia Join Date: 2018-02-03 Member: 236674Members Posts: 153 Advanced user
    edited July 4
    ALTERRA Corp. Press Release:

    Persons, corporations and Planetary Governments are warned that severe legal action will follow any allegations surrounding the presence ALTERRA science ships at planets infected with weaponisable bacteria.

    Post edited by BlueBottle on
    0x6A7232
  • Isummon_DurtIsummon_Durt Lower MiddleEarth Join Date: 2017-12-09 Member: 234349Members Posts: 301 Advanced user
    Maalteromm wrote: »
    Apparently the Seamoths and PRAWNs can also be used in space.

    The seamoths require an upgrade to protect against solar radiation, I'd assume. Pretty sure that the seamoth can't be brought in proximity with the Aurora when the reactors are still shot.
    ________
    |\ \ \ \ \ \\ WE ARE THE BORG.
    ||\__|__|_\ YOUR BIOLOGICAL AND TECHNOLOGICAL DISTINCTIVENESS
    | \| || | ||| | WILL BE ADDED TO OUR OWN.
    \| | | | |||| |
    | \|__|__|_| R E S I S T A N C E I S F U T I L E
  • 0x6A72320x6A7232 US Join Date: 2016-10-06 Member: 222906Members Posts: 4,795 Advanced user
    Maalteromm wrote: »
    Apparently the Seamoths and PRAWNs can also be used in space.

    The seamoths require an upgrade to protect against solar radiation, I'd assume. Pretty sure that the seamoth can't be brought in proximity with the Aurora when the reactors are still shot.

    Well... depends. Your standard suit (I forget the name) might be able to handle that much radiation. A leaky reactor probably throws off a lot more than that, unless you were really, really close to the sun.
    UWE Community guidelines | Guide to play in VR with Google Cardboard or Gear | Increase Subnautica view distance | Useful info to post with error reports | Recovery of corrupted saved games
    Crashing, lag problems? Or maybe your old save didn't get the latest update? Upload your saved game folder to help the devs troubleshoot, then try clearing your cache directories | Automatic Cache cleaning tool here | How to use the Debug Console | How to play any version of Subnautica using Steam | Tips for Subnautica beginners | Why can't the devs "just fix it"? - a modding session for you to educate yourself with Want more frames? Try adding this to your launch options: -window-mode exclusive
    Slow loading / textures popping in? Try moving Subnautica to an SSD | How to switch Subnautica to Experimental mode (clear cache afterwards) | How to run chkdsk on your drive | How to verify integrity of your game cache (in the "Installation" section) | Blue screens or computer freezing up? Try this fix (updates a corrupted DX10 compatibility file in the graphics driver that sometimes doesn't get updated)
    Subnautica launches in a tiny window? Use Task Manager to Maximize it (Thanks FlippingPower) | How to place your Moonpool so it connects correctly (includes diagrams) | Want to hang out with fellow players and the devs? Subnautica Discord server ← swing on by! | Subnautica mods - Hey look! Mods! | ReShade mods | Humans don't crush at the depths you might think
    Joystick problems? | Xpadder | UJR / vJoy | JoyToKey | Get detailed info for troubleshooting: CPU-Z | GPU-Z | HWiNFO64 | Speccy | Pastebin | Recover the data on your crashed hard disk! | I'm a Total Geek
  • MaalterommMaalteromm Brasil Join Date: 2017-09-22 Member: 233183Members Posts: 384 Advanced user
    Maalteromm wrote: »
    Apparently the Seamoths and PRAWNs can also be used in space.

    The seamoths require an upgrade to protect against solar radiation, I'd assume. Pretty sure that the seamoth can't be brought in proximity with the Aurora when the reactors are still shot.

    Maybe they were meant to be used nearby Stations or Capital Ships, and those would be tasked with creating a protecting field.
  • lordoffilinglordoffiling Join Date: 2017-08-10 Member: 232342Members Posts: 37 Advanced user
    I was fully prepared to respond with the Star Trekkian answer to this. No way that ship could enter atmo and break orbit again, physics, etc etc etc. Then I remembered, this is science fiction. I'm making full-sized seabases with a doodad the size of an electric shaver. I can make anything from a coffee machine to a nuclear reactor with that doodad. Let's maybe not sweat the finer details.

    So, looking at the Aurora, its smooth design actually does make me think maybe it could do an ocean landing. And we know it had multiple, fully-assembled Cyclops aboard, as well as several PRAWNs and Sea Moths. None of those things could be easily deployed from orbit, so I'm thinking the answer is yes, they were planning on landing on this water world to search for the Degasi survivors!
    Hunter387
  • 0x6A72320x6A7232 US Join Date: 2016-10-06 Member: 222906Members Posts: 4,795 Advanced user
    Would make much more sense to land a recon team in a lander vehicle carrying the necessary resources and just fab a few temporary bases and vehicles. Less mass to land and then break orbit again. While they maybe could have done it, unless the fuel was essentially free (which, from the Sunbeam transmissions, we can assume it's not) it's more economical to land smaller craft, and construct / deconstruct as needed.
    UWE Community guidelines | Guide to play in VR with Google Cardboard or Gear | Increase Subnautica view distance | Useful info to post with error reports | Recovery of corrupted saved games
    Crashing, lag problems? Or maybe your old save didn't get the latest update? Upload your saved game folder to help the devs troubleshoot, then try clearing your cache directories | Automatic Cache cleaning tool here | How to use the Debug Console | How to play any version of Subnautica using Steam | Tips for Subnautica beginners | Why can't the devs "just fix it"? - a modding session for you to educate yourself with Want more frames? Try adding this to your launch options: -window-mode exclusive
    Slow loading / textures popping in? Try moving Subnautica to an SSD | How to switch Subnautica to Experimental mode (clear cache afterwards) | How to run chkdsk on your drive | How to verify integrity of your game cache (in the "Installation" section) | Blue screens or computer freezing up? Try this fix (updates a corrupted DX10 compatibility file in the graphics driver that sometimes doesn't get updated)
    Subnautica launches in a tiny window? Use Task Manager to Maximize it (Thanks FlippingPower) | How to place your Moonpool so it connects correctly (includes diagrams) | Want to hang out with fellow players and the devs? Subnautica Discord server ← swing on by! | Subnautica mods - Hey look! Mods! | ReShade mods | Humans don't crush at the depths you might think
    Joystick problems? | Xpadder | UJR / vJoy | JoyToKey | Get detailed info for troubleshooting: CPU-Z | GPU-Z | HWiNFO64 | Speccy | Pastebin | Recover the data on your crashed hard disk! | I'm a Total Geek
    Maalteromm
  • scifiwriterguyscifiwriterguy Sector ZZ-9-Plural Z-α Join Date: 2017-02-14 Member: 227901Members Posts: 858 Advanced user
    So, looking at the Aurora, its smooth design actually does make me think maybe it could do an ocean landing. And we know it had multiple, fully-assembled Cyclops aboard, as well as several PRAWNs and Sea Moths. None of those things could be easily deployed from orbit, so I'm thinking the answer is yes, they were planning on landing on this water world to search for the Degasi survivors!

    A smooth design doesn't dictate the environment something is meant to work in. A 747 has a smooth line but that doesn't mean it's meant to work in water. (It does, however, operate in its own fluid environment, which accounts for its shape.) As for the Aurora, though, it's pretty clear that Alterra really doesn't care much about practicalities, so it's not unreasonable to suspect that their design team took a form over function approach and just made it "pretty" so that it looks better for marketing purposes.

    Fully-assembled Cyclops? I don't recall seeing that on any of my playthroughs. PRAWNs and Seamoths, sure, plenty - but no Cyclops. And as for those, recall the literature and comments in-game: they were never meant to be deployed from orbit to anywhere. Those vehicles were used for construction of the phasegate (and it's not hard to imagine how with an army of those things construction would be swift). When it comes to getting down onto a planet, nothing in the Aurora's mission profile nor its stated payload or performance in any way hint that it was ever meant to touch atmosphere, let alone surface.
    The poor mesmer. Beautiful fish. Too bad it's named after a jerk.
    Maalteromm
  • TheBoss097TheBoss097 Join Date: 2018-04-25 Member: 240313Members Posts: 12 Fully active user
    honestly, I think they would have landed if the aurora hadn't been shot down. The reason is that they had Cyclops pieces to assemble the Cyclops (obviously), and the Cyclops is a submarine, it is made to explore the ocean.
  • 0x6A72320x6A7232 US Join Date: 2016-10-06 Member: 222906Members Posts: 4,795 Advanced user
    @scifiwriterguy @TheBoss097 They do have Cyclops parts in the big crates by the elevator platform sometimes (depends on your random loot spawn points), as well as all of those Cyclops parts you can scan - I don't think all of those were from destroyed Cyclops, if any were at all. Unless they've removed the Cyclops spawn from that area (possible; it was only ever one piece of the engine IIRC).
    UWE Community guidelines | Guide to play in VR with Google Cardboard or Gear | Increase Subnautica view distance | Useful info to post with error reports | Recovery of corrupted saved games
    Crashing, lag problems? Or maybe your old save didn't get the latest update? Upload your saved game folder to help the devs troubleshoot, then try clearing your cache directories | Automatic Cache cleaning tool here | How to use the Debug Console | How to play any version of Subnautica using Steam | Tips for Subnautica beginners | Why can't the devs "just fix it"? - a modding session for you to educate yourself with Want more frames? Try adding this to your launch options: -window-mode exclusive
    Slow loading / textures popping in? Try moving Subnautica to an SSD | How to switch Subnautica to Experimental mode (clear cache afterwards) | How to run chkdsk on your drive | How to verify integrity of your game cache (in the "Installation" section) | Blue screens or computer freezing up? Try this fix (updates a corrupted DX10 compatibility file in the graphics driver that sometimes doesn't get updated)
    Subnautica launches in a tiny window? Use Task Manager to Maximize it (Thanks FlippingPower) | How to place your Moonpool so it connects correctly (includes diagrams) | Want to hang out with fellow players and the devs? Subnautica Discord server ← swing on by! | Subnautica mods - Hey look! Mods! | ReShade mods | Humans don't crush at the depths you might think
    Joystick problems? | Xpadder | UJR / vJoy | JoyToKey | Get detailed info for troubleshooting: CPU-Z | GPU-Z | HWiNFO64 | Speccy | Pastebin | Recover the data on your crashed hard disk! | I'm a Total Geek
  • elfcrisiselfcrisis Join Date: 2017-05-13 Member: 230466Members Posts: 479 Advanced user
    They also could have had a shuttle to take stuff down to the planet. Or assembled one if they needed it, and then built whatever else they needed once they were on the surface.
  • lordoffilinglordoffiling Join Date: 2017-08-10 Member: 232342Members Posts: 37 Advanced user
    So, looking at the Aurora, its smooth design actually does make me think maybe it could do an ocean landing. And we know it had multiple, fully-assembled Cyclops aboard, as well as several PRAWNs and Sea Moths. None of those things could be easily deployed from orbit, so I'm thinking the answer is yes, they were planning on landing on this water world to search for the Degasi survivors!

    A smooth design doesn't dictate the environment something is meant to work in. A 747 has a smooth line but that doesn't mean it's meant to work in water. (It does, however, operate in its own fluid environment, which accounts for its shape.) As for the Aurora, though, it's pretty clear that Alterra really doesn't care much about practicalities, so it's not unreasonable to suspect that their design team took a form over function approach and just made it "pretty" so that it looks better for marketing purposes.

    Fully-assembled Cyclops? I don't recall seeing that on any of my playthroughs. PRAWNs and Seamoths, sure, plenty - but no Cyclops. And as for those, recall the literature and comments in-game: they were never meant to be deployed from orbit to anywhere. Those vehicles were used for construction of the phasegate (and it's not hard to imagine how with an army of those things construction would be swift). When it comes to getting down onto a planet, nothing in the Aurora's mission profile nor its stated payload or performance in any way hint that it was ever meant to touch atmosphere, let alone surface.

    There are parts of several Cyclops scattered all over the ocean floor, that's how you get it for yourself. You don't need a Cyclops to build a phase gate, its only possible use would be to explore the ocean world. The parts you can scan don't really look like ready-to-assemble prefabs to me, they look like something that was blown apart. If that's true, then they were assembled on the Aurora and broke up when the ship did.

    Which leads me back to: The Aurora was carrying several assembled Cyclops. You can't really deploy those from orbit, so they must have been planning to land.

    The other possibility is that they were disassembled in the cargo bay and they were planning to just send the parts down, and the people would assemble the Cyclops on the planet. But the parts you can find don't really look like that to me.

    But really my point is, this is a wholly fictional sci-fi universe. There's no reason the Aurora couldn't land on the planet. I mean why not?
  • MaalterommMaalteromm Brasil Join Date: 2017-09-22 Member: 233183Members Posts: 384 Advanced user
    There are parts of several Cyclops scattered all over the ocean floor, that's how you get it for yourself. You don't need a Cyclops to build a phase gate, its only possible use would be to explore the ocean world. The parts you can scan don't really look like ready-to-assemble prefabs to me, they look like something that was blown apart. If that's true, then they were assembled on the Aurora and broke up when the ship did.

    Which leads me back to: The Aurora was carrying several assembled Cyclops. You can't really deploy those from orbit, so they must have been planning to land.
    Can't argue with this logic regarding assembled Cyclops, as previously noted by @TheBoss097, @0x6A7232 and maybe others. Maybe the phasegate has a fluid...
    But really my point is, this is a wholly fictional sci-fi universe. There's no reason the Aurora couldn't land on the planet. I mean why not?
    Of course it can. It just isn't practical, and we assume that a profit oriented corporation would try to optimize as much as possible.
  • narfblatnarfblat Utah, USA Join Date: 2016-05-15 Member: 216799Members Posts: 464 Advanced user
    There is another potential source of Cyclops pieces, though it likely would have been 1, maybe 2 Cyclops at most.
    The Degassi logs mention there being enough lithium for a fleet of Cyclops, so they likely had the tech available.
    0x6A7232
Sign In or Register to comment.