Cyclops "Dock"

elfcrisiselfcrisis Members Join Date: 2017-05-13 Member: 230466Posts: 526 Advanced user
I've seen some people mention that they build a dock for their cyclops, but I'm not sure how this is accomplished.

Tell me your favorite setups!

Comments

  • MazzyMazzy AustraliaMembers Join Date: 2018-03-11 Member: 238890Posts: 39 Advanced user
    edited April 2018
    67z7xtjohxkr.jpg
    elfcrisis wrote: »
    I've seen some people mention that they build a dock for their cyclops, but I'm not sure how this is accomplished.

    Tell me your favorite setups!

    At least the Aliens got the concept of a large bay right.



  • BigGrayGolemBigGrayGolem Lima PeruMembers Join Date: 2018-04-24 Member: 240304Posts: 31 Advanced user
  • BigGrayGolemBigGrayGolem Lima PeruMembers Join Date: 2018-04-24 Member: 240304Posts: 31 Advanced user
  • BigGrayGolemBigGrayGolem Lima PeruMembers Join Date: 2018-04-24 Member: 240304Posts: 31 Advanced user
  • BigGrayGolemBigGrayGolem Lima PeruMembers Join Date: 2018-04-24 Member: 240304Posts: 31 Advanced user
    edited April 2018
    In the builds above, I put a station around the platform largely to assist in finding it at night (hard to see the flat platforms on the water's surface without indicators). That's also why there are lights. Inside the station is a nuke reactor used to power the lights and the four power cell chargers. Below each dock area is another platform to "catch" the Prawn suit so it lands right below the Cyclops. This makes it easier when bring the Prawn suit back and loading it, since you just move onto the platform and hit the thrusters; that will align it with doors automatically.

    Obviously this has bells and whistles. My original dock, earlier in the game when I had less resources, was just a single set of platforms and one platform below for the Prawn catch. No lights, no power, etc.
    delmoplay
  • BigGrayGolemBigGrayGolem Lima PeruMembers Join Date: 2018-04-24 Member: 240304Posts: 31 Advanced user
    Although, one time my dock had an uninvited visitor:

    xfy3bi09rdus.jpg
  • elfcrisiselfcrisis Members Join Date: 2017-05-13 Member: 230466Posts: 526 Advanced user
    Wow that is really neat. I'll have to give that a try.

    Thanks! :)
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The NetherlandsMembers, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Posts: 15,780 Advanced user
    edited April 2018
    Would be neat if they added an ability to actually dock the Cyclops to a top hatch.

    Guardian of the "magic cookiejar" 

    Retired forum Admin, I mostly used a flamethrower tank for disputes... Mostly

    Retired EUPT Deputy | Moral Support | Squad 5 Blue | 102 1HP Skulk escapes and counting

  • Isummon_DurtIsummon_Durt Lower MiddleEarthMembers Join Date: 2017-12-09 Member: 234349Posts: 301 Advanced user
    Just make a U-shaped structure out of Hab hallways, and then place a single extension coming out of the middle of the U so that it's like an E and place an upwards-facing hatch there; which should be directly beneath the hatch on your cyclops if it were to pull into the dock. Then, you could get all fancy with glass so that you can observe your cyclops in its dock.
    ________
    |\ \ \ \ \ \\ WE ARE THE BORG.
    ||\__|__|_\ YOUR BIOLOGICAL AND TECHNOLOGICAL DISTINCTIVENESS
    | \| || | ||| | WILL BE ADDED TO OUR OWN.
    \| | | | |||| |
    | \|__|__|_| R E S I S T A N C E I S F U T I L E
    elfcrisis
  • UnyccUnycc Members Join Date: 2018-04-29 Member: 240422Posts: 4 Fully active user
    My idea for the game would be a pipe that automatically connects to the exit hatch of the cyclops so you have a direct connection to your base.
  • BigGrayGolemBigGrayGolem Lima PeruMembers Join Date: 2018-04-24 Member: 240304Posts: 31 Advanced user
    Unycc wrote: »
    My idea for the game would be a pipe that automatically connects to the exit hatch of the cyclops so you have a direct connection to your base.

    Agree. Ideally, the Cyclops should have a side hatch just for docking. That lower deck is largely useless, so adding a base docking chamber would be useful.
  • DaveyNYDaveyNY Schenectady, NYMembers Join Date: 2016-08-30 Member: 221903Posts: 1,336 Advanced user
    edited May 2018
    At one time there was a card on Their Trello board indicating that They were investigating the possibility of creating a way to dock the Cyclops at a base.
    It involved connecting at the nose and going forward through the lower hatch bay.
    Essentially giving the Cyclops a double forward/down hatch.
    B)
  • Goldengoose7Goldengoose7 California USAMembers Join Date: 2018-04-26 Member: 240346Posts: 43 Advanced user
    In the builds above, I put a station around the platform largely to assist in finding it at night (hard to see the flat platforms on the water's surface without indicators).
    Obviously this has bells and whistles. My original dock, earlier in the game when I had less resources, was just a single set of platforms and one platform below for the Prawn catch. No lights, no power, etc.

    Cool!

    What is the actual name of the piece you are using for the floating surface in the list of base building materials? I am not sure if I have a piece in my inventory that looks like that at the moment.

    Thanks in advance. :)

  • BigGrayGolemBigGrayGolem Lima PeruMembers Join Date: 2018-04-24 Member: 240304Posts: 31 Advanced user
    In the builds above, I put a station around the platform largely to assist in finding it at night (hard to see the flat platforms on the water's surface without indicators).
    Obviously this has bells and whistles. My original dock, earlier in the game when I had less resources, was just a single set of platforms and one platform below for the Prawn catch. No lights, no power, etc.

    Cool!

    What is the actual name of the piece you are using for the floating surface in the list of base building materials? I am not sure if I have a piece in my inventory that looks like that at the moment.

    Thanks in advance. :)

    It's the "foundation" unit. When you place them near the ocean floor, they sprout legs, but if you place them high enough, they just float. Either way, they still provide base strength. I think you build them with ti x 2 and li x 1.
  • joe121181joe121181 AustraliaMembers Join Date: 2018-05-08 Member: 240593Posts: 2 Fully active user
    A solar dock that charges or keeps you idle Cyclops charged would be great. I keep returning to cyclops with flat batteries.
  • BigGrayGolemBigGrayGolem Lima PeruMembers Join Date: 2018-04-24 Member: 240304Posts: 31 Advanced user
    joe121181 wrote: »
    A solar dock that charges or keeps you idle Cyclops charged would be great. I keep returning to cyclops with flat batteries.

    I bet you have power cell and/or battery chargers in your Cyclops. That drains the battery when you're out, and even if you power down. When I moved my power cell charges to the dock's base, rather than inside they Cyclops, that problem went away. You really shouldn't charge anything from inside the Cyclops.
  • joe121181joe121181 AustraliaMembers Join Date: 2018-05-08 Member: 240593Posts: 2 Fully active user
    joe121181 wrote: »
    A solar dock that charges or keeps you idle Cyclops charged would be great. I keep returning to cyclops with flat batteries.

    I bet you have power cell and/or battery chargers in your Cyclops. That drains the battery when you're out, and even if you power down. When I moved my power cell charges to the dock's base, rather than inside they Cyclops, that problem went away. You really shouldn't charge anything from inside the Cyclops.

    I don't charge anything in my Cyclops. I charge in my base that has several thermal plants to provide energy.

    Twice when I have returned to my Cyclops after missions I have found it to have zero charge on all cells from 80% -0% after about 20 minutes idling. I got attacked by a monster last night and had one cell with 60% left and managed to limp back to base.

  • BigGrayGolemBigGrayGolem Lima PeruMembers Join Date: 2018-04-24 Member: 240304Posts: 31 Advanced user
    joe121181 wrote: »

    I don't charge anything in my Cyclops. I charge in my base that has several thermal plants to provide energy.

    Twice when I have returned to my Cyclops after missions I have found it to have zero charge on all cells from 80% -0% after about 20 minutes idling. I got attacked by a monster last night and had one cell with 60% left and managed to limp back to base.

    OK, it's something else then. You may have traveled in Silent Running mode, which continues to drain power like mad even if you are idle. Before you leave the Cyclops, be sure to shut down silent running first, then the engine.


  • elfcrisiselfcrisis Members Join Date: 2017-05-13 Member: 230466Posts: 526 Advanced user
    @joe121181 That's weird, I've never had that happen (outside of lava larvae). I'll have to try leaving Silent Running on even when I power down and see what happens, because even leaving the inside and outside lights on doesn't drain the batteries.

    Either that or you Cuddlefish have been abusing the fabricator while you were away...
  • DaveyNYDaveyNY Schenectady, NYMembers Join Date: 2016-08-30 Member: 221903Posts: 1,336 Advanced user
    I see tiny Cuddle fish babies in his future... <3<3<3
  • nightfox2nightfox2 Members Join Date: 2020-04-29 Member: 260476Posts: 1 Freshly registered user
    Can the devs actually try and add this again cause it seems most of our ideas or wasted here we say what we want and they will never listen there main focus is on below zero and the never even finished the first game!
  • narfblatnarfblat Utah, USAMembers, Forum Moderators, Forum staff Join Date: 2016-05-15 Member: 216799Posts: 722 mod
    Subnautica is complete as far as features go. It does need more bugfixing, and they are working on that. They upgraded to unity 2019 to help some bugs, but that created new issues for them to work through.
    Subnautica stuff:
    Official Subnautica discord chat: https://discord.gg/subnautica
    For updates on Console progress for both Subnautica and Below Zero, check the favro page, here.
    How to clear your Cache, by 0x6A7232.
    How to use console commands.
    Stuck, and just want to most recent base/Cyclops? Use "Warpme" command. Want to get out of the ceiling? Press F1 and note your camera postion. First number is North/South, second number is up/down, and third is East/West. Reduce the 2nd number by 10, then use "warp x y z" (where x, y, and z are the position you want to be).
Sign In or Register to comment.