Spark = Entity report ?

XaleXale Paris / France Join Date: 2003-12-26 Member: 24767Members Posts: 126 Advanced user
Maybe a dumb question but is there an "Entity report" in Spark ? I can't find anything.


Entity report used to be a tool in Hammer telling all entities used in the level. As a result you be sure you won't have any double for unique entities (such as ns2_gamerule or "light_environnement")

Hammer_entityreportdialog.png
Old NS1.0 player (JP/HMG for the win)
Mapper (de_mangashop for CS1.6 / CSS / CS:GO )
Re-Worked ns_hera, taking ns2_hera by |-DMD-| Rusty as a base
Released : https://forums.unknownworlds.com/discussion/155092/ns2-hera2018

Comments

  • BeigeAlertBeigeAlert Texas Join Date: 2013-08-08 Member: 186657Members, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow, Subnautica Playtester, Pistachionauts Posts: 2,818 admin
    Xale wrote: »
    Maybe a dumb question but is there an "Entity report" in Spark ? I can't find anything.


    Entity report used to be a tool in Hammer telling all entities used in the level. As a result you be sure you won't have any double for unique entities (such as ns2_gamerule or "light_environnement")

    Hammer_entityreportdialog.png

    No, there is no such feature in the editor.
  • pSyk0mAnpSyk0mAn Nerdish by Nature Germany Join Date: 2003-08-07 Member: 19166Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Silver, NS2 Community Developer Posts: 1,702 Advanced user
    edited April 16
    Spark has less entities, so it's not a big problem.
    Just put them in differently named layers. Check out offical maps for that.
    Like "Entities - Locations" , "Entity Mapextends" , "Entities Gameplay" (where you can put in stuff like techpoints, resnodes, power nodes).

    You can also filter your selection to get only entities.

    Cinematics and Decals should each have a seperate layer, I use one global one for them.

    You can also make an Entity layer for every location. It's done differently in every map.

    Put the unique entities in the readyroom, where u can find them easily, like gamerules, skybox, spawn_overrides.

    Btw there is no light_enviroment, you have to fake skylight with shadow casting spotlights and the other light types. Can be messy.


  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands, Hoogezand Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue Posts: 15,763 Advanced user
    edited April 16
    If all else fails you could always open up the *.level file in a notepad and search for the entities which are spitting out errors to see if you've got a duplicate. Note down those coordinate and go there in the editor to find it and kill it :tongue: Or if you're familiar with the code, just remove it in there

    Guardian of the "magic cookiejar" AdminModerator

    Existence Unknown

    Retired forum Admin, I mostly used a flamethrower tank for disputes... Mostly
    Retired EUPT Deputy | Moral Support | Squad 5 Blue
    102 1HP Skulk escapes and counting | Play the Latest Version of Booster Z-Frame
    YouTube NS2 Playlists: Unusual Selection | NS2 Stuff | NS2PT | NS2 Tuts

  • XaleXale Paris / France Join Date: 2003-12-26 Member: 24767Members Posts: 126 Advanced user
    edited April 16
    ok thanks for the answers
    Kouji_San wrote: »
    If all else fails you could always open up the *.level file in a notepad and search for the entities which are spitting out errors to see if you've got a duplicate. Note down those coordinate and go there in the editor to find it and kill it :tongue: Or if you're familiar with the code, just remove it in there

    Yes I taught about that but notepad++ indicates :
    minimap_extents      "      origin	          Å‚ªÀ'©µÂ’DA
    



    The reason I'm asking is because I'm reworking another mappers map so it's very difficult without entity report...



    EDIT :

    Manage to find my entities by creating a copy of my map and remove half the map, then loading the file in notepad++ to see if the entity is still there or not then doing this as many times needed to find the entity...
    Post edited by Xale on
    Old NS1.0 player (JP/HMG for the win)
    Mapper (de_mangashop for CS1.6 / CSS / CS:GO )
    Re-Worked ns_hera, taking ns2_hera by |-DMD-| Rusty as a base
    Released : https://forums.unknownworlds.com/discussion/155092/ns2-hera2018
Sign In or Register to comment.