Killing the Reaper

FirstEdFirstEd New Mexico Join Date: 2017-06-25 Member: 231340Members
These things have terrorized me since I started playing this game over 80 hours ago. But now I have a reliable strategy for killing the Reaper (at least as of Voice of the Deep patch). If you ever wanted to know how you're supposed to face one of those beasts, and kill it, read on.

I developed this strategy out of necessity. For me, one spawned at the upside-down life pod near the Aurora and I had no chance of exploring it without facing the Reaper. It terrorized me. Always I was looking over my shoulder for it. It is now dead, and I now explore in peace.

There are videos of heroes fighting the reaper with nothing but the seaglide, stasis rifle and knife. It is indeed heroic, but that scares the everloving crap out of me. My way, perhaps, is safer and easier.

What you will need

You will need a Prawn Suit. I also recommend two claw arms. Drill arms seem to damage the Reaper, but claws seem to do more damage in my experiences. I also recommend armor mods. At least two. They do not help against the Reaper, but when it drops you in a nest of bone sharks, you will be glad you are so heavily armored.

You will need a Cyclops. And you will need a repair bay mod for your Cyclops. The repair bay is essential for this strategy.

What you need to do

Find a Reaper. They often appear suddenly as they load in. You can tell they are close by their calls. Move in towards it. Switch to silent running so it does not attack. Then, find a place near the bottom to park your Cyclops, being sure to turn off the engine. When you chose your parking spot, do so carefully. You must be able to reach your Cyclops again.

Once you have found the beast, if you are scared of him, I recommend you turn off the sound (he sounds terrifying) and put on some fighting music. It will help you. Once you start fighting the Reaper you do not need to hear him anyways.