Server Performance

CalegoCalego Join Date: 2013-01-24 Member: 181848Members, NS2 Map Tester
Might as well make a thread about it rather than just private messaging eachother so much.

It's pretty terrible right now.

I mean like really terrible.

I do not own a server machine, I rent a 20 slot server from BlueFang Solutions. I thought things were going really well, until suddenly they weren't.

I don't understand it but it seems like NS2's dedicated server software uses more resources than it takes to run the game decently. I'm no expert but shouldn't it be the other way around?

I really don't care about much of anything at this point except that server performance gets better. At least to the point where I don't have to own a machine to run a server.

Comments

• SupaFredSupaFred Join Date: 2013-03-03 Member: 183652Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver
    I run servers on my own hardware and I haven't noticed any difference. Perhaps you should check with Bluefang?
  • ATFATF Join Date: 2014-05-09 Member: 195944Members
    Supa you have enough headroom to barely notice the latest decrease. ;)

Even the CDT admits it as they just look at facts.

The ones that are severely affected by the last builds are the rented servers. Most run on Xeons; They simply don't cut it anymore even for a 20 slot server. 8-X

We, of course, also have to pull a rabbit out of a hat every time. The CDT-Wooza collaboration is already working on finding out the cause. We're determined.
    Regrettably, we're the only ones.
    If you run a server, please engage in performance discussions, record performance logs, share hardware specs and what generally works for you.

As for the overall performance drops over the last 20ish builds (with 267 being exceptionally bad), those are indeed worrisome as they have already put half the server landscape under stress.