[Linux] Crash on menu opening in 268

rkfgrkfg Russia Join Date: 2013-09-03 Member: 187744Members, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Gold, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow
Here's the backtrace:
Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
[Switching to Thread 0xde14bb40 (LWP 12329)]
TextureUtility_ConvertBGRAToRGBA<unsigned char> (_dst=0xb7bdc040, srcLength=20736, 
    _src=0xd9da1480) at ../Source/Render/TextureUtility.h:86
86	../Source/Render/TextureUtility.h: No such file or directory.
(gdb) bt
#0  TextureUtility_ConvertBGRAToRGBA<unsigned char> (_dst=0xb7bdc040, srcLength=20736, 
    _src=0xd9da1480) at ../Source/Render/TextureUtility.h:86
#1  M4::DdsTextureDataSource::ProduceChunk (this=0xd8496100, mipLevel=<optimized out>, 
    faceIndex=0, data=@0xde14b038: 0xd9da1480, length=@0xde14b03c: 20736)
    at ../Source/Render/DdsTextureDataSource.cpp:93
#2  0xf728ac66 in CopyTextureData (dryRun=false, texture=0xcdbeb108, source=0xd8496100, 
    this=0xe64aee40) at ../Source/Render/CoreTextureManager.cpp:338
#3  M4::CoreTextureManager::CopyTextureData (this=0xe64aee40, source=0xd8496100, 
    texture=0xcdbeb108, dryRun=false) at ../Source/Render/CoreTextureManager.cpp:290
#4  0xf728b97d in M4::CoreTextureManager::CreateTextureFromSource (this=0xe64aee40, 
    source=0xd8496100, srgb=false, managed=false, dryRun=false)
    at ../Source/Render/CoreTextureManager.cpp:280
#5  0xf7309277 in M4::FileTextureProxy::LoadTexture (this=0xdbab3be8, source=0xd8496100, 
    sourceFullQuality=true) at ../Source/Render/StreamingFileTextureManager.cpp:346
#6  0xf730b4f8 in LoadTexture (this=0xca0d4410)
    at ../Source/Render/StreamingFileTextureManager.cpp:400
#7  M4::TextureAssemblyLine::Run (this=0xdf2d1368)
    at ../Source/Render/StreamingFileTextureManager.cpp:645
#8  0xf6cf59d3 in M4::RunThread (data=0xdf2d1368)
    at ../Source/Engine/linux/LinuxThread.cpp:34
#9  0xf39b6efb in start_thread () from /lib/i386-linux-gnu/i686/cmov/libpthread.so.0
#10 0xf37950ee in clone () from /lib/i386-linux-gnu/i686/cmov/libc.so.6

Comments

  • rkfgrkfg Russia Join Date: 2013-09-03 Member: 187744Members, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Gold, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow
    I'll check if it's a frequent crash, for now crashed twice in two rounds but then it was fine. Just for the record.
  • rkfgrkfg Russia Join Date: 2013-09-03 Member: 187744Members, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Gold, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow
    Well, could be a mod issue, haven't crashed since then. NS2+ updated a lot today.
  • ObraxisObraxis Subnautica Animator & Generalist, NS2 Person Join Date: 2004-07-24 Member: 30071Super Administrators, Forum Admins, NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Silver, WC 2013 - Supporter, Subnautica Developer, Pistachionauts
    NS2+ has had a few issues - it's an empty mod right now so is basically vanilla until Mendasp can work out the issues.
  • IronHorseIronHorse Developer, QA Manager, Technical Support & contributor Join Date: 2010-05-08 Member: 71669Members, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Subnautica Playtester, Subnautica PT Lead, Pistachionauts
    This issue should be resolved, are you still having any issues?
  • rkfgrkfg Russia Join Date: 2013-09-03 Member: 187744Members, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Gold, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow
    Nope, not fixed. Just after the game end I tried to open the menu to start the vote and it crashed. Never was an issue before. The traceback is the same. I guess it's that new library version that's guilty. It's not a stable crash but quite persistent given it's the second time in two days.
  • GhoulofGSG9GhoulofGSG9 Join Date: 2013-03-31 Member: 184566Members, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, Reinforced - Supporter, WC 2013 - Supporter, Pistachionauts
    edited August 2014
    rkfg wrote: »
    Nope, not fixed. Just after the game end I tried to open the menu to start the vote and it crashed. Never was an issue before. The traceback is the same. I guess it's that new library version that's guilty. It's not a stable crash but quite persistent given it's the second time in two days.

    nvcompress is not directly used by the ns2 and its not a lib. Its basically a part of the nvidia texture tools and just gets used by the builder.exe (which is by the way nothing else than a command line progress gui).

    I guess the real issue here is that someone forgot to rebuild the ui/ folder with the new nvcompress or the texture manager fixes for rgba didn't made it into the linux build.

    Originally why i changed the nvcompress version was only because of the rgba issues. So compressing the ui assets with dxt5 instead of rgba would not take to much time.
  • rkfgrkfg Russia Join Date: 2013-09-03 Member: 187744Members, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Gold, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow
    Thanks for your time. I believe it really will be sooner than later, because now I'm literally scared of opening the menu. After joining the server it opens fine but after getting into the ready room again after the match it's likely to crash. I've already turned off all the mods and it didn't help.
  • GhoulofGSG9GhoulofGSG9 Join Date: 2013-03-31 Member: 184566Members, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, Reinforced - Supporter, WC 2013 - Supporter, Pistachionauts
    edited August 2014
    rkfg wrote: »
    Thanks for your time. I believe it really will be sooner than later, because now I'm literally scared of opening the menu. After joining the server it opens fine but after getting into the ready room again after the match it's likely to crash. I've already turned off all the mods and it didn't help.

    I just took the 2 mins and rebuild the ui/ folder for you as it should have been done but somehow the build mashine failed to do so. https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_AoHvDBSRoDUkJpbUJtNDhEVDQ/edit?usp=sharing

    BTW you can savely replace the ui/ folder as it doesnt get checked by the consistency check :D
  • rkfgrkfg Russia Join Date: 2013-09-03 Member: 187744Members, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Gold, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow
    Thanks a lot! Downloaded, replaced the files, will tell you later if it helped!
  • GhoulofGSG9GhoulofGSG9 Join Date: 2013-03-31 Member: 184566Members, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, Reinforced - Supporter, WC 2013 - Supporter, Pistachionauts
    rkfg wrote: »
    Thanks a lot! Downloaded, replaced the files, will tell you later if it helped!
    Yeah would be nice ty.
  • rkfgrkfg Russia Join Date: 2013-09-03 Member: 187744Members, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Gold, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow
    It seems that some UI elements are missing, like the health/armor indicator and such:
    470535BE2131399C65C29F3D93E7D8352D6C1350
  • GhoulofGSG9GhoulofGSG9 Join Date: 2013-03-31 Member: 184566Members, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, Reinforced - Supporter, WC 2013 - Supporter, Pistachionauts
    edited August 2014
    rkfg wrote: »
    It seems that some UI elements are missing, like the health/armor indicator and such:
    470535BE2131399C65C29F3D93E7D8352D6C1350

    Did you check for any mod like ns2+ disabling them. Because the needed textures are not missing.
  • rkfgrkfg Russia Join Date: 2013-09-03 Member: 187744Members, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Gold, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow
    Nope, the server I played on has no mods at all, completely vanilla. Updated the videodriver, kernel, rebooted and still no bars. The other server has NS2+ and I don't have the bars either. Loading time, on the other hand, is blazingly fast compared to what it was before.
  • GhoulofGSG9GhoulofGSG9 Join Date: 2013-03-31 Member: 184566Members, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, Reinforced - Supporter, WC 2013 - Supporter, Pistachionauts
    rkfg wrote: »
    Nope, the server I played on has no mods at all, completely vanilla. Updated the videodriver, kernel, rebooted and still no bars. The other server has NS2+ and I don't have the bars either. Loading time, on the other hand, is blazingly fast compared to what it was before.

    I'll look at it later again so far you should be able to play, right ;)
  • rkfgrkfg Russia Join Date: 2013-09-03 Member: 187744Members, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Gold, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow
    Yeah, I can play, thank you! Textures are broken at some places.
    32A62D9B07BF97F3BEE0D63411582A282F2337BE
    Personal resources number background has black semi-transparent areas, just like with crosshairs.
    564EE5403D4B0BA1C8668E1BB40C4A3F4228990B
    Shine menu looks weird.

    I also tried to convert those textures myself and got the same result...
Sign In or Register to comment.