Was Kodiak a failure in your eyes?

Comments

• NammNamm Join Date: 2011-12-08 Member: 137116Members
    edited May 2014
    I'm no scientist, but one DLC seems like a rather small sample to base your assumptions on. You learn from your failures on the other hand. What did UWE learn and what does the future of NS2 development look like? Release an entire map pack and not just one map at a time in order to get attention from news sites? Or will we just see the community devs do small iterations that doesn't get noticed by anyone outside the community?

I can't say what drives the community devs and what they are working on, but in my thinking it would be optimal if they could improve the boring basics of the game so to speak (especially performance) while the maps currently in development are finished and perfected to be released all at the same time in the future for maximum publicity. Perhaps coinciding with another skin pack or something like that and an even split of some of the income to the mappers and key community developers. It should be a pure content update by the way; bugs and balance issues will affect individual maps, not the entire game.
  • NeokenNeoken Bruges, Belgium Join Date: 2004-03-20 Member: 27447Members, NS2 Playtester, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver, Subnautica Playtester
    From a community perspective I'd say it was a succes. From a bussiness perspective, well, not so much I suppose. The idea of cosmetic DLC to generate income is a good one, but like others have mentioned, the current NS2 playerbase just isn't large enough to make it profitable.

I was never a big fan of making NS2 f2p, but at this point one might as well go for the full measure. :)
  • HowserHowser UK Join Date: 2010-02-08 Member: 70488Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow, Subnautica Playtester, Retired Community Developer