Skulks need to feel powerful

ArgathorArgathor Join Date: 2011-07-18 Member: 110942Members, Squad Five Blue
The Skulk needs to feel and be powerful for NS2 to be successful, because most alien players spend the majority of the game as a Skulk. Gameplay must be a positive experience.

Since I started playing around b180 the power of the Skulk has been constantly diminished to the point we are at today, playing a Skulk has become frustrating and boring. For NS2 to be popular players need to feel powerful and effective. It creates fun and engaging gameplay, where people feel they have what it takes to make a difference.

I partially understand the philosophy that Aliens 'struggle' in the first portion of the game, then become much more powerful later on, it sounds like a very clever gameplay idea. The problem is that it's not fun at all to play for the aliens. There is a limit to how asymmetrical the game can become, gameplay needs to be positive not negative.

The philosophy behind overall gameplay for aliens and marines must be that they feel powerful and capable of making a difference at all points in the game.

NS2 has such great potential for fantastic gameplay, titanic struggles back and forth, sudden rushes, feints, etc. Currently that potential is very inconsistent, I hope that by focusing on positive gameplay that can be turned around to create a more consistent positive experience for players.

Comments

• WildChickenWildChicken Join Date: 2004-08-25 Member: 30891Members, Constellation