ns2_co_lunacy

Trainee.gerTrainee.ger Join Date: 2011-05-22 Member: 100097Members Posts: 188
edited February 2014 in Mapping
wip
Update:

Lunacy is currently the biggest map in delevopment for the fps only ns2, like you have in the
Proving Grounds or Combat Mode mods

[-1-] Alien lair image
[-2-] image
[-3-] cavern image
[-4-] image
[-5-] image
[-6-] image
[-7-] image
[-8-] image
[-9-] tram tunnel image
[-10-] Marine base image


Download: http://www.mediafire.com/?5wnfz8pa43c7ppe
Post edited by Trainee.ger on
«13

Comments

  • TigTig Join Date: 2010-05-08 Member: 71674Members, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Posts: 977
    geometry A, prop work A, Texture work C+ (repeating ceilings, misaligned vertical supports), lighting B+

    can we get a layout and a background story for lunacy?
  • Tom HoenTom Hoen Join Date: 2009-07-02 Member: 68004Members Posts: 126
    This map inspires me to start mapping again for NS2.

    As Tig said: textures need little bit more thinking and break them a little. Story is a must!
    *IMAGE NOT LOADED.* So here's my portfolio
  • Trainee.gerTrainee.ger Join Date: 2011-05-22 Member: 100097Members Posts: 188
    edited May 2011
    well i havent thought about a story yet, but i will get one! next time i am drunk i will write something down and tweak it when im not drunk anymore :D

    im not quiet sure if i understand you correctly Tig, what does "misaligned vertical supports" exactly mean? can you give me an example on one of my screenshots?

    i know my ceilings suck mostly and my lighting needs some love to, im on it!
    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • ObraxisObraxis Subnautica Animator & QA Lead, NS2 Person Join Date: 2004-07-24 Member: 30071Super Administrators, Forum Admins, NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Silver, WC 2013 - Supporter, Subnautica Developer, Pistachionauts Posts: 2,988 admin
    It's very bright, lots of white lights. Might want to add some extra mood to it by reducing the number of lights, and their colour.

    If NS2 fails, follow my Nuke From Orbit Guide.

    NS2 Discord: https://discord.gg/0TKQwZWu7JEPeAgW

    Subnautica Discord: https://discord.gg/subnautica

  • KuBaNKuBaN Join Date: 2002-11-16 Member: 8979Members, Constellation Posts: 1,375 Advanced user
    Looks promising!

    The lighting seems to be your weakest area. In most places there's either too much or too little.

    I look forward to seeing this progress!
    This is the kind of thing that goes on behind close doors on normal game releases, where they are optimizing it right up until the end. You guys are just getting to play with a version of the game that normally only the developers see.

    --Cory


    nicojones
  • TigTig Join Date: 2010-05-08 Member: 71674Members, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Posts: 977
    QUOTE (Trainee.ger @ May 30 2011, 04:44 PM) »
    I saw psykomans ns2_summit and saw those beautiful archstyle rooms and i then i tried to do my own, but i kinda messed it up :D
    image



    QUOTE (Trainee.ger @ May 31 2011, 07:25 AM) »
    what does "misaligned vertical supports" exactly mean? can you give me an example on one of my screenshots?

  • TigTig Join Date: 2010-05-08 Member: 71674Members, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Posts: 977
    edited May 2011
    i'd change that texture completely, it looks funny as the vertical lines of the textures don't line up at the corner in the right one and the rest of them extend to nowhere, it looks fake. break the middle square of the pillar into its own texture, then simplify the top and bottom. just play with it and try different textures out at different sizes, sometimes snap it to the poly by making it fit.

    edit: spelling.
  • Trainee.gerTrainee.ger Join Date: 2011-05-22 Member: 100097Members Posts: 188
    ok, i have reworked my archstyle hallway, hope it looks better now. i´ve also experimented with its lighting, so its temporary orange now :D but it doesnt look that bad! ;)
    image


    Entrance to Alien Hive from the cavern
    image

    Part of the Alien Hive room
    image

    i think when i´ve finished the Alien Hive room, i will redo some of my ceilings then.

    layout and story are coming soon
  • KuBaNKuBaN Join Date: 2002-11-16 Member: 8979Members, Constellation Posts: 1,375 Advanced user
    That archstyle hallway is much improved! Now just mix up the floors a bit :)
    This is the kind of thing that goes on behind close doors on normal game releases, where they are optimizing it right up until the end. You guys are just getting to play with a version of the game that normally only the developers see.

    --Cory


    nicojones
  • zastelszastels Join Date: 2003-11-29 Member: 23731Members Posts: 397 Advanced user
    I think the red and blue in this pic:

    http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/3301/2011060100002.jpg

    Look great! I'm surprised by how it goes together. Kinda reminds me of old school Goldeneye for some reason.
  • TigTig Join Date: 2010-05-08 Member: 71674Members, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Posts: 977
    QUOTE (KuBaN @ Jun 1 2011, 12:17 AM) »
    That archstyle hallway is much improved! Now just mix up the floors a bit :)


    +1
  • pSyk0mAnpSyk0mAn Nerdish by Nature Germany Join Date: 2003-08-07 Member: 19166Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Silver, NS2 Community Developer Posts: 1,712 Advanced user
    Hey Trainee, looks like a good start.
    I like that you try to go the extra mile regarding the geometry.

    I don't know, if you wanna stay with that concrete texture look for the arches. Proper lighting might be enough to enhance the curves and make it appear more smooths, but proper textures can help with that aswell.
    I made you a quick, little example how you could texture the inside by splitting the faces in the middle and use different angles:
    http://filevo.com/704hssirukvl.html
    The used texture is, of course, just an example, it should work well with all kind of trim textures that aren't busy and detailed in their middle part.


  • Trainee.gerTrainee.ger Join Date: 2011-05-22 Member: 100097Members Posts: 188
    Thanks guys! good to hear your likes and dislikes about my map. i had big problems getting started with complex geometry in the first place, but finally i found my way trought it. psykoman, thanks for your example, it helps a lot! your tutorial on curve sections is awesome too btw. :-)

    this weekend im mapping with a friend of mine, i will overwork my archstyle hallway next week. hopefully i got some new screenshots for you then :)
  • peregrinusperegrinus Join Date: 2010-07-16 Member: 72445Members Posts: 2,432 Fully active user
    It's hard to see where the red and blue light is coming from...it kinda looks like paint
  • Trainee.gerTrainee.ger Join Date: 2011-05-22 Member: 100097Members Posts: 188
    edited June 2011
    QUOTE (peregrinus @ Jun 5 2011, 02:52 AM) »
    It's hard to see where the red and blue light is coming from...it kinda looks like paint

    i didnt liked that area either, changed the blue light to something more common


    ive been working on my alien start hive, nothing final, just a work in progress shot. the second entrance is missing yet

    image

    this is my ceiling, it has plenty of room for sniping lerks, so its kinda tricky to defend that hive, but due to multiple entrances it wont be that much of an advantage. lets see in the first playtest someday (-:
    image

    ive started to work on my archstyle hallway again, but the editor is kinda broke since 178. the editor crushes everytime i use the circle, paint, displacement, props and entity tool -.-
    anyone else gets this error?
    dont like the idea to reinstall everything, regarding to my pretty slow internet connection..
  • vlncvlnc Join Date: 2010-09-07 Member: 73921Members, Squad Five Blue Posts: 241
    Maybe try "Verify the integrity of game cache", It'll maybe fix your problem (or not)

    And your screenshots look great, can't wait to test it.
  • peregrinusperegrinus Join Date: 2010-07-16 Member: 72445Members Posts: 2,432 Fully active user
    This looks very interesting and I like the broken down collapsed areas.
  • Trainee.gerTrainee.ger Join Date: 2011-05-22 Member: 100097Members Posts: 188
    QUOTE (vlnc @ Jun 9 2011, 03:11 AM) »
    Maybe try "Verify the integrity of game cache", It'll maybe fix your problem (or not)

    i tried this, but it doesnt work. ill reinstall the game this night, hopefully it works then
  • Trainee.gerTrainee.ger Join Date: 2011-05-22 Member: 100097Members Posts: 188
    ok i reinstalled natural selection, but my editor still crashes :( i am able to play ns2, but cannot use the editor.


    format c? want a 64bit system anyway..
  • TigTig Join Date: 2010-05-08 Member: 71674Members, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Posts: 977
  • SN.WolfSN.Wolf Join Date: 2010-03-29 Member: 71115Members Posts: 815 Fully active user
    QUOTE (Trainee.ger @ Jun 9 2011, 12:36 PM) »
    format c? want a 64bit system anyway..

    Don't go extreme yet. I have had 3 blue screens from the editor in this last build. Doesn't seem to be when doing anything specific,it just Garbles the screen,fade to black then good ol blue screen. The game also runs fine for me.
  • pSyk0mAnpSyk0mAn Nerdish by Nature Germany Join Date: 2003-08-07 Member: 19166Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Silver, NS2 Community Developer Posts: 1,712 Advanced user
    Have you tried deleting your options.xml?
    It's somewhere around user->yourname->appdata->roaming->natural selection 2->editor


  • Trainee.gerTrainee.ger Join Date: 2011-05-22 Member: 100097Members Posts: 188
    ok everything is fine again! thanks for your help and tipps! i just had to update my graphiccards driver. the last time i´ve updated was 6 months ago. its strange that it worked all fine in b177.
    my editor crashes much much more often when using the line tool, but nevertheless its working now :)
  • TigTig Join Date: 2010-05-08 Member: 71674Members, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Posts: 977
    QUOTE (Trainee.ger @ Jun 10 2011, 07:01 AM) »
    my editor crashes much much more often when using the line tool, but nevertheless its working now :)


    yeah, that's common, i save everytime before i use the line tool.
  • Trainee.gerTrainee.ger Join Date: 2011-05-22 Member: 100097Members Posts: 188
    edited June 2011
    QUOTE (pSyk0mAn @ Jun 2 2011, 08:58 AM) »
    I don't know, if you wanna stay with that concrete texture look for the arches. Proper lighting might be enough to enhance the curves and make it appear more smooths, but proper textures can help with that aswell. [...]
    I made you a quick, little example how you could texture the inside by splitting the faces in the middle and use different angles:

    QUOTE (KuBaN @ May 31 2011, 11:17 PM) »
    That archstyle hallway is much improved! Now just mix up the floors a bit :)

    i put some more hours in my archstyle hallway. im finished with the geometry part and its much more complex now, it looks way more realistic! i have to adjust the textures and this ceiling is ready to go! thx to psykoman again!

    But, i am lacking of ideas for its floor area. i do have some ideas, but none that i like!
    any suggestions? (-: they´re much appreciated!

    Trainee
  • Trainee.gerTrainee.ger Join Date: 2011-05-22 Member: 100097Members Posts: 188
    hey guys. just a small update!

    my new wip archstyle hallway. (i have to adjust some textures there..)
    image
    vs. the old one
    image

    and a different angle from my cavern
    image
  • zastelszastels Join Date: 2003-11-29 Member: 23731Members Posts: 397 Advanced user
    Looking real good, big time improvement between the two arch pics. Good vertical height.

    Marines could use an ice cream dispensary somewhere though . . .
  • peregrinusperegrinus Join Date: 2010-07-16 Member: 72445Members Posts: 2,432 Fully active user
    I think it would look better if the lead looking material between the arch and the rock above was just made into the rock material. It looks too jaggy and block like.
  • Trainee.gerTrainee.ger Join Date: 2011-05-22 Member: 100097Members Posts: 188
    edited July 2011
    hey guys! i have some problems with the cinematic editor! im placing a "create emitter" on top of my teleporter and it all works fine in the cinematic editor. but when i test it ingame, i do have the problem that my particle effect is placed somewhere else! as you can see in the picture, my particles are to the left of the teleporter, but actually i placed them on top of my teleporter!
    what did i wrong? or is this a bug? im experiencing the same when placing a model, like the tram, in the cin editor. i animate it, so it is driving a bit and its ingame somewhere else but not on its rail.

    image


    somebody else experiencing this?



    edit: updated the picture and added some text
    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • UncleRayUncleRay Join Date: 2010-03-08 Member: 70881Members Posts: 368 Fully active user
    edited July 2011
    I'll give you this much, the lighting is awesome. The ground is too flat, the walls are too bland in the first 3 pics. The ceilings and texturing are spot on. Keep it up.
    http://concretenmetal.blogspot.com/
    "I think my alcohol stream is getting some blood in it"
«13
Sign In or Register to comment.