The Post Your Screenshots Thread!

17879818384

Comments

  • MoconnorMoconnor Members Join Date: 2002-07-26 Member: 1004Posts: 579 Fully active user
    Architecture is really interesting Joseppe! Looking forward to seeing how it looks after a pass with some lighting. Must be a pain to texture all that though!! Can you use 3D Max or Maya? Would be good if you could model some of those chunks of geometry. If you can't it would be a good project to start to learn to model.
    none
  • JoseppeJoseppe Members Join Date: 2012-01-21 Member: 141497Posts: 283 Advanced user
    edited August 2013
    deathshroud said:
    you're putting so much effort into this map joseppe its mind boggling, you must have some serious free time. Would be a real shame if after all this it isnt usable as a map by the time you get close to finishing i doubt my computer can even load the map up in the editor
    i try to finish it. the ideas are ready, but it only takes a lot of time to finish it all.
    so far 3 techpoints (with ressource nodes) + 3 independent ressource node locations are almost done.

    to finish this (the whole map concept is not completly done) i need to do 2 more techpoints and 1 more ressource node.
    but we will see...
    Tharos said:
    @Joseppe Your map looks fantastic :D
    thank you!
    Moconnor said:
    Architecture is really interesting Joseppe! Looking forward to seeing how it looks after a pass with some lighting. Must be a pain to texture all that though!! Can you use 3D Max or Maya? Would be good if you could model some of those chunks of geometry. If you can't it would be a good project to start to learn to model.
    sry, but i am not going to lightning this right now (lightning is my weak spot). i want to finish the geometry to get a working map.
    the fountain you see is going to another room (image: left side). the model would be not in a reuseable state.
    if i would say now: ok, mapping is stopped... have to learn modeling (maya, 3d max) first to continue work... what would you think / say ? ;)
    (i would think: shit... just finish the map, so we can PLAY IT!!!)

    btw:
    * i know 3d max/maya, but i dont have any kind of knowledge using it. i am mapping for fun and i dont get paid for this... so i am not going to try this out, sry.
    * i am not really texturing everything. for a lot of curves i use a "texture without borders" so i dont need to align it. example: brown metal texture on the floor.

    at angelous: (you said: Going through some post I feel ashamed of showing my first messy attempts at mapping...)
    looks great so far. Please dont think negative about your own work when you see other people posting here.
    example: my work did really take a lot of hours. if i would map your level it would me take maybe 100+ hours to finish it.
    its all about time and i am going the other side, not: greyboxing to detail, but rather: room -> detailing, next room.
    Post edited by Joseppe on
    8fnCz79.png 8fnCz79.png
  • angelousangelous Members, WC 2013 - Silver Join Date: 2013-03-18 Member: 184073Posts: 35
    Thanks @Joseppe , I am still trying to learn how to be efficient on the Editor, so it'll take a while to bring it to a desireable state :)
  • killer monkeykiller monkey Members, Reinforced - Shadow Join Date: 2010-02-26 Member: 70743Posts: 574 Advanced user
    @Joseppe A fool proof why of lighting is orange lowlights and blue highlights.
  • JoseppeJoseppe Members Join Date: 2012-01-21 Member: 141497Posts: 283 Advanced user
    edited August 2013
    eIPBTSWs.jpg BZ6qbg8s.jpg
    Post edited by Joseppe on
    8fnCz79.png 8fnCz79.png
    KalopsiaCarNagE1
  • KalopsiaKalopsia Members, Reinforced - Shadow Join Date: 2003-05-15 Member: 16331Posts: 502 Advanced user
    Nice work @JOSEPPE. I like the first image which has a view of the catwalk outside.
    ns2_nothing remake Thread | Workshop
    ns2_waterdome Thread | Workshop

    Kalopsia Lerk Play Videos
  • TwitherTwither Members Join Date: 2012-09-21 Member: 160287Posts: 18
    A few screens of my WIP ns2_co_enigma, a 1:1 recreation of my ns1 combat map.

    SyBHLnb.jpg

    CS8sKIC.jpg

    kHM1Esl.jpg
    [=Alex=]Argosh
  • JoseppeJoseppe Members Join Date: 2012-01-21 Member: 141497Posts: 283 Advanced user
    edited August 2013
    Xyh0Yjis.jpg JcRequ5s.jpg mvCZyuUs.jpg e483tkqs.jpg
    Post edited by Joseppe on
    8fnCz79.png 8fnCz79.png
    TharosArgoshIeptBarakatCarNagE1
  • KrozuKrozu Members Join Date: 2012-08-06 Member: 154854Posts: 61
    Double helix says "Hello!".
    Not as impressive as the rest, but nice anyway.

    Looks a lot better ingame though, can actually see the electricity zap around!
    ( DO NOT TRY TO REMAKE THIS, YOUR WRIST IS GOING TO HATE YOU )

    2013_08_01_00001.jpg
    2013_08_01_00002.jpg
    2013_08_01_00003.jpg
  • KrozuKrozu Members Join Date: 2012-08-06 Member: 154854Posts: 61
    edited August 2013
    Same thing as the last post, however i didn't expect the following to happen.
    Also, forgive me, it is a video. If it wasn't you might not understand why it's weird. :D

    http://www.youtu.be/BlzLVLk-op4
    Post edited by Krozu on
  • CarNagE1CarNagE1 PolandMembers, NS2 Playtester, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Supporter, Subnautica Playtester Join Date: 2003-05-14 Member: 16298Posts: 586 Advanced user
    Private movie? maybe make it public? ;p
    imageimage image
    Main Editor of www.naturalselection2.pl
  • KrozuKrozu Members Join Date: 2012-08-06 Member: 154854Posts: 61
  • WhiteDevilWhiteDevil Members, Reinforced - Shadow Join Date: 2012-09-16 Member: 159559Posts: 143 Advanced user
  • JoseppeJoseppe Members Join Date: 2012-01-21 Member: 141497Posts: 283 Advanced user
    edited October 2013
    kEWRjFLs.jpg nSuz23us.jpg zXGSoDXs.jpg TqzYlRVs.jpg
    Post edited by Joseppe on
    8fnCz79.png 8fnCz79.png
    CarNagE1ObliviousSight
  • [=Alex=][=Alex=] Members, Squad Five Blue Join Date: 2008-12-25 Member: 65866Posts: 198 Advanced user
    What map is this?
    See something familiar?
    khp4.jpg

    Like I did to recreate ns2_co_pulse
    cjkm.jpg

    Here is the original extracted file ... Or most for a reference
    iozt.jpg
    ns2_triad
    NS2:Combat maps:
    co_pulse
    co_kestrel
    co_sava
    co_niveus
    co_legacy (new co_faceoff remake)
    co_angst
    ObliviousSight
  • BeigeAlertBeigeAlert TexasMembers, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow, Subnautica Playtester, Pistachionauts Join Date: 2013-08-08 Member: 186657Posts: 2,829 admin
    Dang Joesppe! You know there is such a thing as props right? Although... your map seems to be doing just fine without them! I'm guessing the plants are geo as well? :P
  • VetinariVetinari Members, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Join Date: 2013-07-23 Member: 186325Posts: 3,469 Advanced user
    Something I am currently working on. ns2_skybase (if you come up with a better name I'd be happy). It's a research station floating in the sky.

    This is actually greyboxing, but, as you know, the current build editor hates dev textures, so here are some basic textures.
    JIWHzN7.png

    Some thoughts about layout. It will either be based on refinery or veil.
    7HcSI2y.jpg

    (Scanned from my notebook.)

    Ware = Warehouse
    Plat = Platform
    Drop = "The Drop"
    Sec = Security
    sth power = Something about power (didnt come up with a name yet)
    Sky = Skygarden
    Lounge is the one displayed in the picture.

    AS/MS = Alien/Marine Spawn
    formerly known as F0rdPrefect

    I am good Onos
  • FlaterectomyFlaterectomy NetherlandistanMembers, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow, Subnautica Playtester, NS2 Community Developer, Pistachionauts Join Date: 2005-02-03 Member: 39643Posts: 939 Advanced user
    edited September 2013
    One thing that stands out to me in the layout is how Hangar / Reception are connected similarly to Fusion / Cargo in Tanith, i.e. both exits from hangar lead to the same place. Granted, the west exit leads to a junction so you can access other areas as well, which is the same with Fusion in Tanith. This means you can cover both exits from one location, which isn't good.
  • VetinariVetinari Members, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Join Date: 2013-07-23 Member: 186325Posts: 3,469 Advanced user
    One thing that stands out to me in the layout is how Hangar / Reception are connected similarly to Fusion / Cargo in Tanith, i.e. both exits from hangar lead to the same place. Granted, the west exit leads to a junction so you can access other areas as well, which is the same with Fusion in Tanith. This means you can cover both exits from one location, which isn't good.

    Yes. It's just some scribbles so far. What do you suggest to solve it?
    formerly known as F0rdPrefect

    I am good Onos
  • FlaterectomyFlaterectomy NetherlandistanMembers, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow, Subnautica Playtester, NS2 Community Developer, Pistachionauts Join Date: 2005-02-03 Member: 39643Posts: 939 Advanced user
  • VetinariVetinari Members, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Join Date: 2013-07-23 Member: 186325Posts: 3,469 Advanced user
    I messed around with the layout a bit, but it always ended looking like veil :\
    formerly known as F0rdPrefect

    I am good Onos
  • VetinariVetinari Members, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Join Date: 2013-07-23 Member: 186325Posts: 3,469 Advanced user
    nk0mfz2.jpg

    Crates. You can never have enough of them, that's why we build a warehouse for them.

    Think of those textures as grey dev-textures.
    formerly known as F0rdPrefect

    I am good Onos
  • VetinariVetinari Members, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Join Date: 2013-07-23 Member: 186325Posts: 3,469 Advanced user
    Might have overdone it a bit on the size of my Cargo Bay. I should probably half the length... But then it's too high D:
    formerly known as F0rdPrefect

    I am good Onos
  • CyberKunCyberKun Members, Reinforced - Shadow Join Date: 2013-02-02 Member: 182733Posts: 336 Fully active user
    Cyber_kun: Not going to invade again
    Cyber_kun: Well, least not in the area that requires you to run forever
    Lolgorgeous: np i appreciate you wasting 30 minutes of my time anyway

    ~~Dark Souls~~
  • GameOverGameOver GermanyMembers, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Shadow Join Date: 2003-10-15 Member: 21700Posts: 146 Fully active user
    edited October 2013
  • VetinariVetinari Members, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Join Date: 2013-07-23 Member: 186325Posts: 3,469 Advanced user
  • [=Alex=][=Alex=] Members, Squad Five Blue Join Date: 2008-12-25 Member: 65866Posts: 198 Advanced user
    Co_kestrel in progress...
    I'm liking how it looks. What do you think?

    8ED1746D6DCB7E013C00819F3810E472610CF4BE
    ns2_triad
    NS2:Combat maps:
    co_pulse
    co_kestrel
    co_sava
    co_niveus
    co_legacy (new co_faceoff remake)
    co_angst
  • JoseppeJoseppe Members Join Date: 2012-01-21 Member: 141497Posts: 283 Advanced user
    edited October 2013
    [=Alex=] wrote: »
    What do you think?
    looking really good, i like it too. But two small things (i noticed after some seconds)...
    • on the left side: you can see the transition between the props and the wall
    • lightning: is to generic (= white), btw: i am really, really bad at lightning things :)
    keep in mind: i see this as a static image... if i would play it, i wouldnt really notice it.

    EDIT - location: radar (ressource point), image 1 = outside area, not reachable ingame
    rVQEz4us.jpg NgVLEVrs.jpg kwFgRsxs.jpg
    Post edited by Joseppe on
    8fnCz79.png 8fnCz79.png
    CarNagE1
  • VetinariVetinari Members, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Join Date: 2013-07-23 Member: 186325Posts: 3,469 Advanced user
    I think this is a new record: My geometry is displaced one fifth of 0.13m to the rest. How is this even possible working entirely on grid???
    formerly known as F0rdPrefect

    I am good Onos
  • JoseppeJoseppe Members Join Date: 2012-01-21 Member: 141497Posts: 283 Advanced user
    edited October 2013
    How is this even possible working entirely on grid???

    i hope the following is the right answer for your question.

    - its possible to increase / decrease the grid size (as we all know)
    - if the grid size setup is < 4" (so 1", 2") the vertices go off the grid sometimes if you move your geometry
    - solution: try to use a minimum of 4" on the grid size, so this shouldn´t happen (<<<< I am not quite sure about that, somebody said this)
    - btw: i am using "1 all the time and i get off the grid, really, really often... but it can be repaired with the scaling-tool really fast after a movement
    - if possible, dont use the snap-to-grid option on triangle / squared faces, because:
    -- it does move all your vertices on the grid again,
    -- BUT it sometimes doesnt restore the "actual size" of your selected geometry, so sometimes the geometry is transformed by 1" after using snap-to-grid
    - you can / have to use the snap-to-grid option on arches / circles, because:
    -- they are usually always off the grid after creation
    -- after using snap-to-grid not all faced are equal sized (otherwise it would logically off the grid)

    EDIT: god dammit mistypes all the time...
    8fnCz79.png 8fnCz79.png
Sign In or Register to comment.