New Player, Some thoughts on the story and pacing...

GangreneTVPGangreneTVP Sandusky, Ohio Join Date: 2017-01-17 Member: 226885Members
So, I purchased this game over the Xmas - New Years vacation time... Here are my initial thoughts, especially on the story.

It's really fun and a joy to play.

I did experience the late game frequent crashes issue... I just started playing new games instead of clearing the cache. It's alpha, not complaining.

I think the pacing of the game once your repair the short range communicator in the life pod is quite a bit too fast. I think one message maybe every three days might be fine... that might be too quick as well(5 days). I'm catching fish and prepping for trips to life pod destinations and I keep getting other distress calls I'm like 4-5 calls behind... and they come in so rapidly all of the experiences blend into one another and don't feel distinct. I think these need to be spaced out a great deal more and then each one might be engaging and more exciting... OH! another message! instead of another one?!? gezz haven't even checked out the last 3 yet. Slow the pace and let the game build. Also, it would be great if we could get more of a connection with each pod. Like... "This is Tommy, from LifePod 6" Give two or three messages that allow us to want to look for "Tommy" and develop a connection to the NPC so we want to stage the rescue. Maybe they have to repair their communicator too to get the beacon up and running. Only to have it sink. Maybe one NPC, leaves the pod... only then to radio from another empty pod they found... now they are here and the new pod is taking on water(now you have to check out that pod to find "Tommy") Maybe "Tommy" could be someone you knew from the ship to add story... Maybe eventually you have to take the radiation helmet off of Tommy's corpse... drama...