Seabase Blues

BlatherscribeBlatherscribe Join Date: 2016-12-21 Member: 225275Members
Greetings,

I'm new to Subnautica, trying to build a seabase, and having a devil of a time. What appears on my screen never looks anything like examples I've found online.

To begin with, I just want to build a multipurpose room and connect a moonpool to it. But even this seems impossible! For starters, the seabase rooms do not come with legs, as shown in many many examples online. I can only seem to build them either INSIDE the terrain, or on a foundation. Foundations are hideously ugly, but OK, I'll try that. I put down a couple of foundation squares, build a multipurpose room... and cannot get the moonpool to connect. It also refuses to build itself at a functional height, even with foundation plates under it. It likes to hover just above the seafloor -- no legs, no connections, just hovering. I won't call it floating, because there's no sign that this is supposed to be actual buoyancy.

So what am I missing? Is there a special blueprint I need in order to get legs on my seabase?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• ComicalSkateComicalSkate Canada, ON Join Date: 2015-05-28 Member: 204993Members
    I can summarize this in a few words: Building is a little broken right now.

It will be fixed eventually, it is just not high priority.

I totally agree with you with the foundations, so ugly! I have a few tips and tricks to help you out:
    1. When you are starting a base start with a foundation in the area you want it.
    2. Place a tube on the foundation.
    3. Place another tube or room that is off the tube on the foundation but is completely off the foundation.
    4. Delete the foundation and the tube on it.