Bandaid Mod- IT'S THE NATURAL SOLUTION TOO!

Comments

• slizzeredslizzered Germany Join Date: 2014-05-31 Member: 196317Members
    You'd be amazed, having webs early game means you can make a more effective killbox or preplan your escape by webbing up a rear exit. Later in game it's definitely useless. Dropping the biomass level was really cheap to code, so this is an improvement over not having it used at all.

I'll admit I never saw web in play while I was a marine. I'm new to the game, so that doesn't mean a lot. So please forgive me if something like this is actually in place:

What about making the web more spider-web by making it invisible? The amount and scaling of invisibility needs to be discussed, but could look like this:
    Basic web are the same, but once the commander places veils, webs become camouflaged like alien lifeforms who evolved phantom. This would boost both the usability of webs and shade hive, while leading to an ambush-focused playstyle with teamwork: Gorge places web, skulk waits camouflaged for the careless marine to ambush. Marines on the other hand are even more reliant on using the buddy-system. Maybe marines could also remove the web-effect from their buddy with axe/welder.

Oh and just another idea... making the web so that it places a warning (like the one made with middle mouse button) on the minimap, once a marine gets entangled/destroys it. Like the strings in a spider-web vibrate, once a fly gets caught. The spider (aliens) can then converge to the source of the vibration to eat the tasty marine.
    This would make webs more versatile for aliens to protect against sneaky marines. Admittedly, this second idea is rather stupid. Looking carefully for hidden webs that even attract aliens in your direction might actually be more of an annoyance for the marines than anything else. But I just like the idea :D