Why are we not using NS2's amazing soundtrack?

EvolutionaryMiracleEvolutionaryMiracle Join Date: 2013-06-07 Member: 185503Members, Reinforced - Supporter
I've been loving the NS2 Deluxe Edition soundtrack so far, but its always bugged me how UWE only uses the main menu theme and a 40 second snippet of Evolution in NS2 itself. Sure, hugh uses it extensively in his videos, but that's about it.

I think that we should all get to work on a soundtrack overhaul. Imagine hearing the bass-y part of the main menu theme while you're deep in alien territory, or hearing gorilla as you run into sub-sector just as the power go out. Or maybe the "heroic" part of Rush as you literally rush into a marine base. The coding is there - You hear a variant of Exosuit as you kill the hive. A mod that would add more instances - say 6 marines and 6 aliens in a single room would trigger a snippet of Main Menu - in my opinion wouldn't be that hard.

What do you think?
On a side note, I'm new to lua and have no NS2 modding experience.

Comments

• IeptBarakatIeptBarakat The most difficult name to speak ingame. Join Date: 2009-07-10 Member: 68107Members, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow
    edited November 2013
    Competitive players.

As in people who dislike ambient noise because it gets in the way of position tracking.
  • Cannon_FodderAUSCannon_FodderAUS Brisbane, AU Join Date: 2013-06-23 Member: 185664Members, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, Reinforced - Shadow
    I turned off my music since the hive sound bug way back (could be B249), when it won't stop playing. Is the sound for that fixed? I haven't heard music in this game for a while now and have forgotten how it sounds.
  • EvolutionaryMiracleEvolutionaryMiracle Join Date: 2013-06-07 Member: 185503Members, Reinforced - Supporter
    Competitive players.

As in people who dislike ambient noise because it gets in the way of position tracking.