People Aren't Smart Enough for Democracy to Flourish?

WhiteWeaselWhiteWeasel Join Date: 2012-11-25 Member: 173197Members
edited March 2013 in Discussions
Democracy is a great thing, assuming people can vote for the right guy.
Podcast link (the brunt of this idea)
Article link
Now forgive me for this being short, I'm poor at typing so I can't make the rock-solid 5 paragraph essay replies I see everywhere on this forum. I know I should be doing my own arguments instead of using someone elses', but i'm relatively new to this.

Comments

• ScardyBobScardyBob ScardyBob Join Date: 2009-11-25 Member: 69528Forum Admins, Forum Moderators, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow
    Interesting article, but I think it highlights why democracy is such an enduring institution; it does a good job of minimizing the number of incompetent people in power. The price is that we miss out on having the best people as leaders.

However, if we had a surefire method of always picking the best leaders, then even dictatorships or oligarchies would work well.
  • GISPGISP Battle Gorge Denmark Join Date: 2004-03-20 Member: 27460Members, Playtest Lead, Forum Moderators, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, Squad Five Gold, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Onos, WC 2013 - Gold, Subnautica Playtester, Forum staff
    Dictatorships isnt nessesary a bad thing.
    Same goes for monarchies, royals for the most part got a lifelong education into how to run things. And lets face it, dictators didnt get "the job" becouse of thier looks. The hard part is the sort the good from the bad, and people dosnt just give up power.
  • WhiteWeaselWhiteWeasel Join Date: 2012-11-25 Member: 173197Members
    In fact, a lot of systems could work, just requires very special or ideal conditions that's difficult outside of paper.