Linux vs WIndows fps +or-

N@uralBornNoobistN@uralBornNoobist Gorge-N-Freeman,2Gorges1Clog Join Date: 2012-12-24 Member: 176138Members

Comments

• lwflwf Join Date: 2006-11-03 Member: 58311Members, Constellation
    No one could answer that. The NS2 port for Linux isn't finished.
  • Ghosthree3Ghosthree3 Join Date: 2010-02-13 Member: 70557Members, Reinforced - Supporter
    Well, I'm not an expert but I'm going to assume it'd be mostly the same except that it'd have to run on OpenGL (DirectX is windows only right) where as the DX11 windows version (I assume DX11 support will come with OpenGL) will be much faster?
  • ScardyBobScardyBob ScardyBob Join Date: 2009-11-25 Member: 69528Forum Admins, Forum Moderators, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow
    Probably the same. The key is server-side where running Linux servers are typically cheaper than Windows ones.
  • ezekelezekel Join Date: 2012-11-29 Member: 173589Members, NS2 Map Tester
    edited July 2013
    OpenGL runs faster than directX afaik, also linux is barebones from what I understand so I'd assume linux would be slightly faster

I don't know the directx 11 comparison to say openGL 4.2 or whatever version it's at now
  • ObraxisObraxis Subnautica Animator & Generalist, NS2 Person Join Date: 2004-07-24 Member: 30071Super Administrators, Forum Admins, NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Silver, WC 2013 - Supporter, Subnautica Developer, Pistachionauts
    The Playtesters have not tested it yet, because it's still in development. That being said, it should be SOON...ish.
  • 0ni0ni Join Date: 2012-08-30 Member: 156991Members