How's optimization?

24

Comments

  • SixtyWattManSixtyWattMan Members Join Date: 2004-09-05 Member: 31404Posts: 708 Fully active user
    QUOTE (Techercizer @ Oct 18 2012, 04:41 PM) »
    Yes I can. When I uncap, I never drop below 80 in a fight. Don't tell my what my computer can and can't do unless you have the proof to back it up.

    Feel free to post some FRAPS logs.
  • TechercizerTechercizer 7th Player Members Join Date: 2011-06-11 Member: 103832Posts: 1,850
    QUOTE (SixtyWattMan @ Oct 18 2012, 04:50 PM) »
    Feel free to post some FRAPS logs.

    Feel free to continue miring yourself in theories of conspiracy and deception.

            Once the infestation reaches the Command Chair, the process begins. One Gorge enters the chair to provide the necessary height. Another climbs on its shoulders to access the controls.

            A Gorge Lab is quickly established, staffed by microscopic Gorges who work tirelessly to unlock the secrets of Frontiersman Technology, stopping only to change their lab coats when they become dirtied. Once the research progresses to a certain point, the Gorgecom gives the order. Nanites are called into service.

            The armature forms. A chosen Gorge, tested many times in the field of battle, enters the machine.

            Servos whir; miniguns spin up in diagnostics; an Exogorge is born.

  • SixtyWattManSixtyWattMan Members Join Date: 2004-09-05 Member: 31404Posts: 708 Fully active user
    QUOTE (Techercizer @ Oct 18 2012, 04:54 PM) »
    Feel free to continue miring yourself in theories of conspiracy and deception.

    You're claiming the impossible and all I'm doing is asking for some proof.
  • xDragonxDragon Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Gold, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Shadow Join Date: 2012-04-04 Member: 149948Posts: 1,954 Fully active user
    edited October 2012
    If your not going to provide proof of your claims of 80+ fps in heavy combat.... then your claims have 0 validity and all your doing is making yourself look like a troll and an idiot...

    NS2 still has FPS issues otherwise the DEVs wouldnt be almost soley focused on that and balance currently, and arguably what was brought up earlier (SERVER PERFORMANCE) is the biggest concern..

    And considering what has been teased for the new build I am skeptical that its benefits will be truely appreciated with other changes being made.
  • TechercizerTechercizer 7th Player Members Join Date: 2011-06-11 Member: 103832Posts: 1,850
    edited October 2012
    Yeah, I don't need to prove myself to anyone, especially not you insulting bunch who are quicker to jump to conclusions than to learn. I know my FPS is fine, and has been for quite some time. I also know I'm not the only person who's been running the game great, and that UWE is aware that there is a full spectrum of framerates experienced by the playerbase.

    I'm not getting fraps just to "defend" myself against you two. It's no skin off my back if you choose not to believe me.

            Once the infestation reaches the Command Chair, the process begins. One Gorge enters the chair to provide the necessary height. Another climbs on its shoulders to access the controls.

            A Gorge Lab is quickly established, staffed by microscopic Gorges who work tirelessly to unlock the secrets of Frontiersman Technology, stopping only to change their lab coats when they become dirtied. Once the research progresses to a certain point, the Gorgecom gives the order. Nanites are called into service.

            The armature forms. A chosen Gorge, tested many times in the field of battle, enters the machine.

            Servos whir; miniguns spin up in diagnostics; an Exogorge is born.

  • ScubboScubbo Members Join Date: 2012-10-03 Member: 161364Posts: 96
    I've found loading times a tad slow even on a good SSD I520 240gb/4.6 3570K :O
    your NZ buddy ;]
    [email protected], 16gb, gtx680 OC, Intel520 240GB SSD
  • ArgathorArgathor Members, Squad Five Blue Join Date: 2011-07-18 Member: 110942Posts: 682
    QUOTE (Scubbo @ Oct 18 2012, 11:06 PM) »
    I've found loading times a tad slow even on a good SSD I520 240gb/4.6 3570K :O


    Me too. This is strange as around b185 I was loading into games in around 1second, using my SSD. Now it takes 5+ seconds, even on a RAM Drive.
    Arga | ns2hub.com
    "Someone's sitting in the shade today because someone planted a tree a long time ago."
  • internetexplorerinternetexplorer Members Join Date: 2011-10-13 Member: 127255Posts: 1,369
    edited October 2012
    QUOTE (Typhon @ Oct 18 2012, 04:04 PM) »
    Hugh and charlie mentioned some sort of secret improvement coming in 224 that they couldn't talk about for some reason. We'll have to just wait and see.


    "Removed the LUA layer and rewrote all game code in C"

    here's hoping..

    also grats techercizer, you have a computer that is massively overpowered for this game, which allows it to run acceptably
    I too could have this but I put my money into guitar equipment instead of "tools to play bad games" :)
  • TechercizerTechercizer 7th Player Members Join Date: 2011-06-11 Member: 103832Posts: 1,850
    QUOTE (Argathor @ Oct 18 2012, 05:11 PM) »
    Me too. This is strange as around b185 I was loading into games in around 1second, using my SSD. Now it takes 5+ seconds, even on a RAM Drive.

    I haven't tried loading game files into my RAM, but the loading times are a bit too long for my liking as well. I'm not sure if that's something that can be sped up further than it is, though.

            Once the infestation reaches the Command Chair, the process begins. One Gorge enters the chair to provide the necessary height. Another climbs on its shoulders to access the controls.

            A Gorge Lab is quickly established, staffed by microscopic Gorges who work tirelessly to unlock the secrets of Frontiersman Technology, stopping only to change their lab coats when they become dirtied. Once the research progresses to a certain point, the Gorgecom gives the order. Nanites are called into service.

            The armature forms. A chosen Gorge, tested many times in the field of battle, enters the machine.

            Servos whir; miniguns spin up in diagnostics; an Exogorge is born.

  • BensonBenson Members, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow Join Date: 2012-03-07 Member: 148303Posts: 1,296 Advanced user
    edited October 2012
    performance really isnt as bad as people say. I average 45-80 fps and my rig is about 4 years old (apart from my gtx 560)

    Very rarely do i have any serious gameplay issues

    I've heard a few people say that upgrading to windows 7 gave them a large boost in preformance

    Also, in other optimization threads, certain settings were given for specific types of rigs...ill see if i cant dig that up. Its a lot more helpful than assorted people going

    "this game runs like crap, your're gonna be disappointed"

    EDIT: http://www.unknownworlds.com/ns2/forums/in...howtopic=121842 steps to improve your preformance by sgtbarlow
    If we are to be damned, let us be damned for what we really are. - Capt. Jean Luc Picard
  • internetexplorerinternetexplorer Members Join Date: 2011-10-13 Member: 127255Posts: 1,369
    edited October 2012
    QUOTE (Benson @ Oct 18 2012, 06:18 PM) »
    performance really isnt as bad as people say. I average 45-80 fps and my rig is about 4 years old (apart from my gtx 560)

    Very rarely do i have any serious gameplay issues

    I've heard a few people say that upgrading to windows 7 gave them a large boost in preformance

    Also, in other optimization threads, certain settings were given for specific types of rigs...ill see if i cant dig that up. Its a lot more helpful than assorted people going

    "this game runs like crap, your're gonna be disappointed"



    on the other hand,
    • performance is as bad as people say
    • I average less than 60 fps, on a machine that is way, way beyond any reasonable specs for this game. Nobody cares about your gtx 560, and you didn't mention your screen resolution (just like every single person who says their FPS is fantastic)
    • I have serious gameplay issues every time I try to play NS2 since about..April? I used to actively post about issues in the game and play it often enough to appreciate the changes. Now it's so bad that I just can't be bothered. I log in every single patch and have to leave within 5 minutes because it's so impossibly bad. I don't log in because I want to log out.
    • "Certain settings" probably don't matter, unless it involves overclocking or replacing your CPU. The in-game settings have historically done almost nothing for people who actually know how to set up a gaming PC.
    • This game does run like crap, and people are going to be disappointed (unless they're ready to embrace mediocrity just like with every other contemporary game release)


    You know when parents tell their kids "if everyone did that, X would happen"?
    If everyone thought performance was great right now (when it isn't), you would be the only people left playing in 2 months. And you might be anyway.
  • havok?havok? Members, NS2 Map Tester Join Date: 2012-05-22 Member: 152462Posts: 95 Fully active user
    If you're getting 80 fps constant you must be playing on some ridiculously small resolution. Which makes the game blurry and the ui stupidly huge.
  • BensonBenson Members, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow Join Date: 2012-03-07 Member: 148303Posts: 1,296 Advanced user
    QUOTE (internetexplorer @ Oct 18 2012, 03:23 PM) »
    on the other hand,
    • performance is as bad as people say
    • I average less than 60 fps, on a machine that is way, way beyond any reasonable specs for this game. Nobody cares about your gtx 560, and you didn't mention your screen resolution (just like every single person who says their FPS is fantastic)
    • I have serious gameplay issues every time I try to play NS2 since about..April? I used to actively post about issues in the game and play it often enough to appreciate the changes. Now it's so bad that I just can't be bothered. I log in every single patch and have to leave within 5 minutes because it's so impossibly bad. I don't log in because I want to log out.
    • "Certain settings" probably don't matter, unless it involves overclocking or replacing your CPU. The in-game settings have historically done almost nothing for people who actually know how to set up a gaming PC.
    • This game does run like crap, and people are going to be disappointed (unless they're ready to embrace mediocrity just like with every other contemporary game release)



    I run the game in 1920X1080
    high graphic settings
    atmospherics off
    everything else on

    My cpu is a 3.15 GHz AMD phenom II (not even close to the "required" 4 - 4.5 GHz)

    I have no issues with this game becoming unplayable or laggy, unless its a server issue
    If we are to be damned, let us be damned for what we really are. - Capt. Jean Luc Picard
  • internetexplorerinternetexplorer Members Join Date: 2011-10-13 Member: 127255Posts: 1,369
    edited October 2012
    QUOTE (Benson @ Oct 18 2012, 06:28 PM) »
    I run the game in 1920X1080
    high graphic settings
    atmospherics off
    everything else on

    My cpu is a 3.15 GHz AMD phenom II (not even close to the "required" 4 - 4.5 GHz)

    I have no issues with this game becoming unplayable or laggy, unless its a server issue


    post visual proof (net_stats and r_stats, video?), and the rest of the specs of your system, and the servers you play on, playercounts

    now we're doing science!

    (the 4-4.5ghz is for servers, which is where the real performance bottleneck is going to be for this game for a very long time)

    The best part, though? Even if you do all this, it doesn't help me or anyone else having trouble with this game. I'm not going to buy a garbage phenom II on the off chance that it runs like yours because of some quirk in this game. Being the one guy out of 10 or 20 saying "it runs fine for me!" is not, in fact, useful.
  • middlemanmiddleman Members Join Date: 2005-07-18 Member: 56200Posts: 23
    The game has progressed well since its inception regarding optimization and gameplay.

    However like all great things, it will take time to see the end results we are all faithfully looking forward to. And fundamentally in essense will evolve with the community and its players as time rolls on

    I have great faith and love for Natural Selection, the Development team, and all players. This idea and work has been one of the greatest pieces of digital art and entertainment created for a Pc game.
  • Dictator93Dictator93 Members, Reinforced - Shadow Join Date: 2008-12-21 Member: 65833Posts: 657 Fully active user
    QUOTE (Argathor @ Oct 18 2012, 06:11 PM) »
    Me too. This is strange as around b185 I was loading into games in around 1second, using my SSD. Now it takes 5+ seconds, even on a RAM Drive.

    They are caching a lot more data now
  • JowJow Members Join Date: 2011-06-23 Member: 106032Posts: 81
    edited October 2012
    Client performance is poor, but getting closer to acceptable, server performance is worrying.

    Also, the fact that my graphics card (560Ti) apparently can't manage rendering at 100 FPS (I run 120Hz so this is a bit of an issue for me) on the maps in this game is a bit annoying, but that's nowhere near as big an issue as the CPU bottleneck at the moment.

    Oh and as has been mentioned, load times are by far the worst I've ever seen, BF3 is the only thing that comes close in that regard.
  • TyphonTyphon Members Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 1899Posts: 1,597
    QUOTE (Jow @ Oct 18 2012, 07:42 PM) »
    Client performance is poor, but getting closer to acceptable, server performance is worrying.

    Also, the fact that my graphics card (560Ti) apparently can't manage rendering at 100 FPS (I run 120Hz so this is a bit of an issue for me) on the maps in this game is a bit annoying, but that's nowhere near as big an issue as the CPU bottleneck at the moment.

    Oh and as has been mentioned, load times are by far the worst I've ever seen, BF3 is the only thing that comes close in that regard.

    For most players, FPS is strictly a matter of cpu speed. The limiting factor for them is not how fast their graphics card can push pixels, like in most games, but how quickly the CPU can run the interpreted LUA game code, which is much slower than compiled code. If you turn on r_stats, you can see a readout in milliseconds of how long the cpu is waiting for the gpu to do its job. For most players it will be 0, indicating the gpu is waiting on the cpu, not vice versa. Reducing resolution or getting a better graphics card will do nothing for them, its all CPU.
    Counting bodies like sheep
    To the rythm of the war drums

  • male_fatalitiesmale_fatalities ausns2.org Members, Constellation Join Date: 2004-03-06 Member: 27185Posts: 673 Fully active user
    I have a serious insane computer
    i7 3770K @ 4.5ghz
    12GB DDR3 2400MHZ ram
    Nvidia GTX 570

    6v6 I hold about 70-80 constant early-mid game. mid-late game it is constant 60
    10v10 I can hold 60 constant, except when more than 4-5 skulks/marines are in the room all shooting ect. I dip down to 40-50

    There is still a serious need for optimisation. WHy bother discussing it? The dev's aware of the issue... I think they have like 2-3 people dedicated to optimisation.
    NS1: Boost|. mf
    NS2: asc . mf-
  • rmbrown09rmbrown09 Members Join Date: 2012-10-17 Member: 162592Posts: 169
    QUOTE (male_fatalities @ Oct 18 2012, 05:45 PM) »
    I have a serious insane computer
    i7 3770K @ 4.5ghz
    12GB DDR3 2400MHZ ram
    Nvidia GTX 570

    6v6 I hold about 70-80 constant early-mid game. mid-late game it is constant 60
    10v10 I can hold 60 constant, except when more than 4-5 skulks/marines are in the room all shooting ect. I dip down to 40-50

    There is still a serious need for optimisation. WHy bother discussing it? The dev's aware of the issue... I think they have like 2-3 people dedicated to optimisation.


    I guess I'm still curious how mine will do. CPU wise I'm not worried about bottleneck as I rarely use more than 15% on almost any game. I can overclock a ways too. Are you playing at 1080p? I'm at 1440p with my 690 overclocked but I wonder how much vram this game will use. if a 570 at 1080p can do just fine then basically two 680's(690) should handle 1440p. Right?
    Specs --
    i7 4770k CPU
    H100 Liquid Cooling
    GTX 690 Overclocked
    16GB DDR3 2400MHz Ram
    256GB SSD Crucial M4
    27" 2560x1440 Catleap
    Razer BlackWidow Keyboard
    Logitech G9X Mouse
    900D Super Tower
  • Dictator93Dictator93 Members, Reinforced - Shadow Join Date: 2008-12-21 Member: 65833Posts: 657 Fully active user
    QUOTE (rmbrown09 @ Oct 18 2012, 08:52 PM) »
    I guess I'm still curious how mine will do. CPU wise I'm not worried about bottleneck as I rarely use more than 15% on almost any game. I can overclock a ways too. Are you playing at 1080p? I'm at 1440p with my 690 overclocked but I wonder how much vram this game will use. if a 570 at 1080p can do just fine then basically two 680's(690) should handle 1440p. Right?

    Yep. The game uses a lot of VRAM at 1080p+ but it really does matter for your card. The game even has texture streaming for htose who want the textures to look nice but not go over their ram budget
  • SixtyWattManSixtyWattMan Members Join Date: 2004-09-05 Member: 31404Posts: 708 Fully active user
    QUOTE (Dictator93 @ Oct 18 2012, 08:03 PM) »
    Yep. The game uses a lot of VRAM at 1080p+ but it really does matter for your card. The game even has texture streaming for htose who want the textures to look nice but not go over their ram budget

    Haven't checked lately but the game would just eventually max out all of your VRAM.
  • xen32xen32 Members, Reinforced - Supporter Join Date: 2012-10-18 Member: 162676Posts: 1,011 Advanced user
    edited October 2012
    QUOTE (Xarius @ Oct 18 2012, 12:55 PM) »
    I have an i5 2450M and I can reliably run the game on medium settings (Reliable for me is +- 40 FPS). Sure there's still some frame drops later on in the game, but I'm sure that will be sorted out eventually. You should be fine, really. Also, some maps are bigger offenders than others. (Mineshaft comes to mind)

    Well, I hope so. I don't care about the graphics, I can play on all low and 30 fps is enough for me, really :) I've see posts where people with quad cores and desktop videocards were complaning about having 20 fps in fights on low settings, but I hope it's just their problems. Like, a friend of mine has exactly the same laptop as me, be he has much lower framerates in the same games.

    BTW, are there many graphics settings? I'd love it if they had much customization options like in UT3 or Serious Sam3, so I can turnf off stuff I don't really care about. Or is there something like *.ini in Unreal engine games, where you can tweak anything you like?
  • playerplayer Members Join Date: 2010-09-12 Member: 73982Posts: 1,677
    QUOTE (Obraxis @ Oct 18 2012, 09:09 PM) »
    QUOTE (player)

    It's always one more build for the real improvements isn't it...

    Saving this quote.

    I hope you'll be able to prove me wrong this time around, I really really do. See, you may have it in your head that I somehow want this game to crash and burn, but I just don't. I wouldn't have spent so much time modding it if I did, I'm not (that) masochistic. Moreover the RTS-FPS is such a niche, having this game flop would be just a huge blow for all parties concerned, noone wants that. And I have all the respect in the world for the devs working on performance-improvs, as trying to put out good performance with runtime interpreted scripts is a nightmare.

    I know the performance-issues are known since forever (has been an ongoing issue since the first alpha-build), and I wasn't going to mention it anymore really, but I couldn't help taking the "next build everything will be hunkydory"-bait you keep throwing into the pond. Again, I hope this build really will be it this time (I know Max was working on some kind of Lua-VM rewrite, maybe that is still in the pipeline). I guess I have to add that by improvements I mean that which is needed to get NS2 to run on 3-3.5GHz servers proper, so something around a factor 2-3x speedup (which is why I so callously disregarded the %-progress made in previous builds, it's a ripple in the pond).
    Ugly_Jim
  • CicoCico Members, Reinforced - Supporter Join Date: 2005-01-07 Member: 33169Posts: 90 Fully active user
    If you want shorter loading times, try to turn on the texture stream option
    www.natural-selection.it
  • CamronCamron Members Join Date: 2011-01-06 Member: 76356Posts: 305 Fully active user
    QUOTE (player @ Oct 19 2012, 02:33 AM) »
    know Max was working on some kind of Lua-VM rewrite, maybe that is still in the pipeline

    https://github.com/maxmcguire/rocket
  • statikgstatikg Members Join Date: 2012-09-19 Member: 159978Posts: 427 Fully active user
    QUOTE (Xarius @ Oct 18 2012, 12:55 PM) »
    I have an i5 2450M and I can reliably run the game on medium settings (Reliable for me is +- 40 FPS). Sure there's still some frame drops later on in the game, but I'm sure that will be sorted out eventually. You should be fine, really. Also, some maps are bigger offenders than others. (Mineshaft comes to mind)


    This is effectively my experience as well with my AMD 4170 (radeon 7770 can handle it no problem). I run on medium with a medium resolution. I typically only experience frame rate drops since the most recent patch in games with 22+ players and alot of alien buildings/exos/grenades going on.
  • JektJekt Members, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow Join Date: 2012-02-05 Member: 143714Posts: 1,543 Advanced user
    edited October 2012
    Server performance is a greater concern to me, especially here in Australia. Where the entire community is supported by 3 high quality server instances. Come release, people will be playing on inferior servers (if there's any even available) with lesser capable hardware.
  • AlexiiAlexii Members Join Date: 2012-10-18 Member: 162651Posts: 10
    If anyone here is unable to play beta ATM due to hardware issues - let me know , ill gladly buy ur game even though i already have the pre purchase done on steam. I just wanna play now =) Not October 31... For reasons unknown to me this game leaves me so impatient =)))) Thats is unless that breaks some TOS rules on resale. Then ill have to wait...
  • PoNeHPoNeH Members, NS2 Playtester, NS2 Map Tester Join Date: 2006-12-01 Member: 58801Posts: 184 Advanced user
    edited October 2012
    Anyone claiming performance is not bad in this game is merely trolling. BF3 runs at everything ULTRA on the same resolution on my machine and I never go below 70 FPS on it. With NS2, I consistently drop to 15-20 FPS under heavy traffic zones. And I disabled VSYNC, Occlusions, Atmospherics, and Streaming.
Sign In or Register to comment.