Are there any effective counters against fades?

Matthew94Matthew94 Join Date: 2011-08-06 Member: 114690Members
I'm only new to the game but the fade seems to be very difficult to kill without a squad of marines, a few of which always die due to being attacked right after they blink.

Is there any good counters against it or is it just a case of "I suck, get better"?

Comments

• TrCTrC Join Date: 2008-11-30 Member: 65612Members
    You wont kill a good fade alone, counting on that fade is bad is also pathetic.

Ie. Best way is to find teammate/s and make sure you are always on covering range and that your moving order is correct! (Flamers should not go first!)
  • Chris0132Chris0132 Join Date: 2009-07-25 Member: 68262Members
    Not that I'm aware of, fades are worth 50 res so unless you can pack 50 res worth of stuff onto a marine (which you currently can't) there isn't any way to fight them on even terms.

I'm not too concerned balance wise until exos and jetpakcs are in, but it does make the game a little annoying at the monent I grant you.
  • AydzAydz Join Date: 2011-08-09 Member: 115217Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    Flamers prevent energy regeneration for aliens who are lit alight. While the fade can still do short jumps in and out of invis, his movement is severely hindered.

Basically, set him alight and jump around/dodge attacks. Eventually he'll run out of energy and he's useless.
  • AsranielAsraniel Join Date: 2002-06-03 Member: 724Members, Playtest Lead, Forum Moderators, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow, Subnautica Playtester, Retired Community Developer
    as other said, fades cost a lot. So don't expect to take one down alone.