The Spark Engine

HughHugh CameramanSan Francisco, CA Join Date: 2010-04-18 Member: 71444NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Onos, WC 2013 - Shadow, Subnautica Developer, Pistachionauts
<div class="IPBDescription">What makes it tick?</div>Hi everyone!

In the future, I want to do a video that informs people about the technical aspects of the Spark engine. The problem is I'm no expert on engines or programming in general! Right now the only thing I think I know is that it (quite uniquely?) only uses dynamic lighting.

So I was hoping that you, yes you reading this post, could tell me what you've heard/what you know about Spark in its current build.

What makes it different to other engines, like Source, UT3, Frostbite, the original goldsource, etc etc?

What are some unique aspects of it? Common aspects? Quirks?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Comments

• DelphicDelphic Join Date: 2006-11-02 Member: 58262Members
    No pre-computation, changes to assets visible on the fly, just save the file (make sure the builder is running) tab back to the game and it's changed! This is awesome for iterative development. That's what makes the engine exciting for me!
  • ObraxisObraxis Subnautica Animator & Generalist, NS2 Person Join Date: 2004-07-24 Member: 30071Super Administrators, Forum Admins, NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Silver, WC 2013 - Supporter, Subnautica Developer, Pistachionauts
    Common aspects:

Normal Mapping
    Occlusion Culling
    Post-Processing

Some engines that are 'next gen' still do not have Dynamic Lighting and have to have their maps pre-compiled for lighting info.

Engine currently lacks (as of build 151):

Motion Blur
    Anti-Aliasing
    Stereoscopic Mode (3D Vision)
    Proper Multi-GPU support.
  • w0dk4w0dk4 Join Date: 2008-04-22 Member: 64129Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow
    edited October 2010