Newbie Hlds/ns Linux Server Guide

VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Members, NS1 Playtester Posts: 874
edited January 2004 in Linux Server Support
I have a site for my NS Server setup Guides now; I cover Steam servers for NS 2.0 and 3.0, 3.1.1.1d and 3.1.1.0c with Boffix server setups. You can check out the guides on my site:

http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides



Post edited by Unknown User on
[NAPT]Vadakill

NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
«134

Comments

  • GoleXGoleX Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7681Members Posts: 252
    Nice work Vadakill! This should answer alot of the newbie questions.

    Bump and vote for pinning.
    -GoleX

    Twilight Eclipse Uber NS Beta 2.01 RC2 - CD opt
    207.44.184.62:27015
    Website: http://www.twilight-eclipse.com
    Stats: http://www.twilight-eclipse.com/stats/
    IRC: irc.gamesnet.net #twilighteclipse
  • HukkaHukka Join Date: 2002-11-05 Member: 6989Members Posts: 106
    QUOTE (GoleX @ Nov 11 2002, 02:23 AM)
    Nice work Vadakill! This should answer alot of the newbie questions.

    Bump and vote for pinning.

    I have crazy question.. what if we using two pingbooster system on same time? What would be happen then? smile.gif
  • GoleXGoleX Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7681Members Posts: 252
    Pingbooster never helped for me =/
    -GoleX

    Twilight Eclipse Uber NS Beta 2.01 RC2 - CD opt
    207.44.184.62:27015
    Website: http://www.twilight-eclipse.com
    Stats: http://www.twilight-eclipse.com/stats/
    IRC: irc.gamesnet.net #twilighteclipse
  • HukkaHukka Join Date: 2002-11-05 Member: 6989Members Posts: 106
    QUOTE (GoleX @ Nov 11 2002, 02:35 AM)
    Pingbooster never helped for me =/

    Use only hlfs own pingboost (set 3) will help you.
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Members, NS1 Playtester Posts: 874
    edited May 2004
    Please check the site in my sig for the latest up to date guides involving setting up Metamod and AdminMod.
    Post edited by Unknown User on
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • PhalckPhalck Join Date: 2002-06-03 Member: 722Members Posts: 36
    edited November 2002
    EDITED 13th Nov 2002: See end of post for additions

    To add Clanmod to your NS-server is almost as easy as adding adminmod. There are a few things you can do to the configuration files to prevent your admins to try things that are not relevant for NS.

    Until VadaKill writes an installation guide for ClanMod I can share the changes that I have made to the configuration files.

    Download the generic (not mod specific configs) ClanMod files from www.unitedadmins.com. Also download the NS specific configuration files for ClanMod. You find them in the NS forum on www.unitedadmins.com. Yes! They also have a NS forum! The only real change from the generic configs that I could see at a glance was that the cm_maps.cfg held the correct rows to enable menubased mapchanges.

    I will not tell you how to install ClanMod but its pretty straight forward. Here are my changes to the configuration files:

    The clanmod.cfg file
    CODE

    //

    // ClanMod 1.80.x Natural selection Config Pack v1.80.01 (Oct 1, 2002)
    // Visit www.unitedadmins.com for all your ClanMod needs
    // Please read the manual carefully before altering this config!
    //


    //

    // Clears out all commands in ClanMod for fresh start each time config loads
    //

    cm_remove * *

    //

    // Writes into HL Logs
    //

    cm_log "Executing ClanMod configuration file (&cm_configpath&/clanmod.cfg)"

    //

    // ClanMod 1.8 Menu Layout
    //

    cm_menulayout "ABCD1EQ1HLM1J:ING1FOPR1TU"

    //

    // Separate Config Files to Execute
    //

    cm_exec titles.cfg
    cm_exec cm_admins.cfg
    cm_exec cm_menus.cfg
    cm_exec cm_maps.cfg
    cm_exec cm_badwords.cfg
    cm_exec cm_aliases.cfg
    cm_exec cm_cvars.cfg

    //

    // Clanmod Addons, Put a comment in front to remove the addon.
    //


    // Extend map vote
    // I dont want to extend maps in NS, the games are long anyways
    //cm_exec addons/addon_mapextend.cfg
    //cm_addonmapextend 1    // 0 = Disabled, 1 = Enabled

    //

    // ClanMod Cvars
    // Please read the manual before changing these
    //

    cm_info www.gobz.nu  //What shows up on the info line when viewing the server with a game browser
    cm_passwordfield "_cm_pw"  //This is the default Password Field
    cm_loadconfig 0    //0 - Load Config files once, 1 - Load Config files every map change
    cm_reservation 1   //The type of reservation system to use. See the manual for details
    cm_freeslots 3   // 4 reserved slots for admins (It should be set to 3!).
    //cm_times "tv +600 180 120 60 <10" //When the server should publicly announce the timeleft
    cm_times ""                                             //Do not announce time left on NS
    cm_highlander 0    //Toggle Highlander Mode. 0 - Off, 1 - On See the manual for details
    cm_teleport 1    //Toggle Teleport 0 - Off, 1 - On See the manual for details
    cm_record 2    //Toggle Record Demo and take Snapshots. 0 - Off, 1 - On, 2 - On w/Log
    cm_slap 1    //Toggle Slap players. 0 - Off, 1 - On
    cm_clientcmd 1    //Toggle execute commands on clients. 0 - Off, 1 - On See the manual for details
    cm_banlist 1    //See the manual for details
    cm_chatfilter 1    //Replacement for Bad Words. See the manual for details
    cm_msgtime 10    //How many seconds admin messages should display on screen
    cm_motdtime 8    //How many minutes in between MOTD messages
    cm_msgpos 2    //Location of admin command messages 0 - Off, 1 - Top, 2 - Bottom
    cm_chatspeed 0.5   //How many seconds between player chat (Flood protection)
    cm_kickvoteratio 0.60   //Percent of votes needed to kick a player
    cm_mapvoteratio 0.50   //Percent of votes needed to change the map
    cm_customvoteratio 0.60   //Percent of votes needed for a custom vote to be successful
    cm_autoban 0    //NS - SET TO 0. How many TK's on a map before the server bans a player
    cm_autoban_period 15   //How long, in minutes, to ban a TK'er
    cm_cancelvotekey 9    // Determins what button is used to cancel a custum vote

    //

    // Automated colored messages (MOTD)
    //

    // One line commented since I dont like to much spamming.
    cm_motd ".:[ www.gobz.nu ]:." 200100000 5.00
    //cm_motd ".:[ This Server Is Running ClanMod &clanmod_version& ]:." 255255000 5.00

    //

    // Automatically announce the next map 1 second prior to map change
    //

    // REMOVED
    @ The nextmap will be &cm_nextmap&" bfuos "Shows the nextmap before a map change"


    The cm_menu file:
    CODE

    //

    // Commands for Custom Command Menu's
    //


    cm_cmd "Pause" "cm_pause" Sas
    cm_cmd "Restart Round" "sv_restartround 1" Sas
    cm_cmd "Triple Restart Round for Match" "cm_exec matches/rrauto.cfg" Sas
    cm_cmd "Repeat Map" "cm_nextmap &cm_currentmap&" Sas
    cm_cmd "      " " " Sas
    @g Settings reloaded...;servercfgfile server.cfg;exec server.cfg" Scs
    cm_cmd "List Players" "cm_listplayer" JSbm
    cm_cmd "List Admins" "cm_listadmin" Obm
    cm_cmd "List Tasks" "cm_listtask" Obm
    cm_cmd "Show help" "cm_help" JSbm
    cm_cmd "Show rules" "cm_rules" JSbm
    cm_cmd "    " " " Sbm
    @g Logs are on" Sbns
    @g Logs are off" Sbhns
    cm_cmd "separator1" "separator1" Sbhs
    cm_cmd "Auto-restart is off" "cm_exec matches/auto.cfg" Sbns
    @g Auto-restartround OFF;cm_remove task ?z;cm_remove task ?y" Sbhns
    cm_cmd "Show timeleft" "say timeleft" JSbm
    cm_cmd "Show nextmap" "say nextmap" JSbm
    cm_cmd "Vote for map" "say votemap" JSbm
    cm_cmd "Show current time" "say thetime" JSbm
    cm_cmd "All votemap" "say votemap" Sdo
    cm_cmd "      " " " Sds


    //

    // Commands for speech see speech.txt for list of available sounds
    //


    cm_cmd "Hey! Stop that!" "spk 'barney/donthurtem'" Weo
    cm_cmd "Don't ask me" "spk 'barney/dontaskme'" Weo
    cm_cmd "Don't think so" "spk 'barney/dontguess'" Weo
    cm_cmd "Yup" "spk 'barney/yup'" Weo
    cm_cmd "Nope" "spk 'barney/nope'" Weo
    cm_cmd "Maybe" "spk 'barney/maybe'" Weo
    cm_cmd "Seeya" "spk 'barney/seeya'" Weo
    cm_cmd "Man that sounded bad" "spk 'barney/soundsbad'" Weo
    cm_cmd "Hello and die" "spk 'vox/hello and die'" Weo
    cm_cmd "Move!" "spk 'hgrunt/move! _comma yessir!'" Weo
    cm_cmd "You will definitely pay!" "spk 'hgrunt/c2a2_hg_chat5a'" Weo
    cm_cmd "Laughter" "spk 'hgrunt/c2a3_hg_laugh'" Weo
    cm_cmd "Silence!" "spk 'hgrunt/silence!'" Weo
    cm_cmd "You talk too much" "spk 'barney/youtalkmuch'" Weo
    cm_cmd "You thinkin?" "spk 'barney/thinking'" Weo
    cm_cmd "Open fire Gordon!" "spk 'barney/openfire'" Weo
    cm_cmd "Couldnt make a bigger mess" "spk 'barney/bigmess'" Weo
    cm_cmd "I have a Bad feeling" "spk 'barney/badfeeling'" Weo
    cm_cmd "Yes sir!" "spk 'hgrunt/yessir!'" Weo
    cm_cmd "No sir" "spk 'barney/nosir'" Weo


    //

    // Client Commands for Custom Command Menu's
    //


    cm_cmd "Aliens" "cm_clexec &name& readyroom;jointeamtwo" Efl
    cm_cmd "Marines" "cm_clexec &name& readyroom;jointeamone" Efl
    cm_cmd "Show'em the Rules!" "cm_rules;developer 1;echo '** READ THE RULES &name& **';developer 0;say 'Dont Shoot! I'm busy reading the server rules'" Efl
    cm_cmd "Ready room" "cm_clexec &name& readyroom" ESf
    cm_cmd "Bury Player" "cm_bury &name&" ESf
    cm_cmd "Un-Bury Player" "cm_unbury &name&" ESf
    cm_cmd "Gag Player" "cm_gag &name&" ESf
    cm_cmd "Un-Gag Player" "cm_ungag &name&" ESf
    cm_cmd "Mute VoiceComm" "voice_enable 0;developer 1;echo '** You have been muted for abusing VoiceComm **';developer 0;say 'I have been muted for abusing VoiceComm';spk 'hgrunt/silence!'" Efl
    cm_cmd "UnMute VoiceComm" "voice_enable 1;developer 1;echo '** You have been unmuted (restart CS to regain VoiceComm) **';developer 0;say 'I have been unmuted'" Efl
    cm_cmd "Slay" "kill;spk 'hgrunt/c2a2_hg_chat5a'" Efl
    cm_cmd "Drop Weapon!" "drop" Efl
    cm_cmd "Name Me Lamer" "name 'I am a Lamer, wonid:&wonid&'" Efl
    cm_cmd "Name Me Camper" "name 'I am a Camper, wonid:&wonid&'" Efl


    As you can see I have stripped much of the menu alternatives. The stuff removed were weapon restrictions ala CS and the setting of CB and such configurations. The three restarts and go is still here though, as is the load PUBLIC Settings alternative. I just renamed it to Reload Settings. I left the repeat map alternative here since it might just come in handy.

    I have also addded the Ready Room alternative to the client command menu and renamed the CT and T alternatives to Marines and Aliens respectively.

    EDIT
    I have now changed the Aliens and Marines commands from CS style to NS style. I have'nt checked them out yet. Hope they work =]

    I also removed some stuff from the conmotd.txt file. These will not affect gamplay in any way, but I show it here for completeness.

    conmotd.txt:
    CODE

    "============================================================================="
    ""
    "  Hello &name&, and Welcome to &hostname& server!"
    "  The current map is &cm_currentmap& with &cm_timeleft& minutes left"
    "  The next map will be &cm_nextmap&"
    ""
    "============================================================================="
    ""
    "  This server is running NS v1.01, AdminMod and ClanMod &clanmod_version&"
    "  You may use/say the following commands:"
    "  1. 'menu' Which will open the information menu."
    "  2. 'votemap' Which will bring up the map vote menu."
    "  3. 'myid' Which announces your personal info."
    ""
    "============================================================================="


    Thats it really!

    IMPORTANT
    You need to bind the keys 1-0 to slot1-slot10 for the menus to work!!!
    Add this to your config.cfg (client-side)
    CODE

    bind 1 "slot1"
    bind 2 "slot2"
    bind 3 "slot3"
    bind 4 "slot4"
    bind 5 "slot5"
    bind 6 "slot6"
    bind 7 "slot7"
    bind 8 "slot8"
    bind 9 "slot9"
    bind 0 "slot10"


    Happy hunting!

    EDIT: Things that won't work in NS
    I will begin to start a list of things that do not work in ClanMod for NS. The idea is that I will add stuff to this list by editing this post. That way this stuff is easy to find. My intetion is not to create a complete list of stuff that doesnt work. I will add the things that I come across during causal NS play. I will try to create a quite comprehensive list though. Check back on this post once in a while.

    Legend: [CM] Means feature in ClanMod. [ADMIN] Means feature in AdminMod


    • [ADMIN] admin_csay do not work. Probably due to the way NS displays text on screen
    • [CM] cy and all other clanmod commands for centertext do not work. Related to issue above.

    Post edited by Unknown User on
    image
  • EvilGrinEvilGrin Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6851Members Posts: 162
    edited November 2002
    Debian package installs

    You’ll need to download the package and install it using the apt-get command. You will have to be logged in as ROOT in order to install them. Use the following commands for lynx and unzip packages.

    CODE

    apt-get lynx
    apt-get unzip


    Once both are installed you should be able to type “lynx” and “unzip” at the command prompt to get either a lynx web browser (Q to quit) and a short help on the usage of unzip.
    Trickery - Gaming Communities in Exile.
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Members, NS1 Playtester Posts: 874
    Woot!, nice guys. Let's keep the info flowing and make this the official thread for installs and configurations!
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • EKSEKS Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2790Members Posts: 57
  • BrutusBrutus Join Date: 2002-10-20 Member: 1555Members Posts: 441
    Couple of suggestions.

    1.) You don't need to add +server.cfg on the command line. It is executed auto.

    2.) add exec autoexec.cfg to the server.cfg file. In the autoexec.cfg file put maxplayers X (x being number of players you want your server to have.) If you do this then leave the +maxplayers line off the command line also. I find it easier to do this way, because you can change maxplayers whenever you want and it will change on map change.
  • BrutusBrutus Join Date: 2002-10-20 Member: 1555Members Posts: 441
    Adminmod is working on my server, and the user.ini file is correct and I am doing setinfo correctly, but for some reason it is now allowing me to do commands.
  • PhalckPhalck Join Date: 2002-06-03 Member: 722Members Posts: 36
    edited November 2002
    Then the most probable problem is that something went wrong in the authentication process.

    Check the following:
    • That the password field in adminmod.cfg is the same as the setinfo line in autoexec.cfg
    • Try enclosing the value assigned to the password field paramters with "-signs
    • The passwords are the same in the user.ini and the autoexec.cfg file
    • Join your server. In the console type disconnect. Type exec autoexec.cfg. Type retry. (Just to make sure the file is executed)
    • Try with no encryption on the passwords. Check the adminmod paramater for this in adminmod.cfg
    • Check the server-console (e.g. print-out in the screen application) for lines that say that adminmod is running correctly, that the users.ini file has been loaded etc
    • Checkt that there is a line in the console at login that says that you have become admin
    • Make sure that the commands you try work with NS. admin_say and admin_map will work
    • Make sure that you have the appropriate access level to execute the command, assign yourself the highest level of access for debugging purposes
    image
  • SuperflySuperfly Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3485Members, Constellation Posts: 245 Advanced user
    One quick comment on the use of Lynx..

    try "wget" sometime. It is much nicer than lynx IMHO.

    Syntax: "wget http://www.file.com/thisfile.tar" <-- this will find the file and download it.. It will work with FTP files as well.
  • BrutusBrutus Join Date: 2002-10-20 Member: 1555Members Posts: 441
    I found where I went wrong. When I made the users file I named it user.ini instead of users.ini.
  • BitchSL4PBitchSL4P Join Date: 2002-08-04 Member: 1062Members, NS1 Playtester Posts: 345
    Let me add to this another problem we've been seeing a lot of.

    If you get the "LoadLibrary failed on ***/hlds_l/ns/dlls/ns_i386.so: libstdc++-libc6.1-1.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory" error, look for a file named libstdc++-libc6.1-2.so.3 in your lib directory. If you find that make a symlink to it, i.e. ln -sf libstdc++-libc6.1-2.so.3 libstdc++-libc6.1-1.so.2.

    -Slappy
  • ZildjianZildjian Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8688Members Posts: 2
    Great newbie guide to setting up the server, I only have one question. I don't want to run an internet server, I want to run a LAN only server, for my college. What options to I need to pass when I start it up so that it will only show up on the lan, and users joining won't have to authenticate with WON (slows things down)?
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Members, NS1 Playtester Posts: 874
    edited November 2002
    You would set "sv_lan 1" in your server.cfg file or "+sv_lan1" to command line, also you will need to add "-nomaster" to your command line. I've also heard that you may have to "setmaster none" in your autoexec.cfg file for the server.
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • ZildjianZildjian Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8688Members Posts: 2
    yeah, I got that fixed with the +sv_lan 1 and -nomaster. My problem now is that my server doesn't show up on the lan listings. You can go to the internet listings and specifically add my ip, but you can't see it in the lan listings. This may very well be something in the way that the campus lan is set up, but does anyone have any other suggestions?
  • SuicideDogSuicideDog Join Date: 2002-11-10 Member: 8104Members Posts: 407 Fully active user
    when you use the -nomaster switch it will prevent it from showing up in the lan listings.. I don't think there is a way to prevent it. I may be wrong though
    Sig image removed. Sig images must be no more than 400x75 pixels and 22kb in size. No exceptions.
  • MarlboroMarlboro Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2585Members Posts: 6
    In order for a LAN server to be automatically seen by clients on the LAN: You must not use +ip or -ip or +port or -port in your start line. Don't ask me why, I just know it doesn't work. The server has to be run on port 27015, or the clients will never see it. Yay, eh?
  • WinkieWinkie Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 4034Members Posts: 64
    QUOTE (Zildjian @ Nov 15 2002, 07:14 PM)
    yeah, I got that fixed with the +sv_lan 1 and -nomaster. My problem now is that my server doesn't show up on the lan listings. You can go to the internet listings and specifically add my ip, but you can't see it in the lan listings. This may very well be something in the way that the campus lan is set up, but does anyone have any other suggestions?

    Are you running in seperate broadcast domains? if you are that's probably why.
  • SkWyReLSkWyReL Join Date: 2002-11-19 Member: 9360Members Posts: 48
    Hey,
    Im getting this crazy error. Tell me what ive done wrong.

    ./hlds_run: ./hlds: cannot execute binary file

    I followed the directions exactly. Im running yellow dog linux on an iMac, that there may be the problem, but if you think you know what it is, reply.

    Thanx
    SkWyReL
    user posted image
  • EvilGrinEvilGrin Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6851Members Posts: 162
    hlds_l is for x86 only. Its not going to work on a Mac.
    Trickery - Gaming Communities in Exile.
  • RogueKiwiRogueKiwi Join Date: 2002-11-21 Member: 9583Members Posts: 2
    Help<

    I have 1 little problem so far! all went as it was supposed to as instructions,
    anyway!went to run it [ ./hlds_run ] it don,t like! What's wrong here?Oh wise one,kissing foot!are we missing a run file here!
    I loaded and did all the right things! running MANDRAKE 8.1 on an old Athlon 700meg Slot A

    Cheers Dennis asrifle.gif
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Members, NS1 Playtester Posts: 874
    QUOTE (RogueKiwi @ Nov 22 2002, 03:46 AM)
    Help<

    I have 1 little problem so far! all went as it was supposed to as instructions,
    anyway!went to run it [ ./hlds_run ] it don,t like! What's wrong here?Oh wise one,kissing foot!are we missing a run file here!
    I loaded and did all the right things! running MANDRAKE 8.1 on an old Athlon 700meg Slot A

    Cheers Dennis asrifle.gif

    Make sure you are in the hlds_l directory when you try to run the server. Basically, you should be able to see the hlds_run file when you do an "ls -l" in the hlds_l directory.
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • RogueKiwiRogueKiwi Join Date: 2002-11-21 Member: 9583Members Posts: 2
    biggrin.gif Tis good! one save my day! BUT!Oh Great one,kissing foot(Blath!!)
    I still have a problem,Where as the item ./hlds_run not work'th machine don,t like it,it say no file exists! Tis the same if I use ls-l no such file! I thought the full bin file came out as a tar file with which you zap and move to Directory with all it,s goodies NOT a binary one!??

    ...note:
    In directory hlds_l is File ds_l_3110_full.bin This was dumped in there by the hlds_l_3110_full.bin after running it,and NS directory with all the rest plus the 1.2 patch NO other files!Me being rank beginner is stuckith
    fix please so me can beat'th my Son over head in gaming!(fat chance)Grin)

    Cheers Dennis
    asrifle.gifskulk.gif
  • SkWyReLSkWyReL Join Date: 2002-11-19 Member: 9360Members Posts: 48
    QUOTE
    hlds_l is for x86 only. Its not going to work on a Mac.


    Could i be or feel much stupider. This is one of those moments where you fall out of your chair screaming DUH!

    Thanks...
    SkWyReL
    user posted image
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Members, NS1 Playtester Posts: 874
    QUOTE (RogueKiwi @ Nov 22 2002, 08:42 PM)
    biggrin.gif Tis good! one save my day! BUT!Oh Great one,kissing foot(Blath!!)
    I still have a problem,Where as the item ./hlds_run not work'th machine don,t like it,it say no file exists! Tis the same if I use ls-l no such file! I thought the full bin file came out as a tar file with which you zap and move to Directory with all it,s goodies NOT a binary one!??

    ...note:
    In directory hlds_l is File ds_l_3110_full.bin This was dumped in there by the hlds_l_3110_full.bin after running it,and NS directory with all the rest plus the 1.2 patch NO other files!Me being rank beginner is stuckith
    fix please so me can beat'th my Son over head in gaming!(fat chance)Grin)

    Cheers Dennis
    asrifle.gifskulk.gif

    "ls -l" has a space between the "ls" and the "-l", it tells linux to list the contents of the directory in "long" format.

    If you have the "hlds_l_3110_full.bin" file you need to run it. To do that you need to "chmod 777 hlds_l_3110_full.bin" to give it permission to become an executable file then, run the file by typing "./hlds_l_3110_full.bin"

    When it executes the file it will give you a license agreement, you have to agree to it and then it will extract the .tar.gz file that you can actually expand into the server structure. From that point you should be able to follow the guide the rest of the way into "offspring beatdown."

    Vadakill
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • ChAoSChAoS Join Date: 2002-11-10 Member: 8140Members Posts: 21
    QUOTE
    hlds_l_3110_full.tar.gz (120mb)(might be a .bin file, i.e. hlds_l_3110_full.bin)
    ns_v1_linux_dedicated_server.tar.gz (85mb)
    ns_102.zip


    Do I need the ns_102.zip also for a Linux dedicated server install? Is that the patch and do I need to have find a .tar version of it or will the .exe work with Linux
    n00b alrt
    ChAoS
    Emerald Forest Gaming Servers
    Official S.T.F.U. Thread

    user posted image
  • GoleXGoleX Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7681Members Posts: 252
    QUOTE (ChAoS @ Nov 28 2002, 11:31 PM)
    QUOTE
    hlds_l_3110_full.tar.gz (120mb)(might be a .bin file, i.e. hlds_l_3110_full.bin)
    ns_v1_linux_dedicated_server.tar.gz (85mb)
    ns_102.zip


    Do I need the ns_102.zip also for a Linux dedicated server install? Is that the patch and do I need to have find a .tar version of it or will the .exe work with Linux
    n00b alrt

    Well now you need 1.03 instead of 1.02. I usually unzip the zip on my machine, make all the changes needed to the config, then take the server down for a sec, upload it all, and bring it back up.

    There is no .tar.gz version of the patches.
    -GoleX

    Twilight Eclipse Uber NS Beta 2.01 RC2 - CD opt
    207.44.184.62:27015
    Website: http://www.twilight-eclipse.com
    Stats: http://www.twilight-eclipse.com/stats/
    IRC: irc.gamesnet.net #twilighteclipse
Sign In or Register to comment.