Newbie Hlds/ns Linux Server Guide

13

Comments

  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Members, NS1 Playtester Posts: 874
    This is my Favorite. There are many like it but this one is mine.

    http://www.redphive.org/?view=redphive_file_display
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • LuxLux Join Date: 2002-11-17 Member: 9078Members Posts: 771
    thanks alot

    im sure ill be back once i actualy try and install it biggrin.gif

    pudgy.gif<---tiny.gif i love these icons smile.gif
    Lux
    Founder of Z33K Gaming League and #findnsscrim. Team eR starter. Former CAL-NS & MLO-NS officer.
  • USSDarksideUSSDarkside Join Date: 2003-01-28 Member: 12880Members Posts: 2
    I´m running Suse Linux : and I have one problem:

    usa:/home/uss/hlds_l # ./hlds_run -game ns +exec server.cfg -port 27016 +maxplayers 12 +map ns_eclipse
    Auto-restarting the server on crash
    Host_Init
    Added packfile /home/uss/hlds_l/valve/pak0.pak (985 files)
    Protocol version 46
    Exe version 3.1.1.0
    Exe build: 14:46:34 Jun 11 2002 (2056)
    WON Auth Server
    LoadLibrary failed on /home/uss/hlds_l/ns/dlls/ns_i386.so: libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
    Host_Error: Couldn't get DLL API from /home/uss/hlds_l/ns/dlls/ns_i386.so!
    FATAL ERROR (shutting down): Host_Error: Couldn't get DLL API from /home/uss/hlds_l/ns/dlls/ns_i386.so!

    Add "-debug" to the ./hlds_run command line to generate a debug.log to help with solving this problem
    Tue Jan 28 16:02:18 CET 2003: Server Died

    All required libs are installed.....

    What can I do??

    Thx
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Members, NS1 Playtester Posts: 874
    edited January 2003
    Go to the link below, you'll want one of the "compat" libraries depending on what suse install you have.

    http://at.rpmfind.net/opsys/linux/RPM/libs...6.1-1.so.2.html
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • LuxLux Join Date: 2002-11-17 Member: 9078Members Posts: 771
    Vadakill there is no link for

    hlds_l_3110_full.tar.gz

    on http://www.redphive.org/?view=redphive_file_display

    the ONLY ns linux files there are:
    ns_v1_linux_dedicated_server.tar.gz
    ns-v101.zip
    ns-v102.zip
    ns-v103.zip
    ns-v104.zip

    In the first post it says i need 3 files. please help me!

    Lux
    Lux
    Founder of Z33K Gaming League and #findnsscrim. Team eR starter. Former CAL-NS & MLO-NS officer.
  • LuxLux Join Date: 2002-11-17 Member: 9078Members Posts: 771
    do i even need this file if I have it running a cs server allready?
    Lux
    Founder of Z33K Gaming League and #findnsscrim. Team eR starter. Former CAL-NS & MLO-NS officer.
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Members, NS1 Playtester Posts: 874
    edited January 2003
    It's there labled "Linux Half Life 3.1.1.0 Server - Full" on the redphive.org site.

    Here's the DIRECT link: http://files.redphive.org/hlds_l_3110_full.bin

    I did mention this in the guide:
    QUOTE

    hlds_l_3110_full.tar.gz (120mb)(might be a .bin file, i.e. hlds_l_3110_full.bin)
    ns_v1_linux_dedicated_server.tar.gz (85mb)
    ns_104.zip


    When you click the link it will download the file "hlds_l_3110_full.bin", it's outlined in the guide on the front page what to do if you get this .bin file:

    QUOTE

    If you have an hlds_l_3110_full.bin file you will need to run it first.  To do this you’ll need to change it to an executable file by:

    CODE 

    chmod 777 hlds_l_3110_full.bin

    Then you’ll need to run it by:

    CODE 

    ./hlds_l_3110_full.bin

    This should give you a license agreement screen, you’ll have to agree to it and then it will extract itself and give you “hlds_l_3110_full.tar.gz” which you can then extract with tar listed above.


    If you have a dedicated CS server already then you most likely DO NOT need the file. You would just follow the directions to extract and update the NS server to 1.04
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • LuxLux Join Date: 2002-11-17 Member: 9078Members Posts: 771
    thanks alot this guild really helps people that dont want to learn how to use linux but want to manage a server!

    Amazingly I got this installed with no trouble in about 20 min, if some one as newb at linux can install it any one can!

    Thx

    Lux
    Lux
    Founder of Z33K Gaming League and #findnsscrim. Team eR starter. Former CAL-NS & MLO-NS officer.
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Members, NS1 Playtester Posts: 874
    edited January 2003
    NP man, I tried to make my guide as easy to understand as possible. When I first started using linux it was like pulling teeth to get answers out of "Gurus". I vow never to forget how clueless *I* was when I started using Linux when I try to help newbies.

    Just don't fall into the trap so many newbies fall into. Use the search function on websites, forums and more to look for an answer to a question. Chances are, if you have a question it's been asked before! Search is your friend! If you can't find it the first time try rephrasing your question or use shorter keywords. For Example a common problem people see is with "libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3", searching for this will turn up nothing but searching for "libstd" will turn up results!
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • LuxLux Join Date: 2002-11-17 Member: 9078Members Posts: 771
    i think the most useful thing when using linux remotely is the use of vi command. the only command I really know which is really powerful. if I had had a vi guide eyrly on it would have saved me DAYS of work!

    so if ur new to linux servers learn vi it is good tool smile.gif
    Lux
    Founder of Z33K Gaming League and #findnsscrim. Team eR starter. Former CAL-NS & MLO-NS officer.
  • NupiNupi Join Date: 2002-12-16 Member: 10898Members Posts: 208
    edited January 2003
    This is rather advanced tip but well worth it;

    If you have Pentium processor and motherboard with APIC mode support. If you dont turn it off your server is limited to 64.0 fps, odd bug.

    I just installed my OS again, because i remembered that i turned 'APIC mode On' last time i installed and i only got 64.0 fps .Now my server is giving me 100.0 fps without HL pingbooster (that program would make choke for clients anyway).

    'APIC Mode: ON' -> dedicated server fps 64.0
    'APIC Mode: OFF' -> dedicated server fps 100.0

    You find this from BIOS settings, newer bioses should have an option to turn it off/on. I cant confirm that will this happen with AMD processor & APIC mode on..
    In-game: Angster
  • LegendOfTheBaggyPantsLegendOfTheBaggyPants Join Date: 2003-02-14 Member: 13541Members Posts: 4
    edited February 2003
    Well,
    Apparently I'm a retard:
    I keep getting these crazy eval.c violations etc. etc. when I try and join my server, which was running ns dedicated-ly without error, i installed adminmod, i'm almost positive correctly, and have rinsed and repeat and still get these crazy segmentation faults.
    Any Ideas?
    -B
    Legend Of The Baggy Pants

    Edit: Well, i managed to eliminate the eval.c violations, but I'm still getting crazy Segmentation Faults originating in line 83 of hlds_run, which is just the ending of an if_then loop in a useless script. I'm going to see if i can get the normal hlds to run standalone.
    Yet another edit: I've narrowed it down to someone joining the server as the trigger, once the openslots changes, the whole thing goes kaput and the server terminates.
    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Members, NS1 Playtester Posts: 874
    If you are running RedHat 7.X or 8.X you need to get a special compiled version of adminmod. At the top of the server op forum there is a sticky thread dealing with this problem.
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • XzilenXzilen Join Date: 2002-12-30 Member: 11642Members, Constellation Posts: 2,253
    edited June 2003
    Thank you, this helps greatly, especially when I'm trying to find a way to start my own server to steal the old regulars away from Vada :-p
    Post edited by Unknown User on
    Alice in Chains.... The best band ever.

    Come check out my server, great pings, 18 players allowed, some custom maps (good ones) and the option to admin_vote_map and admin_vote_kick IP: 67.39.161.11:27017
  • Mad_ManMad_Man Join Date: 2003-06-13 Member: 17359Members, Constellation Posts: 436
    Ok well I have a strange problem that iv deducted down to NS. Im running a 20 person server with AMX and its runs fine and almost no lag when its full, but when its time for the map to change it crashes. Iv tryed logs but nothing shows up, i have CS,HL,Sven Co-Op servers up aswell instaled from the same hlds_l file. The map changes fine when an admin change it but when the server changes it from the map cycle or the map voting at the end of the map time. Iv asked many people but none have even encountered a problem like this. Iv reinstaled the hole dir 4 time with 1 time new ns 1.04 file and same hlds_l file, one with new 1.04 and new hlds_l file, one with same 1.04 file and new hlds_l file, then a second time with a new source for new 1.04 file and same orginal hlds_l file. Any and all help would be apreciated becouse the players are getting sick of 24/7 siege006 with the ocisional map change from an admin.
    WARNING: My spelling is atrocious
    user posted image
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Members, NS1 Playtester Posts: 874
    Mad Max,

    What distro are you using? What happens if you don't use AMX?

    If the server core dumps then you won't see anything in the log files, it will only leave a core file in your hlds_l directory.
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • Mad_ManMad_Man Join Date: 2003-06-13 Member: 17359Members, Constellation Posts: 436
    Yes the server crashes when theres nothing on it still. The files on it now are form http://www.redphive.org/?view=redphive_file_display The other sets are from file planet that I tried
    WARNING: My spelling is atrocious
    user posted image
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Members, NS1 Playtester Posts: 874
    Distro?
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • Mad_ManMad_Man Join Date: 2003-06-13 Member: 17359Members, Constellation Posts: 436
    eh?
    WARNING: My spelling is atrocious
    user posted image
  • parkanparkan Join Date: 2002-11-17 Member: 9128Members Posts: 133
    Some nitpicks about the first guide:

    -vi syntax:
    (Granted that you're using vim rather than elvis)
    u in command mode should be used for undo, not :u
    :wq should be used to write, not Shift-ZZ

    -tar/unzip
    No need to copy the files, -d can be used to specify the output directory in most versions

    -lynx
    It's faster to get files with wget than to paste the url into lynx. Plus, it's closer to unix philosophy tounge.gif

    QUOTE (coil @ Feb 11 2003, 10:37 PM)
    That said, marines are already overpowered


    Playing as Zao on the TacticalGamer server.
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Members, NS1 Playtester Posts: 874
    Guide updated for NS 2.0 and HLDS 3.1.1.1d
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • SharmSharm Join Date: 2003-02-28 Member: 14127Members Posts: 10
    edited August 2003
    Vadakill:

    CODE

    #!/bin/sh

    if [ $( ps -aux | grep -v grep | grep -c "./hlds -game ns") = 0 ];

    then

    cd /home/nshlds/
    ./ns

    fi

    I had to disable this cause the script is not detecting that ns is loaded when using hlds 3.1.1.1d (latest security patch) with ns 2.0 adminmod v2.50.56 and Metamod v1.16.1

    I do notice that hlds is now called hlds_i686

    ps shows this:
    11307 pts/3 00:00:00 hlds_run
    11316 pts/3 00:00:06 hlds_i686

    Does something need changing here?
  • verboseverbose Join Date: 2002-11-25 Member: 9968Members, Constellation Posts: 681
    Yes, change the ps + grep line to check for the optimized hlds that your server is running:

    if [ $( ps -aux | grep -v grep | grep -c "hlds_i686 -game ns") = 0 ];
    Pigeons. Pigeons...are good too. Sometimes, they come with notes attached. It's like a fortune cookie with wings. Squirrels!
  • SharmSharm Join Date: 2003-02-28 Member: 14127Members Posts: 10
    edited August 2003
    I did try that,
    oks, I have this exactly

    ps -u il
    PID TTY TIME CMD
    11305 ? 00:00:01 screen
    11307 pts/3 00:00:00 hlds_run
    11316 pts/3 07:13:43 hlds_i686
    11715 pts/30 00:00:00 bash
    12618 pts/30 00:00:00 ps

    $ cat ns
    #!/bin/sh
    cd /home/il/hlds_l
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/home/il/hlds_l:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
    screen -A -m -d -S ns ./hlds_run -game ns +ip xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    $ cat restarthlds.sh
    #!/bin/sh

    if [ $( ps -aux | grep -v grep | grep -c "hlds_i686 -game ns") = 0 ];

    then

    cd /home/il/
    ./ns

    fi

    When I ./restarthlds.sh ( and the server is running ) it still starts another server :/

    ps -u il
    PID TTY TIME CMD
    11305 ? 00:00:01 screen
    11307 pts/3 00:00:00 hlds_run
    11316 pts/3 07:13:45 hlds_i686
    11715 pts/30 00:00:00 bash
    13666 ? 00:00:00 screen
    13667 pts/31 00:00:00 hlds_run
    13897 pts/31 00:00:01 hlds_i686
    13898 pts/30 00:00:00 ps

    What do I need to change?
  • FamelHautFamelHaut Join Date: 2003-10-12 Member: 21646Members Posts: 1
    i'm running a dedicated server of 50 slots in a Linux server Dual AMD Athlon MP 2800 with 3 GB DDR.

    The server works fine, but i cant find the 2.01 RC version, can anyone tell me where i can find it ?
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Members, NS1 Playtester Posts: 874
  • DSC-MutterDSC-Mutter Join Date: 2003-07-02 Member: 17883Members Posts: 15
    edited October 2003
    Hey guys 2 days ago I had never used cs... But I used http://jap.servicez.org/steam/install.html & http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides/ to get my CS and NS servers online.

    I'm still testing/configing AMX Mod for NS/CS on my school's network... I'll post the IPs once I get them online.

    The system is a Dual 2.4gig Xeon 533fsb... so the server should be "total money"

    Thanks Vandakill & Jap!

    Here is what you made possible vandakill:
    www.darkspireclan.net/msg/files/both.jpg
    www.darkspireclan.net/msg/files/ns.jpg

    Thanks! :-D
    -Rick
  • MTLNitrogenMTLNitrogen Join Date: 2003-10-28 Member: 22058Members Posts: 1
    I was following the guide posted here in the forums and came upon what I think is a typo?

    The guide the in forums says to "chmod 777" vs the one posted on http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides/ns20-3110.shtml which states to "chmod 755" the hlds_l_XXXX_full.bin file.

    Am I right or is there a difference for each file 3111 or 3110?

    confused.gif
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Members, NS1 Playtester Posts: 874
    It's a typo. It wouldn't matter if you chmodded 777 or 755 in regards to finishing the server setup, it would work either way.
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • instantinstant Join Date: 2003-06-19 Member: 17500Members Posts: 27
    Firstly, excellent guide Vadakill.

    Everything ran smoothly except for when i goto join the server i get a "Restricted to LAN Class © clients."

    I've tried noipx, sv_lan "0".
    The server is RH Enterprise 3.0 and im running 2.01 on WON. Any help?
Sign In or Register to comment.