The Fall Of Competitive Ns

CrispyCrispy Jaded GD Join Date: 2004-08-22 Member: 30793Members, Constellation
<div class="IPBDescription">a possible contribuant?</div> I know I'm going to cause a stir when I say this, so just read the whole threadstarter and any posts before you hit reach for the reply button (you might save yourself a lot of writing by quoting a likeminded poster).

<i>Firstly I'm curious as to when competitive NS was at it's highest and whether it is, as the critics say, in decline. Are there really less clans, or is it that there is a bigger discrepancy between the upper and lower band of competitive players?</i>

Reading a thread in the <i>Competitive Discussion</i> forum, I came to realise just how much a config can add to your game. Now I'm no expert, which is why I'm going to be asking a lot of questions in this thread.

So, more questions:
<i>Of the .cfg file posted in <a href='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=94532' target='_blank'>this thread</a> which, if any, command strings would be rendered useless by blockscripts?</i>

I would be lying if I said sorry to pick on you, JB007, but you pretty much volunteered yourself for criticism. Part of being reputedly one of the best players in NS, I guess. Now there's a reason for me posting this in General Discussion and not <i>Competitive Discussion</i>, or <i>Scripting Discussion</i>, and it has to do with the following:

I've been wondering about <b>how much of a positive effect that scripting has had on the NS Competitive scene</b>. I would propose the argument that the rise of script-use has had a negative effect on clanplay. Before you flame, here are my reasons/thoughts:

<span style='color:white'>o</span> Firstly and foremost, scripting is not natural for many players. It's not common in many other games, especially not in games that lead directly to NS through their shared format, the Half-life Engine.