Help with a TI-83 program

MantridMantrid Lockpick Join Date: 2003-12-07 Member: 24109Members
I can't for the life of me figure out why this isn't working. This is a proof-of-concept program that will later be adapted to the whole alphabet, and some symbols. Its meant to take a 32 digit long number and convert it into 16 characters.

Code is as follows:

<!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->
16->B
0->X
Input A
Goto A
Stop
Lbl A
If B=0
Then
Stop
Else
B-1->B
X+1->X
int(A/(100^B))->A
If A=10
Then
Output(7,X,"A"
Goto A
Else
Output(7,X,"B"
Goto A
Stop
<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->

Comments

  • XythXyth Avatar Join Date: 2003-11-04 Member: 22312Members
    I haven't made an TI-83 programs recently, but Im not sure you can use the same letter for a label as you are using for a variable, though I may just be dumb.

    Also, by "not working" what exactly doesn't it do? Does it just give the good 'ol syntax error or something else?
  • MantridMantrid Lockpick Join Date: 2003-12-07 Member: 24109Members
    Hmm, when I change the intial value of B to 15, it gets slightly closer to working.

    Anyway, what it does it, if the 32 digit number starts with 10, it'll output A, and then nothing but Bs. And when it leads with something other than 10, it outputs only Bs. Thats how it should work, sort of.

    To clarify:

    Input: 10555555555555555555555555555555
    Output: ABBBBBBBBBBBBBBB

    Now, when I input 10105555555555555555555555555555
    I should get AABBBBBBBBBBBBBB

    Or, when I input 10555555555555555555555555555510
    I should get ABBBBBBBBBBBBBBA

    But I don't. It decodes the


    Holy crap I just figured it out.
  • MantridMantrid Lockpick Join Date: 2003-12-07 Member: 24109Members
    Okay, no I didn't. I'm closer now.


    Revised code:

    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->
    15->B
    0->X
    Input A
    Goto A
    Stop
    Lbl A
    If B=-1
    Then
    Stop
    Else
    B-1->B
    X+1->X
    int(A/(100^B))->N
    A-(N*100^B)->A
    If N=10
    Then
    Output(7,X,"A"
    Goto A
    Else
    Output(7,X,"B"
    Goto A
    Stop
    <!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->

    Now, its doing what its supposed to, for a bit. It seems that after its decoded 7 characters, it stops.

    Thus,

    Input: 10101010101010555555555555555555
    Output: AAAAAAABBBBBBBBB

    But also

    Input: 10101010101010555555510555555555
    Output: AAAAAAABBBBBBBBB

    Or even

    Input: 10101010101010101010101010101010
    Output: AAAAAAABBBBBBBBB
  • SkulkBaitSkulkBait Join Date: 2003-02-11 Member: 13423Members
    I'm not certain, but I seem to recall there being a limit on numerical input with the Ti-83 having to do with significant digits. IIRC, it will only keep track of a 10 digit number before losing precision.
  • MantridMantrid Lockpick Join Date: 2003-12-07 Member: 24109Members
    God, if only they let you store things besides numbers in a list, this wouldn't be a problem...
  • scaryfacescaryface Join Date: 2002-11-25 Member: 9918Members
    edited December 2006
    [edit] nevermind >_< how do you delete a post again?
    And I spent the time typing all that into my ti-83, too.
  • DrfuzzyDrfuzzy FEW... MORE.... INCHES... Join Date: 2003-09-21 Member: 21094Members
    That code got me this

    <img src="http://www.hosting.nsagames.com/drfuzzy/pic/peniscalculator.gif" border="0" alt="IPB Image" />

    bwahaha
  • enf0rcerenf0rcer intrigued... Join Date: 2003-03-16 Member: 14584Members
    .................... hilarious.




    silly ######.
Sign In or Register to comment.