My Computer Restarts After Loading A Server

SmullinerSmulliner Join Date: 2005-05-22 Member: 52167Members Posts: 6 Fully active user
When i get a server loading and its almost done, my computer restarts itself. Im kinda mad cause it has worked in the past.

Comments

  • BlueNovemberBlueNovember hax Join Date: 2003-02-28 Member: 14137Members, Constellation Posts: 1,669 Fully active user
    • Winkey+Pause (or right-click on "My Computer" and select properties, or select it and press alt+enter, whatever)
    • "Advanced" tab
    • "Settings" in the "startup and recovery" frame
    • In the "System failure" frame, uncheck all 3 boxes, and set memory dump to "(none)".

    This will prevent your PC from restarting during a crash, but not the crash itself. Join a server and post the details of the error message you get. (If, fingers-crossed, you get one.)

    What have you done since it worked?
    Have you got the latest version of NS?
    By "server loading" do you mean "starting my own server" or "joining an online server"?

    GL HTH.



    image

    WTS my two spare NS2 black-armour steam keys
  • DepotDepot The ModFather Join Date: 2002-11-09 Member: 7956Members Posts: 6,411 Fully active user
    Good advice BlueNovember! wink-fix.gif
    image
    modNS Forums - NS1 and NS2: We Wrote The Book On NS Moddingimage
  • BlueNovemberBlueNovember hax Join Date: 2003-02-28 Member: 14137Members, Constellation Posts: 1,669 Fully active user
    QUOTE (Depot @ May 22 2005, 12:55 PM)
    Good advice BlueNovember! wink-fix.gif

    biggrin-fix.gif Once more Depot, you bring a smile to my face.
    image

    WTS my two spare NS2 black-armour steam keys
  • Lt_PatchLt_Patch Join Date: 2005-02-07 Member: 40286Members Posts: 1,229
    Pfft, I never get praise when I give advice... mad-fix.gif
    Teh Nubnos!
    Rabid, Tech Support Nubnos!
    QUOTE(Me and Femme)
    Me: Ahh, god's greatest gift to man...
    Femme: Women?
    Me: No, the beer, stupid!!!
    Femme: Bah...

    Everything I do, I do it for teh lulz :D

    The one man, dodgy rules hunter-killer
  • SmullinerSmulliner Join Date: 2005-05-22 Member: 52167Members Posts: 6 Fully active user
    When the server loader (I am joining a server) reaches pharsing resources, the blue screen of death comes up and tells me that windows had to close because something bad happened... Something about display...
  • Lt_PatchLt_Patch Join Date: 2005-02-07 Member: 40286Members Posts: 1,229
    We are going to need the *EXACT* error code/STOP code that you are getting.
    Teh Nubnos!
    Rabid, Tech Support Nubnos!
    QUOTE(Me and Femme)
    Me: Ahh, god's greatest gift to man...
    Femme: Women?
    Me: No, the beer, stupid!!!
    Femme: Bah...

    Everything I do, I do it for teh lulz :D

    The one man, dodgy rules hunter-killer
  • SmullinerSmulliner Join Date: 2005-05-22 Member: 52167Members Posts: 6 Fully active user
    edited May 2005
    This comes up on a BLUE SCREEN (like the ones that come up on WIN98 if they crash) except this is the message:

    QUOTE
    A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer.

    If this is the first time your are seeing this Stop Error screen, restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follor these steps:

    Check to be sure that you have adequate disk space. If a driver is identified in the Stop Message, disable the driver or check with the manufacturer for driver updates. Try changing video adapters.

    Check with your hardware vendor for any BIOS updates. Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing. If you need to use Safe Mode to remove or disabe components, restart you computer, press F8 to select Advanced Startup options, and then select Safe Mode.


    Technical Information:

    ***  STOP: 0x0000008E (0xc0000005, 0xf7B43618, 0xF4035814, 0x00000000)

    ***        cmaudio.sys - Address F7B43618, Date Stamp 3c7f21b5



    Urg, is it the sound driver that is screwing up NS? Thank for any help!
  • BlueNovemberBlueNovember hax Join Date: 2003-02-28 Member: 14137Members, Constellation Posts: 1,669 Fully active user
    QUOTE (Lt Patch @ May 22 2005, 03:50 PM)
    Pfft, I never get praise when I give advice... mad-fix.gif

    :huggles:
    There there. smile-fix.gif
    The irony is that you're far older than me, actually have a paid job in computing, and can probably offer more sound advice. My over-use of smilies is what gives me the edge. biggrin-fix.gif

    Now for some follow-ups...
    Hehe
    image

    WTS my two spare NS2 black-armour steam keys
  • Lt_PatchLt_Patch Join Date: 2005-02-07 Member: 40286Members Posts: 1,229
    QUOTE (BlueNovember @ May 22 2005, 05:33 PM)
    ...actually have a paid job in computing, and can probably offer more sound advice.

    Bleh, Don't believe those CompuTeach adverts!

    A career in Computers, whilst rather stimulating, IS NOT WELL PAID, EASY, LESS STRESSFUL, OR QUICK TO GET INTO!!!

    Down with the propaganda!

    *burns CompuTeach*
    Teh Nubnos!
    Rabid, Tech Support Nubnos!
    QUOTE(Me and Femme)
    Me: Ahh, god's greatest gift to man...
    Femme: Women?
    Me: No, the beer, stupid!!!
    Femme: Bah...

    Everything I do, I do it for teh lulz :D

    The one man, dodgy rules hunter-killer
  • SmullinerSmulliner Join Date: 2005-05-22 Member: 52167Members Posts: 6 Fully active user
    Thats cool and all, but how about going back to helping me mad-fix.gif
  • BlueNovemberBlueNovember hax Join Date: 2003-02-28 Member: 14137Members, Constellation Posts: 1,669 Fully active user
    QUOTE (Lt Patch @ May 22 2005, 05:37 PM)
    Bleh, Don't believe those CompuTeach adverts!

    A career in Computers, whilst rather stimulating, IS NOT WELL PAID, EASY, LESS STRESSFUL, OR QUICK TO GET INTO!!!

    Down with the propaganda!

    *burns CompuTeach*

    sad-fix.gif
    Don't say that, I'm going to Oxford to read CompSci in 4 or 5 months...
    :S

    PC repair may not be brilliantly paid, but writing server code for companies like eBay should be. - Computing has many pathways. Repair is simply the darkside. smile-fix.gif

    Smulliner, I appologise for totally derailing your thread.
    But it was Depot's fault! He started it! tounge.gif
    image

    WTS my two spare NS2 black-armour steam keys
  • SmullinerSmulliner Join Date: 2005-05-22 Member: 52167Members Posts: 6 Fully active user
    QUOTE (BlueNovember @ May 22 2005, 12:45 PM)
    Smulliner, I appologise for totally derailing your thread. But it was Depot's fault! He started it! tounge.gif

    Ok no problem I forgive you. NOW PLEASE HELP ME WITH MY PROBLEM! smile-fix.gif
  • BlueNovemberBlueNovember hax Join Date: 2003-02-28 Member: 14137Members, Constellation Posts: 1,669 Fully active user
    Recommendations
    Further querries:
    Does the sound work fine in other games? What about HL1 mods and steam games?

    Sorry this is of limited use, but googling the memory addresses was fruitless, I've not come across this particular problem before (no surprise there,) and I can't see why there should be conflicts if the sound works fine in other games, as it probably does. sad-fix.gif

    Lt.Patch, you're up. smile-fix.gif






    image

    WTS my two spare NS2 black-armour steam keys
  • typical_skeletontypical_skeleton Join Date: 2003-02-24 Member: 13944Members Posts: 572
    Reinstalling the drivers is a good route to take.

    I found a lot of other people have this same problem with various things, such as MP3s, DVDs, and even another person playing NS (possibly you on another forum?).

    Is this onboard audio? Or a specific sound card?

    Any known conflicts? Corruption? Viruses? =p
  • Lt_PatchLt_Patch Join Date: 2005-02-07 Member: 40286Members Posts: 1,229
    *cracks knuckles in readiness*
    Right-o. Cmaudio.sys is a core drivers file associated with the C-Media range of audio chipsets, which can range from the lowest 2.1 onboard solution that manufactureres just throw on to provide basic sound functions, right up to some, actually quite good, mid-range sound solutions. If your cmaduio.sys file becomes corrupted in anyway, then most applications will generate a STOP code, reinstalling the drivers from the installation CD provided with your C-Media based equipment. Failing that, search the web for the EXACT item of hardware you have.

    This can normally be done from any good search engine, but better to do it from the manufacturer's website, not the C-Media one. All good manufacturer's will have a dedicated downloads area, with a rather powerful search engine built in.

    You will need to know what the C-Media chipset is located on, it will normally be a PCI-add in card with sound connections on it, or it will be an onboard sound chip solution. If it is onboard, then you need to go to your motherboard manufacturer's website, normally www.<manufacturer's name here>.com, or .com.tw (most manufacturer's main sites are either located in the US, or in Taiwan.)

    Browse to the relevant page, and download a fresh copy of the drivers, disconnect from the internet, and install them.

    Make sure to close any running anti-virus solutions, firewalls, and any P2P software, then install the files. Restart your computer, then try it again.

    Typical, like you said, the problem will not be unique to NS, if the problem is corrupted driver files. It may be more noticable with software that uses advanced audio functions, like games.

    *tags out*

    NEXT! biggrin-fix.gif
    Teh Nubnos!
    Rabid, Tech Support Nubnos!
    QUOTE(Me and Femme)
    Me: Ahh, god's greatest gift to man...
    Femme: Women?
    Me: No, the beer, stupid!!!
    Femme: Bah...

    Everything I do, I do it for teh lulz :D

    The one man, dodgy rules hunter-killer
  • SmullinerSmulliner Join Date: 2005-05-22 Member: 52167Members Posts: 6 Fully active user
    Just so everyone know, I got this working. Your welcome for opening this old thread?
Sign In or Register to comment.