Music Volume?

TerrTerr Arthritic Skulk Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7486Members
<div class="IPBDescription">In-game music, muting or lowering volume</div> None of the usual console commands seem to affect the in-game music, which is often just a little too loud for me. What is the suggested method for tuning music volume?

Comments

  • MausMaus Join Date: 2002-11-03 Member: 5599Members
    I've noticed. If I'm on headphones I need to have volume set between 0.05 and o.1 to not deafen myself (my sound card is silly), so I can't hear a damned thing over the music. <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='sad.gif'><!--endemo-->

    A workaround would be appreciated.

    (Though <i>is</i> it the music? I'm pretty sure I turned it off. I think it may just be some of the ambient sounds.)
  • TerrTerr Arthritic Skulk Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7486Members
    Either that or it's ambient sounds that are actually level dependent music... some of it just seems too loud, although it does add some creepy element <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • IazuIazu Join Date: 2002-11-05 Member: 7029Members
    Found this thread while doing a search for in game mp3 controls <!--emo&???--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/confused.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='confused.gif'><!--endemo-->

    Anyway, Terr, you can control the in game volume of music with the command "cl_musicvolume". The variable ranges from 0-255.

    Here's a little set of scripts that let's you bind two keys to raise and lower music volume (in this case the "[" and "]" keys)<!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->alias mp3vol_00 "alias mp3volup mp3vol_01;alias mp3voldn mp3vol_00;developer 1;echo ---[OFF]--;developer 0;cl_musicvolume 0.0"
    alias mp3vol_01 "alias mp3volup mp3vol_02;alias mp3voldn mp3vol_00;developer 1;echo MP3 *---------;developer 0;cl_musicvolume 25.5"
    alias mp3vol_02 "alias mp3volup mp3vol_03;alias mp3voldn mp3vol_01;developer 1;echo MP3 -*--------;developer 0;cl_musicvolume 51.0"
    alias mp3vol_03 "alias mp3volup mp3vol_04;alias mp3voldn mp3vol_02;developer 1;echo MP3 --*-------;developer 0;cl_musicvolume 76.5"
    alias mp3vol_04 "alias mp3volup mp3vol_05;alias mp3voldn mp3vol_03;developer 1;echo MP3 ---*------;developer 0;cl_musicvolume 102.0"
    alias mp3vol_05 "alias mp3volup mp3vol_06;alias mp3voldn mp3vol_04;developer 1;echo MP3 ----*-----;developer 0;cl_musicvolume 127.5"
    alias mp3vol_06 "alias mp3volup mp3vol_07;alias mp3voldn mp3vol_05;developer 1;echo MP3 -----*----;developer 0;cl_musicvolume 153.0"
    alias mp3vol_07 "alias mp3volup mp3vol_08;alias mp3voldn mp3vol_06;developer 1;echo MP3 ------*---;developer 0;cl_musicvolume 178.5"
    alias mp3vol_08 "alias mp3volup mp3vol_09;alias mp3voldn mp3vol_07;developer 1;echo MP3 -------*--;developer 0;cl_musicvolume 204.0"
    alias mp3vol_09 "alias mp3volup mp3vol_10;alias mp3voldn mp3vol_08;developer 1;echo MP3 --------*-;developer 0;cl_musicvolume 229.5"
    alias mp3vol_10 "alias mp3volup mp3vol_10;alias mp3voldn mp3vol_09;developer 1;echo MP3 ---------*;developer 0;cl_musicvolume 255.0"
    bind ] mp3volup
    bind [ mp3voldn
    mp3vol_10 // set default to max volume<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    And yes this works in ns <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • TerrTerr Arthritic Skulk Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7486Members
    I got it under control already, but thanks. I was a bit thrown that it wasn't responsive to the default cvar names or to the stopsound command.
  • Uh-OhUh-Oh Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6917Members
    But is there a command that can shut it off completely? Cause the background music is completely screwy on my computer. So, instead of setting it to 0, can we turn it off to save some system ressources?

    cl_musicenabled 0/1 (or is it cl_enabledmusic 0/1) seams to be a working console command, but it doesn't register.
  • Relic25Relic25 Pixel Punk Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 39Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    You should just be able to turn off the music in your ns/multiplayer settings.

    One thing I noticed a long time ago in playtesting was that turning on EAX completely screws up the sound levels. It tends to way over-amp the mp3s (including the music) and makes all the in-game .wavs nearly inaudible. Just turning off EAX fixed this for me, and it was reproducible on other machines. Give it a try and see if that helps.
  • TerrTerr Arthritic Skulk Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7486Members
    Multiplayer -> customize -> advanced options -> Uncheck Music
  • pakopako Join Date: 2002-11-03 Member: 6681Members
    my problem is not the volume of the music but of some sounds like the one from the Generator in the Generator Array on eclipse. Its so damn loud im nearly deaf. And cl_musicvolume and volume have no effect..
    I just want a bit less loud
  • kanserikanseri Join Date: 2002-11-14 Member: 8629Members
    the music lags (well, on my computer)
  • natenate Join Date: 2002-11-12 Member: 8321Members
    Uh-Oh, setting it to 0 is the same as turning it off. so it doesn't matter. wont do anything in terms of "saving resources" anyway
  • liquidscriptliquidscript Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 35Members, Constellation
    My music doesn't work at all anymore. I don't know what happened. I've double checked all the settings, and even maxed them out, and it still doesn't do anything. The normal sounds play. I'm not sure about the background mp3s in the maps. They used to skip for me, but either they've fixed themselves, or they don't work anymore either.
  • TerrTerr Arthritic Skulk Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7486Members
    Well, seems someone resurrected this thread...

    You can turn off the music with Multiplayer -> Customize -> Advanced options, and then untick the music box...

    But the mp3 ambience can still be WAY too loud, it hurts my ears. Gonna do some file replacement.

    They're all in C:\SIERRA\Half-Life\ns\sound\ambience\
  • pakopako Join Date: 2002-11-03 Member: 6681Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->But the mp3 ambience can still be WAY too loud, it hurts my ears. Gonna do some file replacement.

    They're all in C:\SIERRA\Half-Life\ns\sound\ambience\
    <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    You already found some nice sounds ?
  • TerrTerr Arthritic Skulk Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7486Members
    edited November 2002
    Well, I've found an exeedingly simple way to eliminate all of those sounds. But I don't know if the devs will consider it a cheat or exploit. If they say that ambience replacement is okay, then I'll post some files and instructions.
  • ParalysParalys Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3069Members
    I'm pretty sure someone has mentioned it before, but you can just delete the mp3's in the /ns/sound/ambience folder and boom, no more annoying loud mp3's. The mp3's don't get re-downloaded from the server if they are missing unlike the .wavs in that folder.
Sign In or Register to comment.