Dedicated Server

SandmanSandman Members Join Date: 2002-11-25 Member: 9870Posts: 102
edited March 2005 in Win32 Server Support
massive choke problem
On my dedicated server, once the player count reaches around 8 to 14 players, everyone in the server starts getting massive choke spikes. Sometimes over 100 choke have been recorded, even on a LAN. What can I do to tame this?


system specs...
Intel P4 3.06ghz HT
1gb pc2100 ddr
40gb 7200rpm hdd
winxp home sp2

hlds 4120
ns 3.01


PS: I have noticed this choke problem on just about every ns 3.0 server I have visited so I don't think it's a simple hardware problem.
*IMAGE BALEETED.* Sigs may not exceed 400x75 and/or 40KB. No exceptions. -Talesin

Comments

  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Members, NS1 Playtester Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Posts: 874
    I see this question asked over and over, I don't think people know what "choke" means. It's not as bad as it sounds. Here's an old post from teh HLDS mailing list to which one of the dedicated server progammers responds to questions regarding choke.

    http://forums.unitedadmins.com/index.php?showtopic=37231
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • GiGaBiTeGiGaBiTe Members Join Date: 2003-10-07 Member: 21489Posts: 1,119 Advanced user
    if choke gets too high, it is a problem. it causes lag and other problems.

    there are 2 problems that i see with your server though.

    1) hyper threading, disable it. other people say it helps the server, but hl cant use 2 cpus, bla bla bla... it just dont work.

    2) if you have any other os besides xp home, like win 2k or linux, id suggest you use that. xp home is like windows millenium, it sucks.
    QUOTE (unknown)
    Admiral, why dont we just breach the hull after overriding the automatic hatchlocks closing procedure?

    Last time we did this an onos just put its fat **** inside the hole and lerks just farted a new athmosphere.
    It looked so gross that we decided to never ever do this again.


    My Website
    NS Map Archive
  • DepotDepot The ModFather Members Join Date: 2002-11-09 Member: 7956Posts: 6,411 Fully active user
    QUOTE (GiGaBiTe @ Mar 28 2005, 04:32 AM)
    2) if you have any other os besides xp home, like win 2k or linux, id suggest you use that. xp home is like windows millenium, it sucks.

    Differentiate between XP Home and XP Pro in regards to running an hlds on it please.
    image
    modNS Forums - NS1 and NS2: We Wrote The Book On NS Moddingimage
  • SandmanSandman Members Join Date: 2002-11-25 Member: 9870Posts: 102
    Well quite frankly, windows xp home and pro is just plain windows xp. There is no differance between home and pro other then pro has a few more services added to an already bloated OS. Windows 2k CAN'T use hyperthreaded processors so that's out of the question. And Linux, well as good as it can be for hosting whatever, it still can't do everything the adverage home user needs a computer for so switching linux is not an option for me.

    I already know what cloke, loss and lag is and it seems that, no matter what I do with ns 3.01, the choke spikes never stop. I never had this problem with ns 3.0b4 nore does my tfc server which is running on the same machine. This leeds me to believe that either there is still something wrong with the new NS or I need to configure some my servers veriables. Any good suggestions for a 12+ player server?



    PS: I forgot to mention in my first post that my server is also running..
    Metamod 1.17.4
    Amxmodx 1.01
    whichbot 0.94g
    *IMAGE BALEETED.* Sigs may not exceed 400x75 and/or 40KB. No exceptions. -Talesin
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Members, NS1 Playtester Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Posts: 874
    Another difference you didn't mention between XP home and XP pro is that XP home does not support multiple processors or HT.

    Now I noticed you said that it doesn't matter what server you go on, you experience the same choke problem. This leads me to believe the problem is a setting in your client, not the server(s). The fact that there are so few people complaining about the choke issue after the 3.01 patch seems to further confirm this.

    Try removing your config.cfg file on your client and have NS recreate it. Don't mess with any of the settings and join a server to see if the problem still exists.

    I see people tweaking things all the time on their servers and clients without knowing what they are actually tweaking. Often people think if "cl_updaterate 30" is good then "cl_updaterate 90" must be 3 times better, right? No, not always. I'm of the mind that if the defaults work, use them unless there is overwhelming evidence that something else is better.
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • SandmanSandman Members Join Date: 2002-11-25 Member: 9870Posts: 102
    edited April 2005
    QUOTE (Vadakill @ Mar 29 2005, 03:33 PM)
    Another difference you didn't mention between XP home and XP pro is that XP home does not support multiple processors or HT.

    Your partially correct there. Windows XP home does not support more then 1 "physical" processor although Windows XP pro on can support 2 physical processors but both home and pro fully support multiable "logical" processors strait from the box. That meens HT support is available on XP home. tounge.gif Windows 2k pro the other hand, completely lacks HT support but I believe windows 2k server can support HT with SP3 and up. Check microsoft site and conferm it yourself.

    Either way, that is not my main concern. The problem is with ALL NS 3.0 and 3.01 win32 servers larger then 14 players generating large amounts of choke to all clients, not just me. I play NS with a basicly default setup, only I change my left and right arrow keys to strafe rather then turn and add in the other 2 buttons for my 5 button mouse. Other then that, it's a vanilla install.

    Any other suggestions, please.
    *IMAGE BALEETED.* Sigs may not exceed 400x75 and/or 40KB. No exceptions. -Talesin
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Members, NS1 Playtester Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Posts: 874
    edited April 2005
    QUOTE (Sandman @ Apr 7 2005, 10:34 PM)
    Your partially correct there.  Windows XP home does not support more then 1 "physical" processor although Windows XP pro on can support 2 physical processors but both home and pro fully support multiable "logical" processors strait from the box.  That meens HT support is available on XP home.


    Yep, I stand corrected. I knew that XP home did not support multiple processors and incorrectly assumed that it didn't support virtual multiprocessing (Hyper-Threading) as well. Here's a link on microsoft's site regarding XP Home and HT:

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?...kb;en-us;810231


    As for the choke thing, I don't have any suggestions for you although it doesn't seem to be a huge problem else more people would be complaining about it. I say, if the choke is not affecting the gameplay then don't worry about it.
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
Sign In or Register to comment.