Quickswitch To Specific Weapon

ReKReK Join Date: 2004-08-30 Member: 31058Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Posts: 708 Advanced user
without loosing your lasinv
CODE
alias "+fastblink" "weapon_blink; wait; +attack; wait"
alias "-fastblink" "-attack; wait; weapon_swipe"
bind "mouse2" "+fastblink"


I'm wondering if this will work. The idea is that, as long as mouse2 is held down, you will blink around. When it's released, it will stop and switch back to swipe (Not sure if that last wait in the + should be moved to the start of the -).
Will this interfere with the built-in lastinv or can I do this and stil have meta set to it?

This will, of course, work for other combos, like leap, knife, spore, etc.
Jumping send out a big hank cyclone, it will eddy original location in gallinaceous body, and pinch three times, opponent

Comments

  • MintmanMintman Join Date: 2003-05-30 Member: 16866Members Posts: 1,198
    1. No it won't I'm afraid.

    2. http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/index....dpost&p=1312710

    3. I found that the reaction time of a script like you want is really crap for blink and that a lastinv script will work much quicker. I personally have found it much better to keep swipe and blink on lastinv and metabolise on mouse2. You may find that it works how you want but this is just from my experience.
    user posted image
  • SpaceJesusSpaceJesus Join Date: 2004-07-02 Member: 29683Banned Posts: 938
    Scripts-wise personally I have blink on mouse 1, quickslash on mouse2, and meta on mouse3.

    However I can't stand fade scripts because there's just no need for them, and IMO they do more damage than good.

    I use mouse1 +attack, mouse2 +s3, and:

    KP_leftarrow slot1
    KP_end slot2
    KP_downarrow slot3
    KP_5 slot4

    I use arrow keys cos I'm old(ish) "skool". I just swap manually most of the time.
    *IMAGE BALEETED.* Sigs are not to exceed 400x75 or 22KB. No exceptions. -Talesin
  • ReKReK Join Date: 2004-08-30 Member: 31058Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Posts: 708 Advanced user
    CODE
    alias +s1 "prefattack;w;+attack"
    alias -s1 "-attack;w;slot1"


    Thats from your script, mintman. Since prefattack is a variable for a specific slot, eg slot2, isn't that almost exactly the same as mine? I just have an extra wait...
    Jumping send out a big hank cyclone, it will eddy original location in gallinaceous body, and pinch three times, opponent
  • MintmanMintman Join Date: 2003-05-30 Member: 16866Members Posts: 1,198
    It is, but if you are using the standard lastinv it willl interfere with it. As mine uses a scripted lastinv it won't. That's where the only real difference in our scripts lies; the type of lastinv.
    user posted image
  • MetrotekMetrotek Join Date: 2003-12-24 Member: 24727Members Posts: 17
    edited January 2005
    can someone write me a script were mouse 1 one is attack for slot 1 and mouse two can be used as attack for slot 2?
  • MintmanMintman Join Date: 2003-05-30 Member: 16866Members Posts: 1,198
    edited January 2005
    CODE
    bind mouse1 "slot1; wait; +attack; wait; -attack"
    bind mouse2 "slot2; wait; +attack; wait; -attack"
    This assumes you have hud_fastswitch set to 1.

    Don't use this one, look a few posts down, I didn't fully think about it. Sorry!
    Post edited by Unknown User on
    user posted image
  • UzguzUzguz Join Date: 2003-06-05 Member: 17016Members, Constellation Posts: 342 Fully active user
  • MetrotekMetrotek Join Date: 2003-12-24 Member: 24727Members Posts: 17
    i was useing your script last night and what haoppened was I had to hit bite everytime. I couldn't hold down bite. and same when i was a marine shooting.
  • Pho3niXPho3niX Join Date: 2003-09-22 Member: 21118Members Posts: 212
    So you click and hold it, he bites once and nothing more? confused-fix.gif

    Well that SUCKS sad-fix.gif
    *IMAGE BALEETED.* Sig images are not to exceed 400x75 or 22KB. No exceptions. -Talesin
  • MintmanMintman Join Date: 2003-05-30 Member: 16866Members Posts: 1,198
    edited January 2005
    Oops, an oversight on my part.
    CODE
    alias +slotone "slot1; wait; +attack"
    alias -slotone "-attack"
    alias +slottwo "slot2; wait; +attack"
    alias -slottwo "-attack"

    bind mouse1 "+slotone"
    bind mouse2 "+slottwo"
    user posted image
  • ReKReK Join Date: 2004-08-30 Member: 31058Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Posts: 708 Advanced user
    edited January 2005
    So if I used romano's, for example, it would not be interefered with when I used my fastblink?

    And Uzguz, I'm not sure I understand what your reset does... If I'm right, it resets your lastinv to slot2 and switches you to slot1?

    Is there any way to, with a scripted lastinv, set the default lastinv every spawn? So, for example, it will default to pistol as a marine. I already have the structure for different configs per team/species, and I use mwheelup to reset my fastattack every spawn, so just adding that function to the bind would work (too bad theres no way to detect a spawn, or anything else for that matter...).
    I'm thinking something like
    CODE
    bind "MWHEELUP" "mbind; +kk1b"

    mbind is an alias to reset my sens and quickattack.

    On a side note, I've modified the fastblink so it is now a generic fastattack. It defaults to different slots depending what team/species you are, but you can cycle through the slots by pressing b to go foreward and v to back. There is also an audio notification of which slot is set, eg for slot1, you will hear the hl annoucement voice say "one."

    CODE
    //General Quickattack
    alias +qs1 "slot1;wait;+attack;"
    alias -qs1 "-attack;"
    alias +qs2 "slot2;wait;+attack;
    alias -qs2 "-attack;wait;wait;slot1"
    alias +qs3 "slot3;wait;+attack;
    alias -qs3 "-attack;wait;wait;slot1"
    alias +qs4 "slot4;wait;+attack;
    alias -qs4 "-attack;wait;wait;slot1"
    alias qs1 "bind mouse2 +qs1; speak one; alias qsf qs2; alias qsb qs4"
    alias qs2 "bind mouse2 +qs2; speak two; alias qsf qs3; alias qsb qs1"
    alias qs3 "bind mouse2 +qs3; speak three; alias qsf qs4; alias qsb qs2"
    alias qs4 "bind mouse2 +qs4; speak four; alias qsf qs1; alias qsb qs3"
    alias qsf "qs2"
    alias qsb "qs2"
    bind "v" "qsb"
    bind "b" "qsf"


    In the cfg's for the seperate teams/species, I just call qs* to set the default. Pushing the mwheel up will also do this, so you can reset it at spawn.
    The cycler assumes that the default is qs2. I restate qsf and qsb as qs3 for the ones that aren't in their cfg's.

    Marine: qs3, +kk1b
    Skulk: qs3, +kk1b
    Lerk: qs2, +kk1c
    Fade: qs2, +kk1c
    Onos: qs3, +kk1b
    Gorge: qs2, +kk1c
    Post edited by Unknown User on
    Jumping send out a big hank cyclone, it will eddy original location in gallinaceous body, and pinch three times, opponent
  • UzguzUzguz Join Date: 2003-06-05 Member: 17016Members, Constellation Posts: 342 Fully active user
    Hmmm. Essentially, yes, what you stated is what the reset function does. However, the default lastinv is configurable with the +kkrsa - +kkrsd commands, which basically redefine +lastinv_reset. The actual reset is performed by kkra - kkrd. To change default lastinv based on lifeform, you would call the appropriate kkr* command in the config, and then redefine +lastinv_reset to the same. Don't forget that if you use a + command in those aliases/configs, you'll need to call the corresponding - command as well; furthermore, the simple weapon switch commands (+kk#*) don't affect the reset function. So if, for example, you want your Onos config to change the default lastinv to slot3 (fair enough; a much more logical choice than Devour), you'd insert this:

    CODE
    kkrc
    alias +lastinv_reset "kkrc"


    You should use +lastinv_reset as a matter of habit every time you die (or respawn, if it's on a mouse button), so that you always know what weapon you have on lastinv.
  • ReKReK Join Date: 2004-08-30 Member: 31058Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Posts: 708 Advanced user
    edited January 2005
    Ah, yes, you see, I won't be using you reset version...
    I don't really have any use for the reset as it can be set by mwheelup.

    but if I bind +kk## to mwheelup, wont the - be called on release? I don't know how you hold a mouse wheel up, but ya.
    When you bind +attack to mouse1, releasing it will automatically call -attack. Or does that only work if it is the only command bound?

    I know that calling a + in an alias will not call the -, which is why I put it in the bind instead of under mbind.
    Jumping send out a big hank cyclone, it will eddy original location in gallinaceous body, and pinch three times, opponent
  • ChurchChurch Meatshield grunt-fodder // Has pre-ordered NS2 Join Date: 2002-12-31 Member: 11646Members, Constellation Posts: 2,462
    edited January 2005
    You guys are making this too hard on yourselves. I used to try to do something like this...and then I realized how horribly inefficient the energy usage is, and the crappy response time. Then, i figured out something cool.

    make sure hud_fastswitch is 1
    Bind mwheelup to slot2
    Bind mwheeldown to slot1
    Bind mouse2 to 3jump script since you can't use mwheel to bhop

    There. Now you can switch to blink and back to swipe all with just one hand. I even wrote a small toggle script that'll switch my mwheelup between slot2 and slot3 because I like this setup when I leap-bte as well.
    Read my idea on armor!
    http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/index....showtopic=90736

    QUOTE (Ambrosek @ Mar 23 2005, 07:53 PM)
    You Can Never Win In Clan Match Which is SC start
  • UzguzUzguz Join Date: 2003-06-05 Member: 17016Members, Constellation Posts: 342 Fully active user
    QUOTE (ReK @ Jan 27 2005, 01:16 PM)
    Ah, yes, you see, I won't be using you reset version...
    I don't really have any use for the reset as it can be set by mwheelup.

    but if I bind +kk## to mwheelup, wont the - be called on release? I don't know how you hold a mouse wheel up, but ya.
    When you bind +attack to mouse1, releasing it will automatically call -attack. Or does that only work if it is the only command bound?

    I know that calling a + in an alias will not call the -, which is why I put it in the bind instead of under mbind.

    If I recall, for a +/- command to toggle properly, it must be the only command bound. Don't take my word for it, though. However, I said what I did because I was originally under the impression that you intended to call the +kk1* aliases directly in your species configs.

    Note, however, that if you're using the standard version of romano's, you won't have to worry about that, because I added the +/- floodguards to the kk#* commands; in the original, they're one-step aliases.

    But you might as well use the reset version, since it has inbuilt support for default lastinv switching. tounge.gif

    By the way, out of curiosity, can I see mbind? Your script is incomplete without, and I'd like to see if I can improve its efficiency for you. Something seems... redundant in it, like an unnecessary bridge alias or some such. But maybe that's just me being stupid.

    (P.S. I've changed a couple of things with the reset function, to make it more useful. Firstly, there are now one-step versions of the default lastinv switching commands. They, as well as the original +/- versions, now redefine the one-step lastinv-reset as well as +lastinv_reset. The net effect is to make the reset function more easily integrated into existing weapon-switch related configs. Finally, there's a new one-step alias, lastinv_reinit, which calls kkrb and redefines +lastinv_reset and lastinv_reset to the same, meaning that it performs lastinv_reset's originally intended function of a one-line full lastinv system reset; useful for team-join configs and such. These changes are reflected in the version in my own thread.)
  • ReKReK Join Date: 2004-08-30 Member: 31058Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver Posts: 708 Advanced user
    edited January 2005
    Alright, well, mbind is now obsolete. It used to change your sens setting and call the default qs*. I've replaced it with the command "exec marine.cfg" right in the bind.

    Uzguz, I am using your version for the floodgaurds, but I cut out the reset part. I counldn't find an unmodded version of romano's, and your's was the closest.

    Now, I've had a smack-on-the-forehead kind of revelation. I'll just call the non-flood commands once inside the .cfg. Then mwheelup will just call the .cfg and everything should work, I think....

    My entire config system can be found here.
    Jumping send out a big hank cyclone, it will eddy original location in gallinaceous body, and pinch three times, opponent
  • MouseMouse The Lighter Side of Pessimism Join Date: 2002-03-02 Member: 263Members, NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow Posts: 3,567 mod
    QUOTE (Church @ Jan 27 2005, 05:02 PM)
    There. Now you can switch to blink and back to swipe all with just one hand. I even wrote a small toggle script that'll switch my mwheelup between slot2 and slot3 because I like this setup when I leap-bte as well.

    Care to post it?
    -/AUS/- PS_Mouse
  • SandVaNSandVaN Join Date: 2003-06-25 Member: 17694Members Posts: 22
    QUOTE (Mouse @ Jan 29 2005, 02:07 AM)
    QUOTE (Church @ Jan 27 2005, 05:02 PM)
    There.  Now you can switch to blink and back to swipe all with just one hand.  I even wrote a small toggle script that'll switch my mwheelup between slot2 and slot3 because I like this setup when I leap-bte as well.

    Care to post it?

    alias +swipe "slot2 ;wait"
    alias -swipe "wait; slot1"
    bind "mouse2" +swipe

    Thats what I use, and that's all one hand. Just hold down Mouse2 for blink, and when you let go it switches back to swipe. Plus it isn't blocked by mp_bs 1.
    -Sand]V[aN
    "I do what I do the way I do it." - Macgyver
  • PaegusPaegus Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 5306Members Posts: 63
    hmm try this one out and see if it's more in line with what you want...

    i got sick of forcing my fps down to get the timing correct, not to mention the mp_blockscript 1 servers screwing with them.. so that script will switch to the health/ranged/movement attacks and then back to melee (and spit for gorge) attack etc...

    -Paeg
  • c4tc4t Join Date: 2003-09-06 Member: 20619Members Posts: 383
    edited February 2005
    hey guys, heres a simple last inventory script for fading that i made a while back and still use.




    alias w "wait"
    alias +fade "slot1"
    alias -fade "bind q +fade2"
    alias +fade2 "slot2"
    alias -fade2 "bind q +fade"
    bind q "+fade"

    this one is handy, though when you get right out of egg and hit q you dont go to blink, just hit it a few times to make sure its working. (you could fix this by having +fade execute slot2 instead of slot 1, and just switch everything, im just lazy and dont care)



    alias +meta "slot3;w;+attack"
    alias -meta "-attack;w;lastinv"
    bind "mouse2" +meta


    does what it looks like.



    i have shift bound to use acid rocket then lastinv.
    QUOTE(obuh @ Mar 23 2005, 06:24 AM)
    Cloaking counters fun. lol.
Sign In or Register to comment.