Using Mouse Wheel For Weapon Select

TwenchTwench Join Date: 2004-10-07 Member: 32128Members
I am currently having a problem using my mouse wheel for weapon select. I have hud_fastswitch set to "1'; MouseWheelUp takes me to the next weapon, MouseWheelDown to the previous.
When I use MouseWheelUp, everything works as expected.
When I use MouseWheelDown, the games acts as if hud_fastswitch is off. It plays the animation in the upper right that shows you what is in the slot. As an example, this is a typical scenario
AS MARINE (as I remember what those slots are)
I am currently on MG
I scroll down and can see pistol highlighted
I scroll up and immediately am given the knife
I fire, the pistol gets selected.

Any ideas?

Comments

  • sean6sean6 Join Date: 2004-05-19 Member: 28754Members
    i had this prob too. its to do with the commands used to select next/prev weapons.

    if you set mouse wheel up to next wep.
    it sets mwheelup "impulse 1"
    if you set mouse wheel down to prev wep.
    it sets mwheeldown "invprev"

    the impulse 1 works as you want it too, goes to the next weapon ready for firing.

    other HL games use invnext (instead of impulse 1) which works like invprev.
    invprev is the way you dont want it to work - you need to select it.
    i have no idea why impulse 1 is used in NS or why there isnt another impulse for previous weapon.

    there are a few ways around it.
    1. rebind your keys so you dont use next/prev weapon
    eg.
    mouse1 -> slot1
    mouse2 -> slot2
    mouse3 -> slot3
    mouse4 -> slot4

    2. put this in userconfig.cfg

    alias "invGoDOWN" "invprev;+attack;wait;-attack"
    alias "invGoUP" "invnext;+attack;wait;-attack"

    bind "MWHEELDOWN" "invGoDOWN"
    bind "MWHEELUP" "invGoUP"

    note: you may get a very very slight delay in switching weapons.


    i went for option 1, but i tried 2 first - i suggest you do the same.
    if you have any problems plz post here again
  • SloppyKissesSloppyKisses omgawd a furreh! Virginia Join Date: 2003-07-05 Member: 17942Members, Constellation
    edited October 2004
    I have to try that. I too was having this problem.
    Thanks!
  • TwenchTwench Join Date: 2004-10-07 Member: 32128Members
    Okay ... so if I map the keys as you say ... how do you attack? I have a 4 button mouse with scroll wheel (obviously). I have it set up right now that:
    mouse 1: attack
    mouse 2: menu
    mouse 3: reload
    mouse 4: not assigned (its the scroll wheel as a button)
    wheel up and down: weapon select.

    Let's say I go:
    Mouse 1: Slot 1
    Mouse 2: Slot 2 etc

    How would I fire?
  • SavageXSavageX Join Date: 2003-05-17 Member: 16425Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-sean67+Oct 7 2004, 04:22 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (sean67 @ Oct 7 2004, 04:22 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> i had this prob too. its to do with the commands used to select next/prev weapons.

    if you set mouse wheel up to next wep.
    it sets mwheelup "impulse 1"
    if you set mouse wheel down to prev wep.
    it sets mwheeldown "invprev"

    the impulse 1 works as you want it too, goes to the next weapon ready for firing.

    other HL games use invnext (instead of impulse 1) which works like invprev.
    invprev is the way you dont want it to work - you need to select it.
    i have no idea why impulse 1 is used in NS or why there isnt another impulse for previous weapon.

    there are a few ways around it.
    1. rebind your keys so you dont use next/prev weapon
    eg.
    mouse1 -> slot1
    mouse2 -> slot2
    mouse3 -> slot3
    mouse4 -> slot4

    2. put this in userconfig.cfg

    alias "invGoDOWN" "invprev;+attack;wait;-attack"
    alias "invGoUP" "invnext;+attack;wait;-attack"

    bind "MWHEELDOWN" "invGoDOWN"
    bind "MWHEELUP" "invGoUP"

    note: you may get a very very slight delay in switching weapons.


    i went for option 1, but i tried 2 first - i suggest you do the same.
    if you have any problems plz post here again <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    None of that is going to much good because most pub servers have blockscripts. I use to use a script for selecting weapons fast without clicking as well but I went back to using just invprev and invnext because of the blockscripts <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/sad-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • sean6sean6 Join Date: 2004-05-19 Member: 28754Members
    edited October 2004
    <!--QuoteBegin-Twench+Oct 12 2004, 01:49 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Twench @ Oct 12 2004, 01:49 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Okay ... so if I map the keys as you say ... how do you attack?  I have a 4 button mouse with scroll wheel (obviously).  I have it set up right now that:
    mouse 1: attack
    mouse 2: menu
    mouse 3: reload
    mouse 4: not assigned (its the scroll wheel as a button)
    wheel up and down: weapon select.

    Let's say I go:
    Mouse 1: Slot 1
    Mouse 2: Slot 2 etc

    How would I fire? <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    sorry, i made a mistake in what i said. i suggest you try this:
    mouse 1 - attack - LMB
    mouse 2 - slot1 - RMB
    mouse 3 - slot2 - MWheelUP
    mouse 4 - slot3 - MWheeldown
    mouse 5 - slot4 - mouse whell button

    the bottom 3 you probably want to switch around till you feel comfortable.

    NOTE: make sure you have hud_fastswitch 1.
    for menu, and reload try using keyboard buttons.

    i have a logitech Mx700 which has 5 more buttons so i can map them so i have my mouse wheel for bunny hopping.

    about the blockscripts thing - if you do go on servers with this enabled (which i dont) then you cant use the script i said about ealier. i have heard of simple ways around blockscripts (which dont involve hacking) on this forum - but i havent tried them.
  • LazLoeLazLoe Join Date: 2004-10-18 Member: 32330Members
    I was having the same problem.
    The most simple solution to this is to simply delete the " Config.cfg " file in the \half-life\ns directory.
    Problem solved.
  • BlueNovemberBlueNovember hax Join Date: 2003-02-28 Member: 14137Members, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin-SavageX+Oct 12 2004, 09:09 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (SavageX @ Oct 12 2004, 09:09 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--><!--QuoteBegin-sean67+Oct 7 2004, 04:22 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (sean67 @ Oct 7 2004, 04:22 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->
    ...
    2. put this in userconfig.cfg

    alias "invGoDOWN" "invprev;+attack;wait;-attack"
    alias "invGoUP" "invnext;+attack;wait;-attack"

    bind "MWHEELDOWN" "invGoDOWN"
    bind "MWHEELUP" "invGoUP"

    note: you may get a very very slight delay in switching weapons.
    <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    <b>
    None of that is going to much good because most pub servers have blockscripts.</b>
    ...<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd--> <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    It should work fine on BS servers as it is neither spaming a + command nor firing 2 commands at once.

    I think. :S
Sign In or Register to comment.