Lan Gaming

SpoogeSpooge Thunderbolt missile in your cheerios Join Date: 2002-01-25 Member: 67Members
<div class="IPBDescription">Ethics and Laws</div> Let me start by saying that none of this has anything to do with anything that I'm doing. I picked up this bit from another forum and you guys are much smarter than them. ahem.

I have no direct experience with LAN gaming. My understanding is that a group gets together in someone's basement (or whatever) and connect each other's machines (one way or another) and game on. Let's assume that they all want to play one particular game but only 1 person has purchased it. In this small setting, is it ethical and/or legal to install this game on everyone's machine in order to play?

Now let's say you're going to start a LAN/Gaming center for profit all business like. You have more machines, a solid way to connect them, and only 1 copy of the game. Is it ethical and/or legal to install 1 purchased copy of a game on all the machines?

Is there a way, similar to Microsoft Office products, to purchase multiple keys from game publishers/distributers/whatever to install from 1 disc?

Comments

• TheWizardTheWizard Join Date: 2002-12-11 Member: 10553Members, Constellation
    edited July 2004
    <!--QuoteBegin--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->Now let's say you're going to start a LAN/Gaming center for profit all business like. You have more machines, a solid way to connect them, and only 1 copy of the game. Is it ethical and/or legal to install 1 purchased copy of a game on all the machines?
    <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Depends on the game.

With 99% of the games out there it is not legal or ethical (ethics is often broader than legality).