Udp Port Not Opening *sigh*

WickedFPooPWickedFPooP Members Join Date: 2004-02-16 Member: 26601Posts: 3
ok, i've tried everything, looked over these boards a hundred times, it feels, but yet i still can't get udp port 27015 to correctly open to start an internet server w/ steam.

i read vadakill's guide, got everything set up, set my ip as the WAN ip, which works when hosting other games, made the machine the dmz host, opened port 27015 and all others mentioned in vadakill's guide but to no avail. even used some other ips to see if that was the problem, but no, i keep getting the error msg this guy got http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/in...showtopic=62495

i'm running the steam internet server, well trying, on a 350 p2, 80 meg of ram, 10 base nic. i know it isn't much but it runs other games almost flawless.

i have a seimens (insert laughter) 2602 2 port router, which i'm connecting to through a 10/100 hub.

i'm also kinda n00bish at this and have no idea what ssh is from the afore mentioned post.

anyway, i think i've posted all information i can think of. any help is gladly appreciated and i'll be checking this everyday if anyone needs anymore info to help. tia

Comments

  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Members, NS1 Playtester Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Posts: 874
    Those command line parameters are for Linux systems, it wouldn't have any affect on Win32 systems.

    Okay, I see a potential problem here. You don't want to assign your windows box the same IP of your public WAN address.

    Although it can help with troubleshooting I don't suggest leaving the server in the DMZ since it makes it vulnerable to attacks from the internet. Instead take it out of the DMZ and just forward the appropriate ports to the IP address that is set for the windows box. You would want to take advantage of of the passive firewall that NAT provides.

    In any case, I suspect your internet gateway address is probably something like 192.168.0.1 which is fine. Your server IP address should be along the same class C network, i.e. anything like 192.168.0.2, 192.168.0.3 ... 192.168.0.254. I hope that's not confusing.

    Here's some pathetic text art to hopefully illustrate it:

    {The Internet}
    ||
    DSL/CABLE connection
    208.28.184.222 (public address the world sees)
    ||
    ROUTER/GATEWAY
    ||
    192.168.0.1 (Private address the LAN computers see as a way out)
    ||
    192.168.0.2 (HL server)

    It sounds like you figured out how to port forward, so I won't talk about that.

    Then, you'll want to craft a command line that you can use to start the server. Try this one:

    hlds.exe -game nsp -maxplayers 10 +map co_core -console +ip xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx +port 27015 +mapchangecfgfile "server.cfg" +exec banned.cfg

    Hope that helps somewhat.
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • tsnHelloKittytsnHelloKitty Members, Constellation Join Date: 2004-02-21 Member: 26752Posts: 13
    edited February 2004
    Hey, I had the same problem. I followed vadakill's guide, and I am also running a server on my LAN. The server and my computer are both behind a router, with 192.168.1.XXX local addresses, and the necessary ports are being forwarded from the router to the server. I was specifying the WAN IP (like vadakill's guide suggested) in the command line, and it was having the same problem allocating the port. I used a TCP port monitor to verify there was nothing using any of the HL/Steam ports. After reading someone else's suggestion, I just took the "-ip XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX" part out of the command line (left the -port 27015 part in), and it worked like a charm. I'm not sure why, since I was sure you had to report the server WAN address, but it shows up in the Steam server browser and people can connect just fine.

    I still haven't figured out how to connect to it yet myself...I can connect to it fine from outside the LAN, but if my computer is inside the LAN, I can't connect, even if I specify the WAN address of the server. Steam always gives me the "Invalid Steam UserID Ticket" message. No big deal, since I have another outside internet connection I can use, but if anyone has any suggestions, it would help me out. Steam's FAQ at steampowered.com mentions the problem, but they are extremely vague about solving it. I haven't found an adequate solution anywhere. I could probably figure it out myself, if it's possible, but I'm not too motivated to, since I can just connect to it using my other Internet connection.
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Members, NS1 Playtester Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Posts: 874
    If that's really the solution I'll make note of it in the guide. My problem is I have never run a LAN server behind a Broadband router with a NAT firewall before.
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • WickedFPooPWickedFPooP Members Join Date: 2004-02-16 Member: 26601Posts: 3
    yea man, i really appreciate the feedback, but i tried everything u mentioned and more. taking the ip address out, closing the DMZ host, opening the ports, but still nothing. i looked on my router's website, which suggested the same ports and a few more that weren't mentioned in ur guide, but yet again, to no avail. i can run the server on the LAN fine, but it won't show up in the internet listing. anyway, i guess i'll figure it out sometime, but that error msg that i had linked to was what i was getting trying to specify my WAN ip. using my WAN ip, people can connect to my ut2k4 and ut2k3 server, but eh. i guess i'll fool w/ it a little more than the 3 hours already invested and eventually get it. hehe. thanks alot though, again, for the feedback. smile.gif
  • tsnHelloKittytsnHelloKitty Members, Constellation Join Date: 2004-02-21 Member: 26752Posts: 13
    You mentioned that it doesn't show up in the server browser, but can you manually add the server IP address and see it that way (in your Steam Favorites tab)? If so, you probably just need to configure the server.cfg file appropriately (set the server region correctly).

    Mine is behind a regular linksys router. The only configuration changes I made on the router were forwarding the ports. Make sure you've upgraded your router's firmware to the latest version. It's weird, but taking that wan ip address out of the command line string is what did the trick for me.
  • WickedFPooPWickedFPooP Members Join Date: 2004-02-16 Member: 26601Posts: 3
    yea, it shows up as a LAN server but not on the net. i dunno though, w/ ut2k4 demo, i have to connect to my server through LAN and then people can see it online. that's what's going on w/ Steam, i can see it through LAN but not on the net listing. maybe other people can, i dunno.

    the firmware for my router, hehe, well, i have the latest update for it, which was in 2002. been checking there recently too for the updates and still nothing.

    the server region is set correctly also.

    thanks a lot for the suggestions guys. i'll see what i can come up with.
  • blackholedreamsblackholedreams Members Join Date: 2004-02-04 Member: 26023Posts: 179
    QUOTE (WickedFPooP @ Feb 23 2004, 11:42 PM)
    yea, it shows up as a LAN server but not on the net. i dunno though, w/ ut2k4 demo, i have to connect to my server through LAN and then people can see it online. that's what's going on w/ Steam, i can see it through LAN but not on the net listing. maybe other people can, i dunno.

    ...if it shows up as a LAN server, then maybe you have sv_lan 1 set in your server.cfg, in which case you'd want to change that to sv_lan 0 so that it wouldn't be a LAN game and instead be an internet game.
    IPB Image
Sign In or Register to comment.