About Changing Weapons

FireStormFireStorm Join Date: 2002-11-06 Member: 7390Members
edited January 2004 in NS General Discussion
<div class="IPBDescription">and impulse 1</div> OK right now impulse 1 changes your current weapon to the next without showing the weapon selection menu on the HUD. I'd like to know if there's a command that would do the same but backwards?
For example: you have the knife, and the command would cause you to get the pistol.

(Also, a little suggestion: It would be nice if the name of current weapon was shown on the HUD when you cange it, for example: bite, parasite, leap etc, because when you use impulse 1 you can't always know what's your surrent weapon when you're an alien).

Edit: oops, wrong topic title :X

Comments

  • DelphiDelphi Join Date: 2003-04-02 Member: 15134Members, Constellation
    Long planned, but never put in for various reasons.
  • Status_QuoStatus_Quo Join Date: 2004-01-30 Member: 25749Members
    hud_fastswitch 1 works wonders. If you knew that and was looking for something else, I can't help you. I'm not sure if hud_fastswitch works for the next/prev_inv (or whatever the command is), but if it doesn't, I'm sure I could write a script that will take care of that (yeah yeah, OMG, Scr1pt0r etc.).
  • FireStormFireStorm Join Date: 2002-11-06 Member: 7390Members
    Yeah, I nkow but hud_fastswitch works only for the keyboard..

    Actually I already have such a script wut since there's impulse 1 I wonder if I could use that instead of the script..

    And I'm not sure if the script would work on servers with have disabled the scripting, because there are some ; characters in it.
  • Status_QuoStatus_Quo Join Date: 2004-01-30 Member: 25749Members
    I thought that (ridiculous) alias and ; ban was removed in the release...
  • rknZrknZ Join Date: 2003-10-23 Member: 21885Members
    I use this for fast switch on the mousewheel

    bind "MWHEELDOWN" "invprev;+attack;wait;-attack"
    bind "MWHEELUP" "invnext;+attack;wait;-attack"

    couldnt play without it (and wont if it comes to it)
  • EvoEvo Join Date: 2003-01-11 Member: 12180Members
    edited January 2004
    Yup. I use a slightly differnent script, but it does the same thing.
    My only gripe is that its not always possible to tell what weapon you have as an Alien. Kinda sucks when you go to leap and Xeno instead, y'know? <!--emo&;)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • Alurcard2Alurcard2 Join Date: 2003-07-30 Member: 18614Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-Sm|o||o|th+Jan 30 2004, 04:24 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Sm|o||o|th @ Jan 30 2004, 04:24 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> I use this for fast switch on the mousewheel

    bind "MWHEELDOWN" "invprev;+attack;wait;-attack"
    bind "MWHEELUP" "invnext;+attack;wait;-attack"

    couldnt play without it (and wont if it comes to it) <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I thought they took out wait
  • ZekZek Join Date: 2002-11-10 Member: 7962Members, NS1 Playtester, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow
    edited January 2004
    <!--QuoteBegin-Status Quo+Jan 30 2004, 07:07 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Status Quo @ Jan 30 2004, 07:07 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> I thought that (ridiculous) alias and ; ban was removed in the release... <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    All the anti-scripting stuff is in an optional server variable that defaults to off.
  • Status_QuoStatus_Quo Join Date: 2004-01-30 Member: 25749Members
    Yes, I know. I thought that only special and wait was included in the active version however.
  • FireStormFireStorm Join Date: 2002-11-06 Member: 7390Members
    This is my script, it works very well, but it would be better if such a way of weapon changing would be coded in NS...

    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
    hud_fastswitch 1
    developer 1

    bind mwheelup ap
    bind mwheeldown an

    alias an a2
    alias ap a4

    alias a1 "alias an a2; alias ap a4; slot1; echo Weapon 1"
    alias a2 "alias an a3; alias ap a1; slot2; echo Weapon 2"
    alias a3 "alias an a4; alias ap a2; slot3; echo Weapon 3"
    alias a4 "alias an a1; alias ap a3; slot4; echo Weapon 4"

    bind 1 a1
    bind 2 a2
    bind 3 a3
    bind 4 a4
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
Sign In or Register to comment.