How Many Players?

NesterNester Members Join Date: 2003-12-17 Member: 24476Posts: 4
For this ssrver?
Athlon 2200+
768mb ram dimm pc133

Inet connection 10mbit upstream and downstream

Obviously the connection is not a problem, the problem is cpu.
Running 4.1.1.0 on win 2000.


Is linux better performant?

Thanks

Comments

  • CaucasianCaucasian Members Join Date: 2002-11-26 Member: 9993Posts: 145
    Start @ 22 slots and work your way up.
    Elastical Gomez Natural-Selection:www.elasticalgomez.com
    ns1.elasticalgomez.com:27015

    We also have a CAL Server up @ ns1.elasticalgomez.com:27017
  • KezeiKezei Members, Reinforced - Gold Join Date: 2003-09-23 Member: 21127Posts: 175 Fully active user
    What OS? Linux? Windows Server? Windows? XP?
    And it will also depend on what you have installed on it. (adminmod, amx, metamod, serverops, etc.)
    image
  • BigBullBigBull Members Join Date: 2003-04-02 Member: 15123Posts: 2,478
    How much for a
    Dual 2.4 Xeon
    1024 RAM
    1000GB Bandwith tounge.gif
    Windows 2000 tounge.gif
    Ugh Im too damn brown for a sig.
  • KezeiKezei Members, Reinforced - Gold Join Date: 2003-09-23 Member: 21127Posts: 175 Fully active user
    1000GB? I think you mean 1000MB
    The most you can get right now is a 3Gb Pipe.

    Anyway with a 100MBit Pipe, You can have anywhere from 2 - 32. There really is no limit. With that setup / connection. But 32 Player NS isn't worth it. Atleast not in 2.01. In 3.0 NS:C Go for it. But it takes to long for 2.01 RES with 32 players.

    /me would love a 32 player NS:C
    image
  • KezeiKezei Members, Reinforced - Gold Join Date: 2003-09-23 Member: 21127Posts: 175 Fully active user
    Also, Nester, at the moment Linux is rather unstable with Steam. Linux not recommended,
    image
  • EpidemicEpidemic Dark Force Gorge Members Join Date: 2003-06-29 Member: 17781Posts: 3,104 Advanced user
    He could have 2 16 servers on that PC smile.gif
    I saw a radscorpion the other day.
  • BigBullBigBull Members Join Date: 2003-04-02 Member: 15123Posts: 2,478
    no its 1000GB

    www.servermatrix.com
    Ugh Im too damn brown for a sig.
  • Nan0xionNan0xion Members Join Date: 2004-01-03 Member: 24995Posts: 4
    How many players should i have?confused.gif? wink.gif i have 512k\512k dsl and speakeasy speed test shows that my upload is 435kpbs i have p43200mhz 512mt400ddr radeon 9600xt and im playing from the same computer

    what would be ideal settings in sv_minrate sv_maxrate and stuff like that in server.cfg for 12-14 players?
    i can host like 12 players at least right?? but with what settings.. i would aprreachieate any help with settings or something thank you pudgy.gif
  • Nan0xionNan0xion Members Join Date: 2004-01-03 Member: 24995Posts: 4
    nvm i tested my server with sv_minrate 6000 sv_maxrate 12000 and sv_maxupdaterate 50 and it runned 14 players with 30-40 pings smile.gif altought i had ping booster and server fps like 500 biggrin.gif
  • GruuuntGruuunt Members Join Date: 2003-11-07 Member: 22353Posts: 32
    My 12 slot HLDS Bot Combat Server is running on a United Kingdom 256kb/1Mb ADSL Pipe, I've got sv_maxrate set to 1800.
    The server is a measly AMD 1.8Gb Athlon with 1.5Gb RAM and Striped disks.

    With 2 Bots and 10 players the server peaks CPU at about 50%. Players with pings over 190 (Normally West Coast Stateside users) suffer lag occassionally, but thats normally when theres a lot of voice comms going on, and I also work from home using the internet heavily with VPN and large pdf downloads...

    All in all as the majority of the network traffic is going out on the 256kb uplink portion it amazes me in reality how little bandwidth is actually being used.

    In the UK 100Mb would probably belong to a ISP with 256k/2Mb being the normal max link for home users on ADSL at an average cost of £100 per month and the new SDSL 2MB/2Mb and its 1mile from the exchange limitation weighing in at £150+ per month....

    1000Mb or Gb - sigh, dribble etc wink.gif
    It's Done when its done - Its ready when I'm paid (Mad Mart Aka Gruuunt)


    Number-7.com Natural Selection Map Archive
    Combat - Classic - AvA - MvM - Fun - Siege

    Probably the largest dedicated site in the World Now with over 999 Files available for download
  • styleestylee Members Join Date: 2003-03-23 Member: 14802Posts: 86
    QUOTE (-[dS]-RaZoR @ Jan 4 2004, 01:08 PM)
    The most you can get right now is a 3Gb Pipe.

    Just wanted to show you that you're wrong tounge.gifhttp://searchnetworking.techtarget.com/sDe...i294572,00.html <- OC-768, 40Gbps (5GBps)
    user posted imageexplosive diarrhea

    <Flayra> You have to play the game the way the game is, not the way you want the game to be. I don't know why so many people can't understand that.

    <|slim|> hey Flay i love u <Flayra> Don't love me, send cash..
  • jplovejplove Members Join Date: 2003-06-18 Member: 17475Posts: 59
    The 1000gb he's referring to is the amount of data transfer, not the actual speed of the connection.
Sign In or Register to comment.