Clients Overflowing Midgame

MayhemMayhem Members Join Date: 2002-11-28 Member: 10128Posts: 113
I've tried everything
Hey guys,

So since 2.0 came out, I've been dealing with this issue. It seems as the game progresses, it starts dropping clients out with the message overflowed. From what I can tell its almost always later in a game. Very rarely will this happen early on a fresh map. I need some information from players and servers. I want to know if this problem has been happening to you as well.

Metamod was version 1.16.1 and adminmod 2.50.52 and .56
Things Ive tried:
HLDS 4.1.1.0 - NS + metamod + adminmod + extras
HLDS 4.1.1.0 - NS + metamod + adminmod
HLDS 4.1.1.0 - NS + metamod
HLDS 4.1.1.0 - Clean installation of NS

HLDS 4.1.1.1d - NS + metamod + adminmod + extras
HLDS 4.1.1.1d - NS + metamod + adminmod
HLDS 4.1.1.1d - Clean installation of NS

So far nothing has stopped the overflowing clients. I'm getting rather frustrated and this problem doesnt appear to be linked with the other posts about motd.txt or hlds 4.1.1.1d. I'm starting to think it might be where I host the server (.edu with two oc3s) maybe the network is making it unstable? Maybe its just the NS2.0 code I really don't know. I've had no luck and its definetly affecting gameplay when you lose 50+ res as an alien.

Comments

  • SiliconSilicon Members Join Date: 2003-02-18 Member: 13683Posts: 430
    I had problems with this too, I couldn't figure out why, removed all plugins etc, then all a sudden It stopped and I can't figure out why, I added the plugins back and the problem doesn't happen anymore, sorry I can't help more.
    user posted image
  • ShadowcatShadowcat Members Join Date: 2003-01-18 Member: 12443Posts: 214
    I dont know, usually when players overflow on my server is when I get lagged badly and people start overflowing and dropping. It could also be a plugin causing it. I guess overflow errors depend on server computers.
  • MayhemMayhem Members Join Date: 2002-11-28 Member: 10128Posts: 113
    Shadow,
    Like I said I've tried clean installs of dedicated server and NS. But since you appear to have had the same problems. Can you give me a rundown on what your setup was/is. Things like, do you run apache on your box for webhosting or ftp for updating files. Also maybe you could paste your plugins.ini here. Anything to help me pinpoint this thing...
  • FlayraFlayra Game Director, Unknown Worlds Entertainment San FranciscoSuper Administrators, NS2 Developer, Subnautica Developer Join Date: 2002-01-22 Member: 3Posts: 6,943 admin
    Are you sure they are actually overflowing? I've noticed seeing overflow messages at the decicated server console, but the players are still connected. This seems to happen when people alt-tab. If they are actually overflowing a lot, then I'm guessing some plug-in is sending extra network traffi to players, which in NS, there's very little to spare (I've had to make a lot of work-arounds to prevent players from overflowing in normal play).
    Charlie Cleveland
    Game Director, Unknown Worlds Entertainment
  • Nexus9Nexus9 Members Join Date: 2002-12-02 Member: 10361Posts: 9
    Yes we are overflowing. It happened to me while playing at his server. But this is what i saw about it, it happened while the aliens were attacting a marine full room, while aliens had sensory chambers and the marines had the observatory and were scanning. i think this has a great problem cause of the cancelation of the transparency of the aliens, but this is just a guess not really sure. If i am wrong put me on a pole and beat me to death. nerd.gif
  • MayhemMayhem Members Join Date: 2002-11-28 Member: 10128Posts: 113
    Update:

    I ran some scenarios thinking it might be sensory related. I dont believe this to be the only factor anymore.



    Just so everyone knows I have made separate installs of dedicated server without ANY plugins. Just straight up HLDS 4.1.1.0, 4.1.1.1d combined with just the NS Client and the Dedicated server. I've tried all the combinations with these 4. I've been able to reproduce the results on all 4 variations. All clean installs, all on a server that was working perfectly until 2.0 release. So heres what I've been thinking.

    This problem appears to happen after a client has been connected for some period of time, 20+ minutes. And it appears to only happen to certain clients. Myself as an example has never been overflowed. Other people overflow twice per game. I believe structures placed does have some affect on how quickly these clients overflow. Sensory appearing to cause the most lag, both video and network. Also turrets and mines appear to also cause some lag. So basically an area heavily loaded with entities appears to be a breeding ground for this odd problem. As time goes on I'm convincing myself this isn't the servers fault completely. Its happening to certain clients over and over. I'm gonna ask some of my friends who overflow to reinstall and tweak network settings. I'll post back hopefully other people lagging out of games will post their information. I'd be happy to sign up for the beta testing, if you think this problem is fixable. I'll definetly run a test server as this problem does affect the gameplay adversly.
  • CheesyPetezaCheesyPeteza Members, NS1 Playtester, Constellation Join Date: 2002-11-24 Member: 9784Posts: 831 Advanced user
    It could be something to do with your network hardware.

    Cheesy Pete Za
  • ZdroneZdrone Members, Constellation Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 3914Posts: 167
    What kind of server hardware are you running on?

    Curious as I haven't seen this myself on either W2k or W2k3 with both HLDS 4.1.1.0 and HLDS 4.1.1.1d
  • MayhemMayhem Members Join Date: 2002-11-28 Member: 10128Posts: 113
    *Sighs*

    I run an AMD 1800 with a Gig of 2100, 12 gig HD, linksys network card. Sitting on a college network which subscribes to dual oc3's. With that said, I've been hosting for about 6 months now. We've been running great minus the exccessive 1.04 cpu strain. We switched over to 2.0 and suddenly we start having problems. I've been posting all the major bugs in hopes they get addressed in a beta patch. At this point I'm only still writing these updates and posts for my regulars. I'm taking a break from 2.0 as I dont really find it very fun. Sensory has completely **** with the game. It prolongs games into lasting 30-60 minutes when they shouldve been over at 20. Onos and Fades almost require movement and defense now. These are my views its not a flame. I personally loved 1.04, and was expecting 1.1 to come out and fix the balance issues regarding jp hmg. Instead they took the opportunity to make a radical turn to create an entirely new game. I hardly recognize it at this point. So basically 2.0 is supposed to tide us over for another year while they get NS for HL2. So considering I can barely force myself to sit through one fourty minute game, I guess I'll have to take a break until they: 1. Get the bugs worked out 2. Speed up gameplay 3. Make NS FUN. With that said I've decided to keep my server running for all my loyal regulars, but I've decided to call it quits. 1.04 was awesome, I had some great nights in the past year. I'll be back for a future release maybe. I do wish the developement team good luck, as they're on to something great.


    "2.0 ripped the fun from my clenched hands"
  • CaucasianCaucasian Members Join Date: 2002-11-26 Member: 9993Posts: 145
    edited August 2003
    I noticed that you are running Metamod 1.16.1. Update your metamod to 1.16.2. In your server.cfg, what is your sv_minrate and sv_maxrate set to?
    Elastical Gomez Natural-Selection:www.elasticalgomez.com
    ns1.elasticalgomez.com:27015

    We also have a CAL Server up @ ns1.elasticalgomez.com:27017
  • lyndaklyndak God Members, Constellation Join Date: 2002-11-13 Member: 8419Posts: 494 Advanced user
    QUOTE (Mayhem @ Aug 11 2003, 11:48 PM)
    *Sighs*

    I run an AMD 1800 with a Gig of 2100, 12 gig HD, linksys network card. Sitting on a college network which subscribes to dual oc3's. With that said, I've been hosting for about 6 months now. We've been running great minus the exccessive 1.04 cpu strain. We switched over to 2.0 and suddenly we start having problems. I've been posting all the major bugs in hopes they get addressed in a beta patch. At this point I'm only still writing these updates and posts for my regulars. I'm taking a break from 2.0 as I dont really find it very fun. Sensory has completely **** with the game. It prolongs games into lasting 30-60 minutes when they shouldve been over at 20. Onos and Fades almost require movement and defense now. These are my views its not a flame. I personally loved 1.04, and was expecting 1.1 to come out and fix the balance issues regarding jp hmg. Instead they took the opportunity to make a radical turn to create an entirely new game. I hardly recognize it at this point. So basically 2.0 is supposed to tide us over for another year while they get NS for HL2. So considering I can barely force myself to sit through one fourty minute game, I guess I'll have to take a break until they: 1. Get the bugs worked out 2. Speed up gameplay 3. Make NS FUN. With that said I've decided to keep my server running for all my loyal regulars, but I've decided to call it quits. 1.04 was awesome, I had some great nights in the past year. I'll be back for a future release maybe. I do wish the developement team good luck, as they're on to something great.


    "2.0 ripped the fun from my clenched hands"

    NS 2.0 killed my inner child. :|


    On another note, I'm just about to setup my server, and the only problem I've had is 4.1.1.1 completely crashing on MetaMod initialisation, however a clean installation of 4.1.1.1d fixed that. I still prefer the old on tbfh, this new one doesn't even display who connects by default!

    I'll let you know how I get on, my server seems to be a n00b magnets, so I expect it'll fill up within the first few hours of dosens upon millions of the dreaded "NSPlayers."

  • SiliconSilicon Members Join Date: 2003-02-18 Member: 13683Posts: 430
    QUOTE (lyndak @ Aug 21 2003, 04:37 PM)
    I'll let you know how I get on, my server seems to be a n00b magnets, so I expect it'll fill up within the first few hours of dosens upon millions of the dreaded "NSPlayers."

    It's not just your server, trust me. confused.gif
    user posted image
  • modiemodie Members, Constellation Join Date: 2003-02-19 Member: 13758Posts: 116
    isn't there a way to use adminmod / metamod to not allow anyone on the server using the name nsplayer. I know it's not that answer, because then you get the real idiots to your server, but it may be a start smile.gif
  • hyperionjjliuhyperionjjliu Members Join Date: 2003-04-14 Member: 15505Posts: 92
    Several POSSIBLE solutions:

    1) Remove any and all extraneous plugins (a server that I regularly played on keeps on crashing b/c of its stupid Fireworks/Nuke plugin ...)
    2) Tweak ur sv rate cvars
    3) Decrease the number of maxplayers

    Good luck!
  • Don_PablosDon_Pablos Members Join Date: 2003-08-24 Member: 20146Posts: 2
    *Holds breath* - Mayhem, I think I've got it.

    Our initial testing showed that on Mayhem's server, even with only 1 player connected, massive turret farms caused high levels of choke (50+) for anyone within targeting range of the turrets. When players got near the turrets, choke went up, then loss, then likely the player got dropped soon after. Most other servers don't seem to exhibit the choke, nor the overflow problem, so my guess is that the two are directly related.

    It's also important to mention that though this problem doesn't happen to everyone, it happens to many, if not most, on Sleepless.

    So I set up my own test server and initially found the same thing. Our first big find was that setting the "cl_updaterate" to 20 or less, as well as lowering the "rate" to something like 8500 on the client, seemed to reduce, but not eliminate this problem.

    As Mayhem mentioned, we even tried stripping metamod/adminmod out. No help.

    Ok now to get to the point. When I set up my server, I added a few lines to the server.cfg because I saw a post here that suggested it was a good idea. They are:

    mp_networkmeterrate 7500
    sv_maxupdaterate 100 < This one is 95% of the problem, I believe.
    sv_minrate 0
    sv_maxrate 8500 < This is the other 5%.


    Since these lines were also in the server.cfg I used on my 1.04 test server (which didn't exhibit this problem at all), i figured they were harmless. In my case, and probably yours Mayhem, I was wrong.

    Disabling the sv_maxupdaterate line from the server.cfg dropped the choke down to 5, and disabling the sv_maxrate line eliminated the choke entirely, even in a room packed with close to 50 turrets.

    With the lines commented out of the server.cfg, I found the the default sv_maxupdaterate is 30, and the sv_maxrate is 0 (unlimited, I assume).

    Since no one really visits my little test box (sitting on my piddly cable line), I suggest you try this on Sleepless, Mayhem. I think I'm right, but I'll leave it to the powers that be to determine if I'm right, and if so, why.

    - Pablos
  • BonelessBoneless Members Join Date: 2002-09-03 Member: 1270Posts: 219
    QUOTE (Don_Pablos @ Aug 24 2003, 01:37 PM)
    With the lines commented out of the server.cfg, I found the the default sv_maxupdaterate is 30, and the sv_maxrate is 0 (unlimited, I assume).

    Default values for intenet games are:

    sv_updaterate 30
    sv_maxrate 10000
Sign In or Register to comment.