Wich Hlds Works Best For Ns2.0 In Win32?

BaDMeATBaDMeAT Members Join Date: 2003-02-27 Member: 14078Posts: 40
im thinking to use HLDS 4.1.1.1, ive heard that it dosnt work any good from some ppl and that it works great from other, should i use 4.1.1.1 or stay with my old HLDS?

Comments

  • voogruvoogru Naturally Modified (ex. NS programmer) Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Contributor, Constellation Join Date: 2002-10-31 Member: 1827Posts: 1,105 Advanced user
    The only real choice IMHO is the latest one (which was released on Jul 30th) It fixes a HUGE exploit that any 12 year old can crash the server.


    So far I been using it on Win2k with no problems (btw its 4.1.1.1d or whatever).
    NOTE: No electrons were harmed during the creation, viewing or writing of this post. All posts are made from 100% recycled electrons. No electrons were discriminated against based upon race, age, religion, or direction of spin.
  • BaDMeATBaDMeAT Members Join Date: 2003-02-27 Member: 14078Posts: 40
    were can i find 4.1.1.1d?
  • BryBry Members Join Date: 2003-01-23 Member: 12609Posts: 552 Advanced user
  • voogruvoogru Naturally Modified (ex. NS programmer) Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Contributor, Constellation Join Date: 2002-10-31 Member: 1827Posts: 1,105 Advanced user
    ftp://ftp.valvesoftware.com

    username: hlserver
    password: hlserver


    I think thats it smile.gif
    NOTE: No electrons were harmed during the creation, viewing or writing of this post. All posts are made from 100% recycled electrons. No electrons were discriminated against based upon race, age, religion, or direction of spin.
  • BryBry Members Join Date: 2003-01-23 Member: 12609Posts: 552 Advanced user
    QUOTE (voogru @ Jul 31 2003, 04:11 AM)
    ftp://ftp.valvesoftware.com

    username: hlserver
    password: hlserver


    I think thats it smile.gif

    2 slow biggrin.gif
  • BaDMeATBaDMeAT Members Join Date: 2003-02-27 Member: 14078Posts: 40
    edited July 2003
    How do i so the shortcuts works? is it any new command that i need to type in to it so it start in 1 click insted of the stupid start menu comes up and must press start server.
    now when i installed 4.1.1.1d the fps meter is on 5%
    does winHL booster work with it?
  • BryBry Members Join Date: 2003-01-23 Member: 12609Posts: 552 Advanced user
    QUOTE (BaDMeAT @ Jul 31 2003, 04:18 AM)
    How do i so the shortcuts works? is it any new command that i need to type in to it so it start in 1 click insted of the stupis start menu comes up.

    If you mean to disable the GUI server so it displays in the old black and white console

    then add -console
    to your startup line
  • BaDMeATBaDMeAT Members Join Date: 2003-02-27 Member: 14078Posts: 40
    THX, now all seems tow work fine biggrin.gif
  • GoPeDeRiCkGoPeDeRiCk Members Join Date: 2003-03-21 Member: 14742Posts: 181
    And what would be the best version for linux? 3.1.1.1d didn't seam to work for me... sad.gif
    user posted image
  • biomassbiomass Members, Constellation Join Date: 2003-03-15 Member: 14535Posts: 68
    You need to download the 3111 patch for NS to run it on 3111, http://www.natural-selection.org/ns_i386-3.1.1.1.so.gz . Though from what I've heard 3110 gives less CPU load.
    Member of the Bacon Men (.BM)
    #.bm on QuakeNet (main channel) and GamesNet
  • mathyoumathyou Members Join Date: 2002-11-28 Member: 10131Posts: 41
    edited August 2003
    Are any of your guys who are running 4111D using adminmod? That combination crashes my server as soon as a player joins. Here's the thread.

    (Problem resolved. You have to have a really small MOTD.)
    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • DepotDepot The ModFather Members Join Date: 2002-11-09 Member: 7956Posts: 6,411 Fully active user
    4111D plus AdminMod 2.50.56 (metamod 1.16.2) on a WinXP o/s will not work.
    image
    modNS Forums - NS1 and NS2: We Wrote The Book On NS Moddingimage
  • CaucasianCaucasian Members Join Date: 2002-11-26 Member: 9993Posts: 145
    edited August 2003
    Yes it does kwik. That is what I run.

    Details?
    Elastical Gomez Natural-Selection:www.elasticalgomez.com
    ns1.elasticalgomez.com:27015

    We also have a CAL Server up @ ns1.elasticalgomez.com:27017
  • DepotDepot The ModFather Members Join Date: 2002-11-09 Member: 7956Posts: 6,411 Fully active user
    It's been some time since I tried the 3 fresh installs of it, but as I recall ServerDoc factored into it somehow. From what I've heard/seen the only benefit is the new GUI anyways, so I'll stick to the old one - it works great!
    image
    modNS Forums - NS1 and NS2: We Wrote The Book On NS Moddingimage
  • ZdroneZdrone Members, Constellation Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 3914Posts: 167
    QUOTE (kwikloader @ Aug 17 2003, 11:14 AM)
    It's been some time since I tried the 3 fresh installs of it, but as I recall ServerDoc factored into it somehow. From what I've heard/seen the only benefit is the new GUI anyways, so I'll stick to the old one - it works great!

    and the fact that any 9 year old can crash it...

    New one works great as long as you run the -console option
  • DepotDepot The ModFather Members Join Date: 2002-11-09 Member: 7956Posts: 6,411 Fully active user
    ......totally irrelevant as it won't work on all setups (including mine).
    image
    modNS Forums - NS1 and NS2: We Wrote The Book On NS Moddingimage
  • SiliconSilicon Members Join Date: 2003-02-18 Member: 13683Posts: 430
    edited August 2003
    4.1.1.1d uses WAY too much cpu (it's a bug valve is working on fixing), I had like 6 people on my server and the marines put up like 15 turrets at the most and the server was at like ~99% cpu usage and lagged everyone but when I downgraded to a lower version and it reduced it to like 60% cpu at most it gets now.
    user posted image
  • ZdroneZdrone Members, Constellation Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 3914Posts: 167
    QUOTE (Silicon @ Aug 24 2003, 05:32 AM)
    4.1.1.1d uses WAY too much cpu (it's a bug valve is working on fixing), I had like 6 people on my server and the marines put up like 15 turrets at the most and the server was at like ~99% cpu usage and lagged everyone but when I downgraded to a lower version and it reduced it to like 60% cpu at most it gets now.

    you running on a 386?

    I run a 20 person on a 1.266ghz p3 and NEVER get above 25% utilization.

    The only way we could crash it was making a serious turret farm (70 or so turrets).

    Hope your running the pivx patch for your server.
  • BaDMeATBaDMeAT Members Join Date: 2003-02-27 Member: 14078Posts: 40
    QUOTE (Zdrone @ Aug 24 2003, 10:32 PM)
    Hope your running the pivx patch for your server.

    Pivx patch? whats that? anything good? nerd.gif
  • ZdroneZdrone Members, Constellation Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 3914Posts: 167
    QUOTE (BaDMeAT @ Aug 25 2003, 11:54 AM)
    QUOTE (Zdrone @ Aug 24 2003, 10:32 PM)
    Hope your running the pivx patch for your server.

    Pivx patch? whats that? anything good? nerd.gif

    Vulnerability Patch

    Vulnerability Info

    Release Notes

    May/May not work on Linux (just read the release notes myself).

    Personally, I updated to 4.1.1.1d. Hated it until I found the -console switch. The only issues I have now is running multiple instances of HL server; they are all named "Console" instead of the full path like they use to.
    I can live with that.
Sign In or Register to comment.