Func_water

Uh-OhUh-Oh Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6917Members
edited March 2003 in Mapping Forum
<div class="IPBDescription">or, How to Ruin a Map</div> Hi all. I'm currently making a map.
I don't even know if I'm gonna continue working on it.
Problem is, I'd like to use water in my map. Since the Half-Life engine renders water no matter where you are, my map would have pretty high R-Speeds.

My question: Is there a way to have fully functioning water that DOESN'T lag?

I need the water brushes to be swimmable, see-throughable, negates fall damage, have light sources, etc....

Thanks all.

P.S. I just got back from a 6 month mapping break. Could anyone please tell me the console commands mappers use?

Comments

  • JedediahJedediah Join Date: 2003-01-27 Member: 12847Members
    I was under the impression that HL only draws entities that intersect your currently visible leafs. As long as you break your water up into multiple entities, they shouldn't cause worse r_speeds than normal world brushes.
  • jabsjabs Join Date: 2002-12-14 Member: 10773Members
    edited March 2003
    Command lines I use:
    -console
    -dev

    In-game console:
    givepoints
    r_speeds 1
    net_graph 3

    If I use software mode:
    r_drawflat 1
  • OlljOllj our themepark-stalking nightmare Fade Join Date: 2002-12-12 Member: 10696Members
    xp-cagey is improving the RAD right now.
    One plan is to make correct light on the water surface.
    So long plitting your water is the only solution.

    A brush just with normal water surface (name starts with "!...") behaves exactly like func_water, just with no floating waves, wich costs most of the performance (lots of epoly).

    Never ever use func water that has no flat top surface -> random water bugs some leafes have water, some dont.
  • EldritchEldritch Join Date: 2003-02-28 Member: 14126Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--jabs+Mar 12 2003, 07:22 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (jabs @ Mar 12 2003, 07:22 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Command lines I use:
    -console
    -dev

    In-game console:
    givepoints
    r_speeds 1
    net_graph 3

    If I use software mode:
    r_drawflat 1 <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Don't forget <i>gl_wireframe 1</i> and <i>2</i>.
  • Uh-OhUh-Oh Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6917Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--Eldritch+Mar 12 2003, 07:58 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Eldritch @ Mar 12 2003, 07:58 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Don't forget <i>gl_wireframe 1</i> and <i>2</i>. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    WOOT! That's the one I had forgotten! Thanks

    BTW, using brush witha !water texture is not gonna work, since I need my water to be pretty deep. And !water brushes are not lighten properly. Once you are under the water surface, it's pitch black.
  • YamazakiYamazaki Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 21Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    Correcting the shading of water will only apply to opaque water, not transparent water. Transparent surfaces (aside from Solid mode) cannot be shaded at all.

    As far as working with func_water, you can use func_wall with a liquid texture instead. This removes the wave effect of the water (Which can cause performance problems anyways), but it otherwise acts like water.
  • MerkabaMerkaba Digital Harmony Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 22Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester
    <!--QuoteBegin--Uh-Oh+Mar 12 2003, 06:42 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Uh-Oh @ Mar 12 2003, 06:42 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> BTW, using brush witha !water texture is not gonna work, since I need my water to be pretty deep. And !water brushes are not lighten properly. Once you are under the water surface, it's pitch black. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    So put lights under the water, too.
  • amckernamckern Join Date: 2003-03-03 Member: 14249Members, Constellation
    this page <a href='http://amckern.actionrealm.com/resource/mods/cvars.html' target='_blank'>Half Life Standard Cvars and what they do</a> might be better then listing all the cavrs here

    amckern
  • CrashCrash Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3395Members, Constellation
    How about using a func_illusionary for the actual water texture, and a func_water covered with the NULL texture. That way the players can see the water, and jump it in as normal. That might reduce the lag that water can cause. It wouldn't solve the lighting issue I don't think though.
Sign In or Register to comment.