Below Zero: I'm Underwater and I can't Swim

rockrobsterrockrobster Join Date: 2019-02-12 Member: 250854Members
edited May 2021 in Subnautica Bug Reporting
I just started playing Below Zero. After visiting the Delta base for the first time, I went down to the shore and entered the water to return to the Pod, and found that I could not swim. Also, oxygen levels were not going down, so I wasn't dying from lack of air. Since I was playing the game mode that didn't require food or water, I don't know if those were affected.

I was basically moving underwater the way that I would on land, unable to swim, and only able to walk on the underwater surface and other solid features. Since I couldn't traverse all of the undersea terrain and obstacles to reach the Pod, or even get back to the shores of Delta base (I had wandered away from its shores too far and deep to be able to make it back up), I killed myself underwater by jumping several times from heights.

The swimming issue was fixed when Death sent me back to the Pod, but with all resources (minerals, etc.) gathered in that instance gone. Interestingly, non-resource items from Delta base, such as posters, equipment, etc. remained in my inventory. Also, all of the experience milestones, such as data, blueprints, etc. also persisted intact.

I did some online search on the issue, and couldn't find very much with regard to Below Zero. However, this phenomenon seems to also have been a problem in the original Subnautica game, going back years.

Is this a common issue for players in Below Zero?

And also, is there a better way to get rid of the problem than forcing character death, especially one that avoids losing inventory items like gathered resources? (There might even be situations where, if you've fallen into a deep undersea hole somewhere, that you won't be able to get to heights to jump to kill the character.)

Any feedback or comments from others would be appreciated.

Comments